map placeholder

Turquoise Thistle Restaurant at Hotel Indigo

51 - 59 York Place, Edinburgh, EH1 3JD

((()* Scottish
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
Average
Main course: £12
Food spend: £19
Opening hours
Monday to Sunday: 17:00 - 21:30

Fantastic afternoon tea staff brilliant

Aileen 12 September 2016
from Edinburgh

View all 20 reviews

In an impressive Georgian building, Turquoise Thistle Restaurant at Hotel Indigo offers elegant Scottish cuisine and supreme fish and seafood. Expansive sash windows fill the dining room with light, and offer views out onto historic Edinburgh.

Sourcing supreme produce, the Turquoise menu spans from moreish breakfasts and lunches, through to refined dinner. Premium meat cuts are served from the sizzling grill, including succulent 35-day aged Buccleuch steaks, or grilled fish of the day from the freshest catches. Creative treats for dessert at Turquoise restaurant in Edinburgh include the Turquoise tuck shop filled with retro cakes and sweets, or chocolate and salted caramel fondant with pistachio ice cream.

An innovative afternoon tea showcases Thistle’s very own tea blend, delicious twists on traditional finger sandwiches, dainty macarons, fruit tarts and traditional Scottish shortbread. Ultra-modern cocktails and fine wines are served at the Thistle bar, which guests can enjoy in the vibrant 60’s-style lounge.

Set in a beautifully-restored hotel in Edinburgh’s New Town, the Hotel Indigo restaurant is found 8 minutes’ walk from Edinburgh Waverley Station.

Turquoise Thistle Restaurant at Hotel Indigo

51 - 59 York Place, Edinburgh, EH1 3JD

Contact +44 1315565577
Website

See all restaurants in Edinburgh

Customer reviews for Turquoise Thistle Restaurant at Hotel Indigo

3.6 ((()* (based on 20 reviews)
75% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (9)
  • value (7)
  • dinner (5)
  • private dining (4)
  • trendy (4)
  • business (2)
  • lunch (2)
  • romantic (2)
  • luxury (1)
  • ((((( 8 March 2016 by Kimberley from Edinburgh

    Great food, great service and great value

  • ((((( 1 March 2016 by Morag from Edinburgh

    Very modern, clean, tidy restaurant, the service was good and I felt it overall to be good value for a city centre location.
    The high tea was yummy with many delicious savoury items in place of finger sandwiches.
    We had the dining room to ourselves for the whole time we were there; it's a pity it was not busier on a Sunday afternoon. We will return and are planning our next booking.

  • ((((* 29 February 2016 by Joan from Edinburgh

    Very nice and comfortable surroundings. Food very nice and a bit different to the usual afternoon tea. Service very good and friendly. Toilets very clean and well stocked.

  • ((((* 27 February 2016 by Jen from Edinburgh

    The food was gorgeous. The cocktails were delicious. The staff were fantastic. The atmosphere was chilled. And yet the prices were standard! I can't wait to come back. I will definitely be recommending this place.

  • ((((( 5 October 2013 by Michael from Edinburgh

    This was my second visit to Indigo Restaurant and my husbands first for afternoon tea, and he was impressed as I was on my first visit both with the food and the service from the young men who attended to us. We will definitely return again and I have mentioned it to several of our friends to visit the Indigo Restaurant.

  • ((((* 2 October 2013 by Joyce from edinburgh

    extremely relaxing in comfortable surroundings

  • ((((( 28 August 2013 by Elaine from Edinburgh

    Went here for afternoon tea with a voucher deal and food, service and value was first class. After our glass of prosecco we ordered a full bottle and spent a very enjoyable afternoon without being rushed - will definitely be back!

  • (((** 10 August 2013 by Leon from Edinburgh

    The food was very good unfortunately the waitress acknowledge about the food and service was hugely lacking

  • (((** 6 August 2013 by Heather from Edinburgh

    The restaurant itself was pleasant, the starter wasn't bad but I ordered sirloin steak and ended up with sirloin fat.....half the piece of meat was fat....very surprised it was thought ok to serve this up in the first place....

  • ((((( 12 June 2013 by Norma from Edinburgh

    Great value voucher for afternoon tea. Excellent attention and service.

Unfortunately, you can't book Turquoise Thistle Restaurant at Hotel Indigo online on this site

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant