Reviews of Toby Carvery - Newton Abbot

3.8
(based on 13 reviews)
Penn Inn, Torquay Road, Newton Abbot, South West England, TQ12 4AQ
13 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Susan M from Teignmouth
    9 February 2019

    Very good value.

  • By Lesley H from Newton Abbot
    24 December 2018

    There were only four of us and there were several large parties but the staff were very attentive. The food was excellent and the plates were lovely and hot. The chef doing the carving was extremely friendly and even said he was looking forward to working on Christmas Day!

  • By Lesley B from Kingsteignton
    23 December 2018

    The carvery was plentiful, delicious and with a good choice. Unfortunately two of the deserts, arctic roll, were so small and not as shown in your menu. We complained and this was rectified, but there were no alternatives for me with your deserts as I am lactose intolerant. A sorbet would have been an easy and inexpensive option. Also the first two wine choices were unavailable, luckily our third choice was in your cellar. We would recommend to friends and family with reservations

  • By Ann T from Newton Abbot
    24 April 2018

    Good meal as usual although the veg is not as fresh as normal it looked like it had been under the heat .

  • By Lesley B from Kingsteignton
    14 December 2017

    Excellent carvery meal after being reserved an unsuitable table for the 5 of us. After being given more suitable seating we had a lovely evening - thank you

  • By Barbara L from Newton abbot
    19 November 2017

    Lovely carvery-hot fresh food. All the family enjoyed their meal. Some stress before the meal when we left the cars in the carpark to have a short walk with the dogs. On our return found warning notices on the cars that we would be clamped for mis use of carpark (no notice in the carpark to warn about this).

  • By Hazel C from Bristol
    1 September 2017

    We have been to Newton Abbot Carvery before and always enjoyed it but not this time. My husband had the beef which was tough gristly and rather fatty. My turkey and gammon was very nice but one of my favourite vegetables is broccoli and after seeing it I didn't bother with it. Obviously everyone else thought the same as it was pretty full. It looked as though it had been there all day as it was dry and a kind of yellow green rather than the vibrant green broccoli is usually. Things did not improve. My husband asked for the chocolate brownie sundae. After a long wait what arrived was just a chocolate brownie. Obviously the waiter did not listen to his order properly. The restaurant wasn't even busy so there was no reason for him to be rushing around and thinking of other orders. A great disappointment. This may be the last time we bother with this restaurant.

  • By Carol S from Torquay
    24 August 2017

    Lovely carvery, beef and turkey cooked perfectly, delicious roast potatoes. Very busy but good service especially from Arabella. Would recommend booking as its a very popular place.

  • By Anne E from Totnes
    16 July 2017

    Booking service very easy, carvery was very delicious, a busy family restaurant,definitely going back.

  • By John H from Newton Abbot
    25 June 2017

    Have been many times the roasts are always lovely, and the staff are friendly and helpful

2 Next page