map placeholder

Waterhead Bar & Grill

Lake Road, Ambleside, LA22 0ER

(((() British
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  • Waterhead Bar & Grill - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  • Waterhead Bar & Grill - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  • Waterhead Bar & Grill - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
Average
Main course: £18
Food spend: £32
Opening hours
Monday to Sunday: 18:30 - 21:00.

We loved the ambience of the restaurant. The staff were very attentive and friendly. The food was delicious and the steak was cooked to my liking.

Peter 04 September 2019
from Rutherglen

View all 46 reviews

On the shores of lake Windermere, The Waterhead is at once bright and modern but intimate and relaxed. Championing local produce, the Waterhead Bar & Grill serves a classic afternoon tea. Please note that lunch bookings are not available online.

Waterhead Bar & Grill

Lake Road, Ambleside, LA22 0ER

Contact +44 1539432566
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Cumbria

See all restaurants in Ambleside

Customer reviews for Waterhead Bar & Grill

4.4 (((() (based on 46 reviews)
93% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (37)
  • views (19)
  • romantic (14)
  • breakfast (13)
  • luxury (13)
  • lunch (12)
  • afternoon tea (11)
  • private dining (11)
  • large parties (7)
  • trendy (7)
  • value (5)
  • al fresco (4)
  • child friendly (4)
  • business (3)
  • entertainment (2)
  • (((** 9 May 2018 by Geoff from Baildon

    Very pleasant meal, with mains of Lamb Chump and Venison Steak the highlights. Excellent Duoro red wine.

  • ((((( 17 April 2018 by Bernard from Isle of Man

    We had a lovely dinner with excellent service and had a table overlooking the Lake.

  • ((((( 27 March 2018 by Fraser from Scotland

    Food was excellent. We were dinner bed and breakfast and choice and standard of food was very good.

  • ((((( 14 March 2018 by Richard from Nottingham

    Was very relaxed but professional and staff very nice

  • ((((* 5 February 2018 by Paul from Liverpool

    Food was excellent and the wine very very reasonably priced.

  • ((((* 5 February 2018 by Ian from Halifax

    Stayed 3rd Feb & booked a table on line. Looked at other options, but weather on the Saturday wasn't great for walking into Ambleside. We were late getting ready, so by time we got to restaurant it was 7:30 table time, so cannot comment on bar area as went straight to our table. Good menu choice & we all were able to order starter & main without any issues. I had the Game Terrine followed by pan seared Pheasant Breast. Mother had smoked salmon start & Lamb Shank. My son and partner both had whitebait to start, he then had Catch of the Day (Haddock I think) and my partner had Lamb Shank. We ordered two bottles of wine (one unoaked Chardonnay (can't remember the make) -(c) £ 16 and Guggenheim Malbec (c) £ 24.

    All commented on the portions which were quite generous & quality of the food - Lamb shank in particular - fell off the bone (as it should) & was apparently delicious (I didn't get a look in, so that says it all really). My terrine was a little dry, but came with a jam of sorts which helped. Similarly, I found the Pheasant a little dry also, again helped by the presence of a jus. My son loved the Haddock and both wines (in particular the Malbec) got the thumbs up.

    For desert, two of us had Gin & Tonic Cheese cake with a cucumber sorbet - Cheese cake was lovely & creamy, just the merest hint of booze (it was supposed to have Hendricks Gin in it - but taste was very subtle) - Cucumber sorbet was a revelation - absolutely gorgeous & would have again on its own in a heart beat. My partner had dark chocolate mousse & I think my son had Stick Toffee Pudding - all good apparently.

    Total cost of meal - 4 adults, 3 courses & 2 bottles of wine (not cheapest on menu either) came to £ 183.00 = £ 46 a head) So good value I think.

    Didn't go for steaks (8oz fillet = £ 29 - a tad expensive), I tend to go for dishes/food I would not normally buy/cook my self

    Were on Room only rate - breakfast is £ 19 p/p (ouch!) so had hearty breakfast in a Conniston Cafe

  • (((** 3 November 2017 by Katrina from London

    The food was overpriced and although the waiting staff were very friendly they weren't that attentive and we were constantly looking around for them trying the catch their eye. The worst thing about this restaurant was the CRAZY lighting!! It felt like we were having a meal in a lighting shop! There were chandeliers directly above the tables shining directly in our faces (we changed tables to a slightly dimmer one), bright downlighters, lamps in the corners as well as candles on the tables! It was totally unnecessary and spoiled the evening for us. No atmosphere whatsoever!

  • ((((* 1 November 2017 by Diane from Rotherham

    Staff were fabulous. It was my husbands birthday and they laid the table out with balloons and banners. I had tomatoe and mozzarella salad followed by the duck which was delicious. My husband had soup and steak. My boys had olives then steak and the younger one had pasta. Desert was an amazing passion fruit cheesecake. My husband had sticky toffe pudding which he enjoyed. One of my boys had ice team the other had chocolate Deluce. He enjoyed this but it was very rich. Overall it was a great meal and experience.

  • ((((( 11 October 2017 by Lynn from Lancashire

    Lovely dining room overlooking the lake. Very relaxed atmosphere. Food was delicious- great choices. Wine was also good with excellent choices. I have to mention the huge selection of gins, some local, others from around GB and even lots more from around the world. You need to visit regularly to try them all- served in lovely glasses with lots of ice and Fevertree tonics with fruit to compliment the flavours- delicious! The staff are very friendly and attentive- excellent service.

  • ((((* 15 July 2017 by Karen from Morecambe

    Good service but not rushed
    Food 8/10 service 10/10 we were the 1st people seated and got the window table looking straight across the lake very picturesque. We ordered a moscow mule cocktail it came full of mint which ruined the drink

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant