map placeholder

No 44 at The Arden Hotel

Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon, CV37 6BA

((((* European
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
Average
Main course: £16
Food spend: £30

Excellent from the moment we were welcomed by the staff to the final mouthful of the delicious dessert. Food was top class. Particularly enjoyed the chicken served with an apricot and sage mash. Surprising combination for the latter but delicious.

Dr 08 June 2019
from Nottingham

View all 170 reviews

An elegant fine dining spot in the heart of Stratford-upon-Avon, No 44 is a majestic string in the bow of the 4-star Arden Hotel. The freshest, seasonal ingredients are incorporated into a menu of modern European dishes, served in a chic and contemporary setting by the River Avon.

Rich and flavourful dishes on the No 44 menu include duck ‘two ways’, combining roast duck breast with confit duck leg pie, with accompanying chicory and orange puree. There’s pan-fried hake with pearl barley risotto, crab gnocchi and a crab and ginger sauce, while desserts include a wickedly delicious chocolate fondant with pistachio ice cream and a chocolate sauce.

No 44 at The Arden Hotel in Stratford boasts its own sophisticated champagne bar. Large arched windows flood natural light into the restaurant’s pastel interior, creating a bright and relaxed dining space.

No 44 at The Arden Hotel neighbours the Royal Shakespeare Company theatres, and looks out over the River Avon.

No 44 at The Arden Hotel

Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon, CV37 6BA

Contact +44 1789298682
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Warwickshire

See all restaurants in Stratford-upon-Avon

Customer reviews for No 44 at The Arden Hotel

4.1 ((((* (based on 170 reviews)
84% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (105)
  • lunch (52)
  • afternoon tea (40)
  • romantic (31)
  • al fresco (30)
  • luxury (27)
  • breakfast (26)
  • value (24)
  • views (23)
  • private dining (20)
  • business (15)
  • trendy (7)
  • large parties (5)
  • child friendly (3)
  • entertainment (2)
  • ((((( 27 July 2019 by Dave from Leicester

    Pre Theatre meal - excellent quality - service excellent

  • ((((( 22 July 2019 by Paul from Crediton

    Excellent pre-theatre supper with a tapas-style selection of dishes

  • ((((( 19 July 2019 by Eithne from Stratford

    I've been coming here for some time, always pre-matinée performances at the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, which is immediately opposite. Always excellent service. Lovely bright room and everything looks clean. I like the idea of having some tables set with crisp white tablecloths and others not .... As we had the tapas dishes, our table without a cloth was much more sensible ... for moving the dishes around and to allow for slight "spillages" when serving.
    I also like the flexibility of choice of meals. Before the theatre, I personally do not want a huge meal at that time of day (12 noon) but the sharing tapas dishes are just right. Also ... you don't necessarily have to share, you can treat them as individual smaller dishes and add "sides" (We didn't have the broccoli this time but I have had it before and it is very good.

    Also, the crispy squid, the aubergine, the pork too was excellent ... not to mention the lovely piping hot chips!) I come there with different people and all have loved it so far. This week it was two friends from London who travel extensively and I think were impressed that they could have such a good meal "in the countryside".
    I also like the flexibility to be able to have afternoon tea even from 12 noon (not my personal "cup of tea") but my friends said that when they come again they would like to try that. We saw the "teas" going past our table and they did look good.
    One important point is the proximity to the theatre as one friend I bring is a wheelchair user (we are coming on Sunday to see Ian McKellern). It means that we can arrive in plenty of time and relax and eat, knowing that it only takes us a few minutes to get across the road as we are able to use the car park at the Arden.
    I will be there again on 10th August with my sister, so I am working my way through the menu. One friend had the fish and chips once and said it was delicious.
    Suggestion for winter ...? Sausages? Toulouse perhaps? Yummy!

  • ((((* 17 July 2019 by Susie from Winter Park

    It was pleasant and tasty.

  • ((((( 14 July 2019 by Graeme from Rugby

    Birthday treat lunch for my wife. Fab quality food - really tip top - with a few innovative choices thrown in (Banana and marmite ice cream anyone? Yum, actually!) Newly refurbished restaurant is a pleasant place to be and service is everything we’ve come to expect of the Eden Collection hotels. Highly recommended!

  • ((((( 13 June 2019 by Lucy from Wiltshire

    Our lunch prior to a matinee performance across the road at the RSC was simply superb. The shared platters we ordered were exquisite, the service was quick and the staff excellent. Highly recommendable experience. Thank you!

  • ((((( 8 June 2019 by Dr from Nottingham

    Excellent from the moment we were welcomed by the staff to the final mouthful of the delicious dessert. Food was top class. Particularly enjoyed the chicken served with an apricot and sage mash. Surprising combination for the latter but delicious.

  • ((((* 4 June 2019 by Phil from Marlow

    We very much enjoyed this. We were revisiting the Arden's new tapas-style menu after a very tasty but very frustrating meal there last time. We were eating before a theatre performance across the road, and fortunately the service was very good this time! The menu had been changed to accommodate a simple conventional choice of courses from a restricted pre-theatre menu as well as the tapas-like offerings, but we went for the latter - which were very good. The smoked haddock risotto, which was perfect last time, was only good this time, but fair enough. The crab and mayonnaise was still up there, and the salads were good - a particular mention for the superfood one. My self-indulgent choc dessert was also very good, so all in all, a very agreeable experience.

  • (((** 3 June 2019 by Lucy from Stratford upon Avon

    Food and setting very good. Service let them down on this visit, it is usually better.

  • ((((( 30 May 2019 by Jenni from Northwich

    Very nice food on the pre theatre menu. Reasonably priced and great service. Will definitely return. X

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant