map placeholder

No 44 at The Arden Hotel

Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon, CV37 6BA

((((* European
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
  •  - Warwickshire
Average
Main course: £16
Food spend: £30

Excellent from the moment we were welcomed by the staff to the final mouthful of the delicious dessert. Food was top class. Particularly enjoyed the chicken served with an apricot and sage mash. Surprising combination for the latter but delicious.

Dr 08 June 2019
from Nottingham

View all 170 reviews

An elegant fine dining spot in the heart of Stratford-upon-Avon, No 44 is a majestic string in the bow of the 4-star Arden Hotel. The freshest, seasonal ingredients are incorporated into a menu of modern European dishes, served in a chic and contemporary setting by the River Avon.

Rich and flavourful dishes on the No 44 menu include duck ‘two ways’, combining roast duck breast with confit duck leg pie, with accompanying chicory and orange puree. There’s pan-fried hake with pearl barley risotto, crab gnocchi and a crab and ginger sauce, while desserts include a wickedly delicious chocolate fondant with pistachio ice cream and a chocolate sauce.

No 44 at The Arden Hotel in Stratford boasts its own sophisticated champagne bar. Large arched windows flood natural light into the restaurant’s pastel interior, creating a bright and relaxed dining space.

No 44 at The Arden Hotel neighbours the Royal Shakespeare Company theatres, and looks out over the River Avon.

No 44 at The Arden Hotel

Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon, CV37 6BA

Contact +44 1789298682
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Warwickshire

See all restaurants in Stratford-upon-Avon

Customer reviews for No 44 at The Arden Hotel

4.1 ((((* (based on 170 reviews)
84% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (105)
  • lunch (52)
  • afternoon tea (40)
  • romantic (31)
  • al fresco (30)
  • luxury (27)
  • breakfast (26)
  • value (24)
  • views (23)
  • private dining (20)
  • business (15)
  • trendy (7)
  • large parties (5)
  • child friendly (3)
  • entertainment (2)
  • ((((( 19 August 2019 by Lisa from Cheddar

    I was given an afternoon tea by my friend as a birthday treat. Very attentive staff, everything was explained well except parking details as The Arden is on a one way system and unclear how to get to the parking at the rear.

  • ((((( 17 August 2019 by Pam from Solihull

    We had the pre-theatre dinner menu. All the food was excellent and arrived piping hot. The service was very good and the food arrived much more quickly than usual. Very good value for money.

  • ((((( 16 August 2019 by Michael from Lancashire

    Excellent food and service

  • ((((* 15 August 2019 by Alan from Tring

    Good.

  • ((((* 14 August 2019 by Angela from Stratford-upon-Avon

    Lovely afternoon tea. Service was personable and efficient.

  • (**** 13 August 2019 by Elizabeth from StratfordUponAvon

    Afternoon Tea should be a pleasureable experience, ours was from it. Missing cups at the table, shabby, dirty teapots. First impression not good. We chose our preferred tea, this arrived in reasonable time. We then waited almost an hour for sandwiches to arrive, not on a tiered stand as one would expect, but four sandwiches on an old, plain white plate. The sandwiches obviously made in advance were very poor. The bread had dried out from being left out in the kitchen, the fillings were indescribable, the smoked salmon was not, but tinned salmon, not even pink! Served on a thick inedible black bread. The cucumber was soft and soggy, you could not eat it. The fillings were very mean. No suggestion of replacing the sandwiches for fresh. they eventually cleared the plates to another half hour wait for scones and cakes. The choice of lemon curd or strawberry jam arrived in small jars, strawberry with tops unopened, lemon curd in jars already opened. The scones again very mean, the clotted cream resembled plaster, most unappealing.The cakes and pastries were a joke. The small pastry fruit tarts, the jelly had melted the fruit had gone with it lying on the plate, A rhubarb and custard Bomb, was tasteless and had too melted. The only thing eaten from that plate was the carrot cake, cut in small squares with a blob of icing on the top. We were on no occasion asked if the food was okay, complete ingnorance by the staff in seeing that most of the sandwiches and cake food were uneaten. We had to ask twice for the bill. I was very embarrassed by the quality of the afternoon tea, we were friends meeting for a long awaited catch up together. We were very dissapointed with our experience and we would have been better going to a M & S Cafe. Plenty of other venues for an nice afternoon tea. The final straw was when the bill arrived with a 10% service charge added, which we refused to pay. For the price we paid £23.00 each it was an utter RipOff and thoroughly disgraceful.

  • ((((( 12 August 2019 by Sally from London

    Fantastic pre-theatre meal at The Arden Hotel. Beautifully prepared and presented dishes which all diners in our party thoroughly enjoyed. Chicken breast delicious and special highlight Sticky Toffee Pudding. Would highly recommend.

  • ((((( 12 August 2019 by Ssndy from Guildford

    We were staying at the Arden . Lovely pre theatre meal . Well judged in terms of flavours and portion size. My hake , in particular, was delicious and my wife was delighted with her chicken . Good wines by the glass and incredibly close to the theatre

  • ((((( 30 July 2019 by Jeffrey from Stratford upon Avon

    Very enjoyable experience. Quite spacious. A good buzz.

  • ((((( 30 July 2019 by Helen from Stratford upon Avon

    My booking was the pre-theatre dinner. Everything was splendid : the timing, food choice and quality, the service and ambience. I would recoomend this whole heartedly.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant