Reviews of Toby Carvery - Ipswich

3.2
(based on 38 reviews)
3 Edith Cook Way Nacton, Ipswich, Suffolk, IP3 9GX
38 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Deborah D from Franlingham
    16 November 2019

    Very short staff, ordered 3 deserts that all came 10 minutes apart from each other, this wasn't very helpful as I had my 2 year old granddaughter with me. We were only offered carvery wasn't allowed to order from main menu. Carvery was ok nothing special. Fairly disappointed with experience.

  • By Ivan D from Colchester
    8 December 2018

    Service on cavery so slow ten people in front about twenty min wait to get food

  • By Rachele B from Ipswich
    30 September 2018

    The food was good but the tables were very much on top of each other and we had to join a large que to get to the carvery. I was with two older adults who found it difficult to stand for so long. We had to keep moving out of a walk way for staff to come through with used plates. I also considered how the set up would be challenging for a disabled customers. I would suggest a buzzer system to let tables go up in smaller groups and enjoy sitting at the table chatting with the people they have come with while they wait.

  • By Michael S from Ipswich
    1 July 2018

    I think our reserved table was acknowledged but not in the place we requested but happily a table in our preferred place so that was OK. I had full breakfast which was very adequate and my wife enjoyed her light breakfast of cereal and toast although she thought there could be more selection than just the two types.

  • By Carole M from Ipswich
    27 May 2018

    Roast dinners and able to help ourselves to vegetables

  • By Barry C from Ipswich
    8 April 2018

    Best roast I’ve had in a restaurant the staff are really polite and helpful

  • By John C from Ipswich
    23 February 2018

    Was first class no complaints

  • By Sharon W from Ipswich
    4 February 2018

    Place was packed very glad we booked , food excellent very good value , they had run out of lager the night before they was a disappointment

  • By Colette S from Ipswich
    23 December 2017

    Our waiter was lovely. He was attentive, polite and a very nice young man. Sorry I cannot remember his name. The food was not so nice. In fact it was disgusting. It had been kept warm for so long it had dried up and some foods had shriveled. Over greasy potatoes, peas had lost their colour they were so old. All the food serving bowls were either over greasy or over dried or baked on black rings. The gravey was so thick and congealed. I stirred both gravey pots to see which one was better to use and they didn't look much better after string. The gravey tasted nasty. The serving areas were full of dropped vegetables and grease and nobody bothered cleaning them. We were there for over an hour and not once were the areas cleaned or tidied. Our seating area had a class partition and that had a huge grease smear like a young child had smeared food all over it and again that hadn't been cleaned at all. How long had that been there? For the price we paid I'm afraid it was totally disgusting and over priced. I will not be going back.

  • By Jade B from Ipswich
    17 December 2017

    We arrived got sat on a table started to que waited 30 mins the que was so long and with a child it was impossible we didn't even have our diner and left