Reviews of Three Church Road - Birmingham

4.3
(based on 76 reviews)
3 Church Road, Edgbaston, West Midlands, B15 3SH
76 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Emma W from Sutton Coldfield
    14 March 2020

    Grotesque wouldn't recommend

  • By Sonia D from Durham
    7 March 2020

    We had wonderful afternoon tea. It was my Mother's 80th Birthday and I surprised her by travelling down from Durham. On arrival we were warmly greeted and my mum was made to feel special. I did not know the venue and booked due to the great reviews and we were not disappointed. Lovely venue, staff were great and the food was really good. I would not hesitate to book again when I visit.

  • By Simren D from Wolverhampton
    29 February 2020

    Afternoon tea at three church road:- Unfortunately we did not have the best experience whilst having afternoon tea at three church road. When we arrived the member of staff at the bar was not friendly. (Receptionist was welcoming) Before we arrived I asked for a surprised birthday theme and I made sure I confirmed this twice over the phone and both times when I phoned I was told that they had our notes and this would be executed with a birthday cake and a special cocktail. However when we arrived they said no we don't do themes however the website states they do. They did not seem to have our booking as they wanted me to repeat everything again. I had also left a note to advise no fish and no fruit scones; again no one had listened as they brought out salmon sandwiches and fruit scones. The service was extremely slow although it was not busy. Whenever we asked for something it would take about 30 minutes to arrive. I had checked the reviews before I arrived and booked this as I was pleased with the comments. However I was displeased with the level of service provided on the day and would not reccomend this to anyone. I have had afternoon tea at mailbox before and that was really nice! Great value for money, they push the boat out for personal touches such as birthdays.

  • By Stefanie B from Tamworth
    22 February 2020

    We had a lovely afternoon tea, very polite service. Definitely recommend

  • By Jane C from Birmingham
    21 February 2020

    Finding parking and getting into the restaurant was not well signposted. The receptionist was very helpful and helped me to resolve these issues as there is good overflow parking available at the rear of the building through a controlled access. Once inside the restaurant it was a fabulous experience a traditional afternoon tea in a lovely room with good food and attentive staff. Excellent value for money, a great way to finish the week.

  • By Paul D from Birmingham
    17 January 2020

    Food was well-cooked and presented . Very good value for money. Service was excellent from very likeable and helpful waiter.

  • By Mary K from Edgbaston Birmingham
    15 December 2019

    The food was lovely, couldn't complain, and our waitress looked after us beautifully, my only gripe was having to wait 50mins for the soup i'm told that was because there was a chef missing, these things happen I suppose and it wasn't any fault of the staff present. All in all we enjoyed our dinner and we'll do it again no problem.

  • By Natalie B from Birmingham
    20 November 2019

    Group of staff standing around chatting when we walked In. Got shown to a table and drinks ordered. Mentioned again that it was my moms 80th birthday as specified in the booking. We were the only table occupied. Had to ask after 25 minutes if we were going to get any food, which was bought to us and had obviously been sitting as dry and scones cold. Two of the sandwiches were inedible and had to go back. Not one mention or special treatment for my mom and had to go to the bar to ask for the bill. Overall very disappointing and not worth the nearly £60! Won’t be returning

  • By Jacinta R from Birmingham
    18 November 2019

    Excellent service. Food was average. The food arrived approximately one hour after we sat down. I am not sure if it was because they did not think we would turn up. We had booked online with a time and date but payment was after the experience. So possibly food preparation was rushed? The staff was apologetic and excellent. They acknowledged the lateness of the food arriving but could not give us a reason for this. To top this off as everything was late, my son had a telephone interview so had to have it on the premises in a quiet area. He picked the library which was not allowed for non residents but it was opposite the room we were having the afternoon tea in. A privileged person then complained to the staff about him! It was my daughter’s birthday that day, so quite disappointing overall.

  • By Mrs H H from Edgbaston. Birmingham
    16 November 2019

    Very disappointing experience. There were 3 of us booked for an afternoon tea. There were 3 small finger sandwiches, 1 cucumber and 2 ham. 2 of us were served on individual plates and only given 1 display stand for 1 person. This what was strange we were given 8 scones for 3 of us. We had to ask for additional tea as none was offered and we were there for 2 hours, also purchasing alcohol drinks. Service was poor, I had to go up to bar and ask for the bill as the waiter was sat up at the bar. The bill came to £88 for 3 afternoon teas and 2 drinks each. Poor quality of food, poor service and wouldn’t visit again or recommend to anyone.