map placeholder

No 44 at The Arden Hotel

Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon, CV37 6BA

((((* European
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
Average
Main course: £16
Food spend: £30

Excellent pre-theatre dinner. Nice choice of dishes. Service is a lot quicker than it used to be.

Pam 06 September 2019
from Solihull

View all 171 reviews

An elegant fine dining spot in the heart of Stratford-upon-Avon, No 44 is a majestic string in the bow of the 4-star Arden Hotel. The freshest, seasonal ingredients are incorporated into a menu of modern European dishes, served in a chic and contemporary setting by the River Avon.

Rich and flavourful dishes on the No 44 menu include duck ‘two ways’, combining roast duck breast with confit duck leg pie, with accompanying chicory and orange puree. There’s pan-fried hake with pearl barley risotto, crab gnocchi and a crab and ginger sauce, while desserts include a wickedly delicious chocolate fondant with pistachio ice cream and a chocolate sauce.

No 44 at The Arden Hotel in Stratford boasts its own sophisticated champagne bar. Large arched windows flood natural light into the restaurant’s pastel interior, creating a bright and relaxed dining space.

No 44 at The Arden Hotel neighbours the Royal Shakespeare Company theatres, and looks out over the River Avon.

No 44 at The Arden Hotel

Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon, CV37 6BA

Contact +44 1789298682
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Warwickshire

See all restaurants in Stratford-upon-Avon

Customer reviews for No 44 at The Arden Hotel

4.1 ((((* (based on 171 reviews)
84% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (106)
  • lunch (52)
  • afternoon tea (40)
  • romantic (32)
  • al fresco (30)
  • luxury (28)
  • breakfast (26)
  • value (24)
  • views (24)
  • private dining (20)
  • business (15)
  • trendy (7)
  • large parties (5)
  • child friendly (3)
  • entertainment (2)
  • ((((( 30 May 2019 by Jenni from Northwich

    Very nice food on the pre theatre menu. Reasonably priced and great service. Will definitely return. X

  • ((*** 28 May 2019 by Blair from Hammersmith

    Not as good as expected, my research suggested this being one of the picks for fine dining in Stratford - I hope my next pick is better...... Food was OK, and most of it pretty good (we had a selection of the tasting plates) - however there were some faults - Steak was tough, chewy - it was cooked well, just a poor cut of meat, and 2 scallops for 13 GBP is just too expensive (very tasty though).... some of the other plates, while good, suffered for same reason.
    Dining room is austere, reflects noise, you can clearly hear conversations from other, quite distant tables.
    Service was uninformed (didn't know the answer to three questions we asked of menu) and slow at times (mostly empty restaurant, this review outlines good reasons for this) - we waited excessively long time for drinks, they had obviously forgotten our order..... and one of the wines was corked/open too long, (refunded - and the other one was superb).... In general floor staff were only rolling the arm over - not what is expected when restaurant purports to be fine dining.

    Suggest you try somewhere else.....

  • (((** 27 May 2019 by Pam from Stratford-upon-Avon

    A little while ago they changed their menus and, frankly, it just isn't working. The pre-theatre menu is now a selection of tapas dishes - 3 for £18. The a la carte menu is fairly limited and you are warned that there is a 20 minute wait for these. It is also quite pricey - £10 for prawn cocktail, £15 for fish and chips or burger and chips. We waited 20 minutes between starter and main course, so didn't have time for dessert before the theatre, even though we had allowed 2 hours!
    Sadly, like several of our friends, we will probably choose somewhere else for our next pre-theatre dinner.

  • ((((* 26 May 2019 by Patricia from Stratford upon Avon

    Good

  • ((*** 21 May 2019 by Mrs from London

    Sadly, this restaurant has never quite worked and now seems to be on a spiral downwards. The staff try hard but the overall feel - especially if it’s at all busy, is one of utter chaos. The new evening menu isn’t helping. In addition to “favourites” and “non-sharing” dishes (ie, an ordinary menu) there’s now not one but two separate “sharing” menus. If different members of the group order from different menus the result is a meal delivered at irregular intervals, one menu coming long before the others and long waits inbetween. The quality of the food isn’t bad but the portions in the ordinary menu are tiny - and therefore, very poor value for money. What the restaurant needs is (a) a simple pre-theatre menu with a handful of items easy to prepare during the busy-6-7pm sitting (when the restaurant does it’s main trade) and (b) a competent, experienced and importantly, empowered, manager to manage the waiters and stop customers having to go to fetch water, salt, cutlery themselves because they can not catch a waiter’s eye. Oh and (c) more staff during the busy periods! In short, it’s a mess.

  • (((** 13 May 2019 by Jonathan from Haywards Heath

    Not bad. Chose sharing menu, food was good but turned up almost all together so some went cold and meal over inside 30 minutes.

  • ((((* 29 April 2019 by Barry from Banbury

    Choice of tables on arrival. Both draft beers were at the end of the barrel but were swopped without quibble. Good fish and chips with curry - very tasty. Attentive service from staff.

  • ((((( 27 April 2019 by Jo from Leicester

    Afternoon Tea was fab, took my mum for a Mother's Day treat-the staff were really friendly, sandwiches were lovely and we had too many cakes (well enough to take home in a little box) - it was a lovely afternoon, the hotel was fresh and clean. It was a great location, directly opposite Shakespeare's Theatre. The only slight niggle was that I was charged a 10% service charge on the bill (this wasn't apparent when I booked afternoon tea).

  • ((((( 23 April 2019 by Martin from Bristol

    Absolutely fantastic experience , treating our German girls to something quintessentially English . Service was first class , food & tea was excellent , loved the hotel , we were in a room just inside to the right , we sat on very comfy sofas , a total relax after a hot day walking around Stratford upon Avon.
    My only complaint was the service charge , which I never pay as I don’t believe that every server receives it, so I got her to redo the bill & we tipped her personally . Left feeling great , oh & rather full .!!

  • ((((* 22 April 2019 by David from Stratford upon Avon

    We enjoyed the food, as always. However, we were not impressed with the new 'tasters' menu, it is fussy and confusing. It doesn't seem to fit well with the kind of restaurant the Arden is and could undermine its hard-earned reputation for classy quality.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant