map placeholder

Waterhead Bar & Grill

Lake Road, Ambleside, LA22 0ER

(((() British
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  • Waterhead Bar & Grill - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  • Waterhead Bar & Grill - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  • Waterhead Bar & Grill - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
Average
Main course: £18
Food spend: £32
Opening hours
Monday to Sunday: 18:30 - 21:00.

We loved the ambience of the restaurant. The staff were very attentive and friendly. The food was delicious and the steak was cooked to my liking.

Peter 04 September 2019
from Rutherglen

View all 46 reviews

On the shores of lake Windermere, The Waterhead is at once bright and modern but intimate and relaxed. Championing local produce, the Waterhead Bar & Grill serves a classic afternoon tea. Please note that lunch bookings are not available online.

Waterhead Bar & Grill

Lake Road, Ambleside, LA22 0ER

Contact +44 1539432566
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Cumbria

See all restaurants in Ambleside

Customer reviews for Waterhead Bar & Grill

4.4 (((() (based on 46 reviews)
93% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (37)
  • views (19)
  • romantic (14)
  • breakfast (13)
  • luxury (13)
  • lunch (12)
  • afternoon tea (11)
  • private dining (11)
  • large parties (7)
  • trendy (7)
  • value (5)
  • al fresco (4)
  • child friendly (4)
  • business (3)
  • entertainment (2)
  • (((** 20 June 2017 by Chris from Stockport

    Excellent food and service with a fabulous view over the lake

  • ((((( 1 May 2017 by Pascal from Manchester

    Tried and failed to get in last time we came to the lakes. This time I booked well in advance and sure enough it was fully booked on the night. A birthday celebration was a great success as the dining experience and food were fantastic. Our new favourite restaurant in Ambleside. We will definitely be returning next visit.

  • ((((( 13 March 2017 by Becky from Kendal

    Lovely attentive staff, great gin menu, delicious food with different dishes on offer from "the norm" and lovely dining room.

  • ((((( 11 March 2017 by Richard from Millom

    Great service, polite and professional staff, meals excellent

  • ((((( 4 March 2017 by Joamne from Cumbria

    Food and service was excellent. Will defietly go again.

  • ((((( 3 March 2017 by Martin from Manchester

    My wife and I had a lovely meal in the restaurant on both of the evenings we stayed and were delighted to be seated in the bay window on both occasions. My wife particularly enjoyed the soufflé starter on the first evening and I enjoyed my black pudding. We both had the lamb shank which was delicious. On the second evening we both had the scallop starter which was perfect and I had the game pie which was extremely tasty and my wife had the beef which she said was melt in the mouth. The breakfasts were equally nice. The restaurant was nicely laid out and looked very plush with nice decor.
    The service was excellent. The staff were polite, courteous and friendly but not overbearing.
    Would come again.

  • ((((( 23 February 2017 by Joan from Wirral

    Lovely dining room and excellent staff who were extremely polite and helpful. The food is of a very high standard. My lamb shank was flavoursome and fell of the bone. Breakfast choice second to none.

  • ((((( 20 February 2017 by Andrew from Chorley

    The staff were extremely professional and friendly. The food was excellent and we was very impressed with the range of gluten free food that was available for my wife.

  • ((((( 20 February 2017 by Tim from Worcester

    Excellent food, great service and a great looking restaurant and bar area to relax in. Perfect!

  • ((((( 20 February 2017 by Susan from Durham

    My partner loved the black pudding scotch egg and I loved the sticky toffee pudding. Service was excellent.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant