Tsunami - Clapham

(78 Reviews)
5 - 7 Voltaire Road Clapham, London, SW4 6DQ
Japanese, Gourmet
A la carte menu

Average

Main course: £12
Food spend: £28

Opening hours

Monday to Thursday: 17:30 - 22:00
Friday & Saturday: 12:00 - 15:00 & 17:30 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 16:00 & 17:30 - 21:00.

Restaurant description

A go-to destination for fashionable Japanese cuisine, Tsunami Clapham offers wholesome South East Asian delicacies with a fine dining twist. A late licenced bar is a chic spot for evening cocktails and a plethora of fine wines.

A high-end take on classic Japanese main courses includes sizzling teriyaki grain-fed beef served in a hot clay pot, or organic lamb cutlets with fiery Korean chilli. Sumptuous tasting dishes at Tsunami London include salt & pepper squid, chicken parcels, or wholesome marinated artichokes.

An expertly-crafted selection of fresh sushi is served at Tsunami Clapham, with colourful creations including delicate sea bass sashimi, eel & cucumber rolls, or a light and fluffy Japanese omelette. Traditional hot and cold sakes complement these traditional favourites.

Drawing in a sparkly crowd, this South West London favourite features a clean-cut under-lit bar, and a seductive palette of gold, grey and black. Tsunami restaurant is a 2-minute walk from Clapham North Tube Station.

Dishes displayed on a la carte menus are representative of the type of food available at the restaurant.

Customer reviews for Tsunami - Clapham
4.4
(based on 78 reviews)

90%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (1)
  • al fresco (2)
  • breakfast (1)
  • business (9)
  • child friendly (5)
  • dinner (57)
  • entertainment (10)
  • large parties (11)
  • lunch (21)
  • luxury (14)
  • private dining (10)
  • romantic (30)
  • trendy (29)
  • value (11)
  • views (2)
  • By Karen L from london
    19 October 2019

    food and cocktails were great, and helpful staff as i'm gluten free. The only down side to our dinner was that soooooo much fake airfreshner was circulating in the room it gave all of us a headache. It was so strong and overwhelming. Please take out the fake smells and this restaurant experience would have been far better

  • By Marcus R from London
    26 September 2019

    Food excellent

  • By Jeni H from London
    22 September 2019

    We love Tsunami. Although we don’t live nearby we always travel to celebrate special occasions there. This dinner was no exception. The staff were kind and super helpful. The presentation was lovely and the food was delicious. We had a great evening.

  • By Melody R from Clapham
    19 September 2019

    Food was fab, atmosphere lovely. Service very friendly and polite but not particularly slick or efficient - a lot of requests seem to get forgotten (by many different members of staff) and wait staff don't come to you unless you wave them down quite ferociously!

  • By Dina Raouf-Tapp R from London
    7 September 2019

    We went for the all you can eat brunch. It was good. My only comment would that we were left a long time between ordering and food and it arriving, considering the place that particular lunch time was not busy. I've been in there in the evening when it is full and the service was extremely fast.

  • By Michael S S from London
    6 September 2019

    Poor quality sushi, odd elements added to the dishes. Warm sauce on your sushi? For the price one could eat at SticksnSushi or even basic meal at Sushi Samba..

  • By Beth F from London
    2 September 2019

    The food here was nice but pretty expensive. The evening however was not enjoyable at all. The managers friends were sat next to us and were being very loud, heckling our table all night - leaning over and looking at our food and commenting on our private conversation. It was awful and i just wanted to pay and leave. The front of house offered a free drink but as our meal was expensive i didn't this was enough for such an awful evening.

  • By Helen F from London
    1 September 2019

    I have been to Tsunami before and unfortunately on this occasion the service fell very short of previous experiences. We were left at our table for about 30 minutes before being offered a drink and the waiter messed up our order so my friend was left without food for over an hour. Poor!

  • By SXR R from London
    23 May 2019

    One of my favourite places I dine her frequently ! Great value especially if you dine during happy hour when they run offers.

  • By Isabelle B from London
    17 May 2019

    I’ve been to Tsunami quite a few times now and keep coming back because the food is so good, the cocktails are excellent and the service received is always of a good standard.

Restaurant Location Map
Tsunami - Clapham
5 - 7 Voltaire Road Clapham, London, SW4 6DQ