map placeholder

The Willow Tree

29 High Street, Bourn, CB23 2SQ

((((* British
  • The Willow Tree - Cambridge
  • The Willow Tree - Cambridge
  •  - Cambridge
  • The Willow Tree - Cambridge
  • The Willow Tree - Cambridge
  • The Willow Tree - Cambridge
  • The Willow Tree - Cambridge
  • The Willow Tree - Cambridge
  • The Willow Tree - Cambridge
  •  - Cambridge
  •  - Cambridge
  •  - Cambridge
  •  - Cambridge
  •  - Cambridge
  •  - Cambridge
  •  - Cambridge
  •  - Cambridge
  • The Willow Tree - Cambridge
  • The Willow Tree - Cambridge
  •  - Cambridge
  •  - Cambridge
  •  - Cambridge
  •  - Cambridge
  •  - Cambridge
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 15:00 & 17:30 - 21:30
Sunday: 12:00 - 20:00

Food was delicious, if anything the portions were too big for me

Cara 07 June 2019
from Cambridge

View all 396 reviews

With a country garden overlooking rolling hills, a bar with an open fireplace and a candlelit restaurant, The Willow Tree in Cambridge blends fairy tale charm with country chic. The restaurant’s mix of English and European dishes from locally sourced produce have earned it a place in the Michelin Guide.

From the Willow Burger with beef & Nduja to salmon fillet on a bed of fennel, the menu at The Willow Tree restaurant spans the culinary spectrum from pub classics to fine dining. Elsewhere on the menu, find classic pizza, pasta dishes and salads.

Meals here are topped off by a selection of international wines, local ales, stunning cocktails and local fruit juices. The delightful setting is enhanced by live jazz, summer garden parties and cabaret dining.

As if plucked from the pages of an idyllic fairy tale, this enchanting gastropub lies in the picturesque village of Bourn, 9 miles from Cambridge city centre.

The Willow Tree

29 High Street, Bourn, CB23 2SQ

Contact +44 1954719775
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Cambridge

Customer reviews for The Willow Tree

4.2 ((((* (based on 396 reviews)
87% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (277)
  • romantic (186)
  • lunch (163)
  • trendy (93)
  • private dining (87)
  • al fresco (74)
  • large parties (62)
  • child friendly (57)
  • luxury (52)
  • value (49)
  • entertainment (43)
  • business (28)
  • afternoon tea (25)
  • views (18)
  • breakfast (7)
  • (((** 30 April 2019 by Laura from Sandy, Bedfordshire

    Food was great. Mushroom Bruschetta and pizza were amazing! The service was ok, waitresses very friendly but perhaps a little under trained. We also ordered a seafood salad and got a pasta. The glasses of wine we were served were large when we didn’t ask for them. We also order an Irish coffee and got given a mug of black coffee with a shot of whiskey in and a side of milk. Never seen an Irish coffee like that before! The setting is beautiful but maybe service needs a little finessing.

  • (((** 29 April 2019 by K from Bourn

    After booking online, they changed their menu to a temporary Italian theme, so we were unaware until arrival. Disappointing as we had specifically chosen it based on the menu we’d enjoyed previously.
    Service was terribly slow, and more than once two different waitresses would offer us drinks or check on us in quick succession. Also took our food to the wrong table.
    After a long wait for mains, was told they’d informed us in error of the risotto choice, and it was something totally different and was that ok? Unfortunately not ok, but then she offered to doublecheck and were told we could have the original choice in 5 mins!(Takes longer than 5 mins to cook a risotto so not sure what was going on there)
    In summary, food was nice, service slow and disorganised although they were pleasant and trying hard. Was disappointed overall as just felt chaotic

  • ((((* 29 April 2019 by Kathy from WEST WICKHAM

    Nice little restaurant. Pleasant atmosphere and most important- good food. Not as "pubby" as i was expecting but not really a problem for me. Unlike other half . But food so much better than pubgrub. Nice staff too and pricing reasonable. Def worth a visit.

  • (((** 15 April 2019 by Peter from Bourn

    Great ambiance and food but service was slow due to staff shortage. This didn’t spoil the evening and couldn’t be helped

  • ((*** 22 March 2019 by Mike from Cambridge

    We’ve visited the Willow Tree on several occasions now and unfortunately on this particular visit we found that the quality of service had dropped considerably in a number of ways. For example, the beer on tap was very flat and wasn’t very cold. In addition, we were only told when ordering that there was no burger rolls and that a couple of the starters were not available due to delivery issues, which we found very disappointing for a Friday night. Also, we found the service very slow and the staff not very welcoming like we have done in the past. Very poor experience all round.

  • ((((( 7 March 2019 by Karen from Bourn

    We really enjoyed our visit and had a lovely meal. It is a real bonus that you can cater for vegans so well. It is also good that dogs are welcome. The fish and chips was lovely- very fresh and just delicious . My only slight quibble is that it was cold when the door at the back blew open which happened quite a lot. It was fine when the outside door was closed but it kept being left open by people coming and going.

  • ((((( 22 February 2019 by Tom from St Ives

    We had an excellent evening at The Willow Tree following several recommendations. The atmosphere and setting is extremely welcoming with a refined shabby/chic feel enhanced more by the candlelit tables and roaring fires. All of the staff who attended to us were extremely polite, friendly and even joined in with my terrible jokes - very attentive, but not intrusive. I started with the roasted asparagus special which was out of this world, the flavours packed a punch - light enough to not impact the rest of the meal but still an ample portion. I followed with the pistachio crusted rack of lamb and wow. Beautifully cooked lamb, amazing flavour and texture combinations and a very good portion size. Ordinarily I wouldn't have a dessert, but the Pornstar Martini cheesecake looked too good to be missed - a generous slab of vanilla cheesecake smothered in fresh passion fruit, with a shot of prosecco on the side? Who wouldn't enjoy that! The night was rounded off with a 'Parma Violet' cocktail - for those of us who enjoy parma violets, this is an absolute must try - beautifully balanced, quirky and tasty - perfect ending to a perfect evening. Thanks to all the team, front of house and kitchen, at The Willow Tree - I will be returning!

  • ((((( 18 February 2019 by Aneesh from Beds

    Fabulous interior. Excellent FRESH food and brilliant service. The venue has a beautiful outdoors too with large tree and swings to sit on. The chef prepapred vegan food for us with no prior notice and we would travel again to eat there.

  • (**** 15 February 2019 by Roy from Cambridge

    Booked a table on-line and received confirmation. Travelled 10 miles to the Willow tree only to be told “the kitchen was closed to catch up from lunch period”. Will not be returning

  • ((((( 12 February 2019 by David from Cambridge

    Great place for a special Saturday lunch. Ambience and good food with courteous service. Busy but no overly so.. Perfect for a low key birthday celebration even if wagging ears meant that the chef provided a brownie with candle and trimmings at no extra expense - thankfully with no singing. Highly recommended

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant