map placeholder

The Willow Tree

29 High Street, Bourn, CB23 2SQ

((((* British
  • The Willow Tree - Cambridge
  • The Willow Tree - Cambridge
  •  - Cambridge
  • The Willow Tree - Cambridge
  • The Willow Tree - Cambridge
  • The Willow Tree - Cambridge
  • The Willow Tree - Cambridge
  • The Willow Tree - Cambridge
  • The Willow Tree - Cambridge
  •  - Cambridge
  •  - Cambridge
  •  - Cambridge
  •  - Cambridge
  •  - Cambridge
  •  - Cambridge
  •  - Cambridge
  •  - Cambridge
  • The Willow Tree - Cambridge
  • The Willow Tree - Cambridge
  •  - Cambridge
  •  - Cambridge
  •  - Cambridge
  •  - Cambridge
  •  - Cambridge
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 15:00 & 17:30 - 21:30
Sunday: 12:00 - 20:00

Lovely Sunday lunch with great wines to accompany.

Bill 13 August 2019
from Hilton, Cambs

View all 398 reviews

With a country garden overlooking rolling hills, a bar with an open fireplace and a candlelit restaurant, The Willow Tree in Cambridge blends fairy tale charm with country chic. The restaurant’s mix of English and European dishes from locally sourced produce have earned it a place in the Michelin Guide.

From the Willow Burger with beef & Nduja to salmon fillet on a bed of fennel, the menu at The Willow Tree restaurant spans the culinary spectrum from pub classics to fine dining. Elsewhere on the menu, find classic pizza, pasta dishes and salads.

Meals here are topped off by a selection of international wines, local ales, stunning cocktails and local fruit juices. The delightful setting is enhanced by live jazz, summer garden parties and cabaret dining.

As if plucked from the pages of an idyllic fairy tale, this enchanting gastropub lies in the picturesque village of Bourn, 9 miles from Cambridge city centre.

The Willow Tree

29 High Street, Bourn, CB23 2SQ

Contact +44 1954719775
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Cambridge

Customer reviews for The Willow Tree

4.2 ((((* (based on 398 reviews)
87% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (279)
  • romantic (187)
  • lunch (164)
  • trendy (95)
  • private dining (87)
  • al fresco (74)
  • large parties (62)
  • child friendly (57)
  • luxury (52)
  • value (49)
  • entertainment (43)
  • business (28)
  • afternoon tea (25)
  • views (18)
  • breakfast (7)
  • (**** 15 February 2019 by Roy from Cambridge

    Booked a table on-line and received confirmation. Travelled 10 miles to the Willow tree only to be told “the kitchen was closed to catch up from lunch period”. Will not be returning

  • ((((( 12 February 2019 by David from Cambridge

    Great place for a special Saturday lunch. Ambience and good food with courteous service. Busy but no overly so.. Perfect for a low key birthday celebration even if wagging ears meant that the chef provided a brownie with candle and trimmings at no extra expense - thankfully with no singing. Highly recommended

  • ((((( 30 January 2019 by Hannah from Cambridge

    Excellent food, excellent service, beautiful restaurant. Perfect for a date night with the hubby!

  • ((((( 28 January 2019 by Barbara from Cambridge

    Very enjoyable experience.

  • (((** 23 January 2019 by William from Caxton

    Delicious dishes, as always. However, the waitresses showed to be inexperienced. They should know what draft beers are on offer, and they really should not ask if the customer wants to add gratuity to the bill and how much. Just give the card machine, full stop.
    As regular customers for years, we were disappointed by the service overall. Fortunately, the chef provided stunning food.

  • ((*** 14 January 2019 by Claire from Near cambs

    We chose the willow tree after hearing good reviews (and one in our party had been several times before). Venue was lovely. Service was poor. Food was poor. Lots of items off the menu (possibly a problem with the supplier after new year). Service was very slow. Ordered one coke with ice one without - both came with ice. Half the starters served....had to wait ages for other people’s starters. For the mains - a steak which was supposed be served with peppercorn sauce was served with gravy! No explaination given.....it was just plonked down. When we sent the gravy back and asked for the peppercorn sauce it was supposed to come with...and we’re then told they had no peppercorn sauce. Asked for mustard instead.....to be told no mustard. 3 of us had monkfish - delicious.....but each serving different. All servings missed the almonds that were supposed to be on the veg (no explaination given). One fish came with tender steam broccoli, the other with normal broccoli. The portion sizes were. Aired between the 3 monkfish. A chicken dish that we had asked specifically to have a sauce swapped on came with the wrong sauce. Again we had to wait far to long while some mains were served and we then had to wait for the rest of the mains. We had to ask for a soup spoon for the person having soup.....didn’t take too long to come but again - you shouldn’t have to ask, the place was not busy. We complained to the manager and did get a large discount off the meal (thank you) but we came away very disappointed and are unlikely to return. Poor service from the serving staff and the kitchen. :-(

  • ((((( 27 December 2018 by Yasmin from Cambridge

    We had a lovely evening. Great service, atmosphere. Lovely decor, table by the fire - perfect xmas eve evening. Food was good quality. A couple of us had hard carrots and parsnips and therefore, couldn't eat them but didn't want to complain as we were having such a lovely evening.

  • ((((( 26 December 2018 by William from Caxton

    Great atmosphere, excellent service, delicious food

  • ((((* 21 December 2018 by Alex from Cambourne

    The decor and atmosphere is very good, clean and comfortable. Love the fireplace.
    Service was excellent, affectionate and not intrusive.
    Good was good, pricy... some items do not work, like the crispy bits on the cured salmon starter, and edible flowers do not have a place on all the dishes, especially cheese.
    Good wines and drinks.

  • (**** 12 December 2018 by Lorna from Cambridge

    I was taken as a test by my husband and was really disappointed. Service slow with one waitress really not having an idea what she was doing. I had the Roast Beef. Carrots were not properly cooked, beef was dry. i had 1 glass of wine which was double in price to a Cambridge restaurant! We shared cheese and biscuits, the people on the next table had double our portion size!!! Very very expensive compared to other, better restaurants in Cambridge. Upset as have eaten here many times but I am afraid will not be returning. A real shame.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant