Umami

(112 Reviews)
100 Cromwell Road, London, SW7 4ER
Pan-Asian
A la carte menu

Top offer

New Year's Eve menu £50 per person (£25 child) + amuse bouche

This offer is available from December 31, 2019 until December 31, 2019, subject to availability as displayed in the booking interface. Offer excludes service and includes VAT. Not available in conjunction with other offers. This promotion has additional information available. Click on the link(s) to view.

Average

Main course: £10
Food spend: £25

Opening hours

Sunday to Thursday: 12:00 - 22:30
Friday & Saturday : 12:00 - 23:00.

Restaurant description

Offering authentic dishes from Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia and Vietnam, Umami offers an east-meets-west dining experience. The setting is informal yet stylish with contemporary furnishings and plush, intimate booth seating.

The Umami menu offers an eclectic mix of dishes, and includes the likes of sesame king prawn rolls, and crunchy spiced squid fitters with aioli. The mains section is headed by the signature crispy aromatic duck, which is especially popular, as well as inventive twists on classics like the beef burger with kimchi and Asian coleslaw.

A variety of world wines and fine teas sourced from across Asia complement the food perfectly at Umami restaurant. The speciality dessert at Umami is not to be missed: a delicate pandan brûlée.

Umami Kensington sits a short 2-minute stroll from Gloucester Road Tube Station as well as some of London's top museums and other attractions, including The Science Museum, and The Natural History Museum.

Dishes displayed on a la carte menus are representative of the type of food available at the restaurant.

Customer reviews for Umami
4.1
(based on 112 reviews)

92%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (3)
  • al fresco (2)
  • breakfast (1)
  • business (20)
  • child friendly (11)
  • dinner (83)
  • entertainment (8)
  • large parties (15)
  • lunch (26)
  • luxury (17)
  • private dining (18)
  • romantic (32)
  • trendy (21)
  • value (14)
  • By Ron B from Carmarthen
    25 January 2019

    Dishes are mild compared to Thailand, but they obviously cater for the local market and the flavours are excellent.

  • By Sarah G from London
    17 November 2018

    The food was very tasty however the service was poor & the staff I found rude. Three of our dishes arrived after five minutes we inquired as to where the rice was as the table next to us had received theirs after ordering after us. Still nothing 5 mins later asked manager who didn’t apologies and disappeared to find out what was happening. After asking for a third time my dish and the rice came out.... 15 mins after the main plates had come out, luckily the food was still warm. The top was included in the bill my husband paid it although I asked him not to as I was unhappy and embarrassed by the staff and service

  • By Richard N from London
    16 November 2018

    Excellent food, service could have been faster

  • By Sheena B from London
    2 April 2018

    Extremely nice food but a little bit pricey

  • By Tina W from Leicester
    17 February 2018

    Food was really good . The waiting time to order food and drinks was too long having them ordered we had been at our table for over 1/2 hour before we had our drinks . It was then apparent our mains were ready as they tried to clear our stater plates and one of our party was still eating . The mains arrived as the starter plates were removed

  • By Wayne H from Denmead
    15 November 2017

    Really enjoyed the experience, menu is little limited but very muck like what we had

  • By Shanaz B from london
    25 October 2017

    excellent food and service.

  • By Rod B from Norwich
    22 September 2017

    It was a fantastic experience

  • By Helen B from London
    8 September 2017

    The staff were very friendly, the food is middle range and a bit pricey for what you actually get. I was a bit upset over the fact that I missed the staff bringing out my partners cake and then singing him happy birthday. I would liked to have seen that. I would liked to have seen more range on the menu. I asked for a romantic seat as it eas my husbands birthday. They did arrange a booth for us but the only thing is that our table was by the entrance of the restaurant. Middle range restaurant. The staff did give my partner a thank you card for sharing his birthday meal with them. A nice touch....

  • By Martin Dare-Edwards D from Oxford
    27 August 2017

    We were DEEPLY disappointed with both our experience, and sense of value-for-money at Umami-Cromwell Road-London. The food was grossly overpriced and thoroughly tasteless. The service was bearable. The cocktails and wines were equally of poor quality and overpriced!

Restaurant Location Map
Umami
100 Cromwell Road, London, SW7 4ER

Available offers

  • New Year's Eve menu £50 per person (£25 child) + amuse bouche
  • Christmas day menu £64 per person (32.50 child)

Similar Restaurants

  1. Buddha-Bar London

    Buddha-Bar London

    Pan-Asian
    (1 Reviews)
    1.7km
    Buddha-Bar London
  2. Lagenda Restaurant

    Lagenda Restaurant

    Chinese
    (3 Reviews)
    2km
    Lagenda Restaurant
  3. Chai Wu

    Chai Wu

    Pan-Asian
    (6 Reviews)
    1.5km
    Chai Wu
  4. Busaba Bangkok Thai - Soho

    Busaba Bangkok Thai - Soho

    Thai
    (122 Reviews)
    4km
    Busaba Bangkok Thai - Soho
  5. inamo

    inamo

    Pan-Asian
    (277 Reviews)
    4km
    inamo