Reviews of The Windmill

3.9
(based on 67 reviews)
London Road, Windlesham, South East England, GU20 6PJ
67 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Paul H from Farnborough
    8 February 2020

    Very poor if you are a vegan, we order two roasted veg salads - delivered was a plate of spinach. We complained and we never if ever complain. The response was negative but the pudding value was reduced. Poor service really and staff generally disinterested.

  • By Albert S from Camberly
    14 August 2019

    Comfortable, king prawns with smoked salmon in aioli sauce best starter I have ever tasted. Overalfood was good but the restaurant was completely understaffed, waited half an hour after each course, but group of six so had a lot of caching up to do. Gave us free coffee in compensation?

  • By Nathan G from Surrey
    10 December 2018

    Food and service were both very good

  • By Janet GIBSON G from Hanworth, Feltham
    3 December 2018

    Very good food and charming staff

  • By Susan R from Farnborough
    14 November 2018

    Lovely atmosphere and comfortable seating. Unfortunately the whole meal was a disaster from start to finish. Everything we ordered was out of stock! Firstly there was no MERLOT; secondly there was no MUSHROOM SOUP; thirdly the CHICKEN AND LEEK PIE had run out; and to cap it all the two desserts we asked for which both involved STICK TOFFEE PUDDING were unavailable!!!! I felt really sorry for the young waitress who had to keep informing us of these problems as it was not her problem but the MANAGEMENT. However, it would have helped matters if she had been honest about the menu choices before we spent time choosing our food. It was farcical that every item we asked for was off!!! It is not as if we had a late booking! We arrived at 7.30pm. Why does the management not order in enough ingredients etc to provide the meals on the menu? We have never come across this problem before and we are regular, supportive customers at the Windmill, Windlesham. I wonder whether there has been a change of management? Not sure we want to repeat this farce again. This was meant to be a special 'date' meal. The food we ended up having was ok at least.

  • By Michelle T from Walton-on-Thames
    9 November 2018

    Discovered this restaurant through family about a month ago. Had such a great meal we paid a return visit for my husband’s birthday. Love the decor and vibe. Every member of staff we’ve spoken to in both visits was polite and acknowledged we were there. Great menu choices and friendly waitress who gave us time to make selections.

  • By Kathy M from Ottershaw
    23 August 2018

    Very attractive pub/restaurant both inside and out. Very welcoming, friendly and helpful staff. Food a little disappointing for dinner, the twice fried chips were black and hard, we left most of them. Three items were unavailable including the parfait starter I would have chosen. Quite expensive considering the quality of the food. I had previously enjoyed a very good value two course lunch though, good choice of dishes and I would return for lunch, not sure about dinner.

  • By John K from Lightwater
    18 June 2018

    Ambience fine. Service charming. Food excellent.

  • By Shar N from Surrey
    16 December 2017

    Lovely looking pub with great service. Food was good but certainly not exceptional

  • By Sandra H from Bagshot
    9 November 2017

    The staff were exceptionally helpful and patient with my elderly friend allowing her to change her mind several times. It was a bit expensive for me. My companion chose fish and chips and we could have gone to a good fish and chip shop down the road for a fraction of the cost had I known that she only wanted fish and chips