map placeholder

The Wild Boar Grill & Smokehouse

The Wild Boar Inn, Grill & Smokehouse, Crook Road, Windermere, LA23 3NF

(((() British
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
Average
Main course: £20
Food spend: £36
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 14:00 & 18:30 - 21:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 14:30 & 18:30 - 21:00

Restaurant setting was delightful, porterhouse steak was cooked to perfection and the snicker sundae was to die for.

Peter 07 June 2019
from Rossendale

View all 364 reviews

Set amidst the stunning landscapes of the Lake District and winner of Cumbria Pub of the Year 2014, The Wild Boar Grill and Smokehouse showcases modern but hearty British food. Discover roaring open fires, sprawling rugs and low beamed ceilings in the cosy dining room.

Priding itself on its traditional décor bursting with character, The Wild Boar Inn also boasts an open kitchen for views of the chefs in action. Snack on pork crackling before sampling starters such as snails in herb, garlic and brandy cream, or game pie with piccalilli.

Guests can choose from mains including wild boar chop, and poached fillet of turbot with langoustines. Traditional pub classics such as the home roast and fish and chips can also be found on the Wild Boar Grill menu. Apple and homemade toffee vodka sorbet is a highlight among the desserts, and the wine list is substantial.

In close proximity to the famous Lake Windermere, The Wild Boar in Cumbria is a favourite with both locals and visitors. Windermere Train Station is a 10-minute drive away.

The Wild Boar Grill & Smokehouse

The Wild Boar Inn, Grill & Smokehouse, Crook Road, Windermere, LA23 3NF

Contact +44 1539445225
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Cumbria

See all restaurants in Windermere

Customer reviews for The Wild Boar Grill & Smokehouse

4.4 (((() (based on 364 reviews)
93% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (236)
  • romantic (138)
  • afternoon tea (136)
  • lunch (105)
  • value (74)
  • luxury (73)
  • private dining (64)
  • breakfast (57)
  • views (46)
  • large parties (45)
  • child friendly (43)
  • trendy (30)
  • business (18)
  • entertainment (9)
  • al fresco (7)
  • ((((( 16 February 2019 by Morwenna from Mold

    Fantastic fresh locally sourced game, smoked seafood, fish, local meats. Cooked fresh to order. Wonderful rich flavours perfectly cooked and served. Some great ideas on the menu. Definitely go there if you possibly can. You will not be disappointed!

  • ((((( 7 February 2019 by Patricia from Windermere

    Alternative afternoon tea was wonderful

  • ((((( 28 January 2019 by Alan from Chorley

    Fantastic alternative afternoon tea

  • ((((* 24 January 2019 by Jennifer from Egremont

    Nice experience, didn’t realise you would only get a selection of what the menu offers rather than a small amount of everything mentioned. Vegetarian scotch egg was beautiful nice surroundings and wonderful service

  • ((((( 14 January 2019 by Julie from Baycliff, Cumbria

    This was our second visit to The Wild Boar for the special Afternoon Tea, and once again, it didn't disappoint! From the cheery welcome, the lovely, friendly and attentive waiters/waitresses, to the gorgeous food - we sent an empty board back - to the choice of drinks - absolutely wonderful. The atmosphere was great too - plenty of folk about but no other table was too close so that we could have a conversation in relative privacy - had we needed to! The surroundings are also lovely - a comfortable, traditional, non-pretentious hotel - we saw other residents bringing their dogs in - good to know for next time as we'll probably bring ours! We'd just like to say a huge 'thanks' to the team - we'll be back and are also recommending you to our friends.

  • ((((( 14 January 2019 by Simon from Whassett

    Great steak as always...the onion were a bit disappointing though as on our previous visits have been homemade but the ones we we had on Friday night appeared to be frozen readymade ones, so wouldn’t order these next time. The sticky toffee pudding was a huge portion which we devoured... a great dining experience as always.

  • ((((( 6 January 2019 by Jackie from Carlisle

    I made this booking for a friends birthday treat and we loved the whole experience of the food then moving out to a table near the lovely open fire. I was driving as it was my friends birthday but her and our other friend loved it so much they didn’t want to leave. 2 bottles of wine later I managed to persuade them it was getting late and possibly icy. We will definitely book again.

  • (((** 6 January 2019 by Mark from Sutton Coldfield

    Booking was easy and ambience was great however one of the choices sea bream was very small and mussels with the dish gritty. You also need to order side dishes too complement the main courses. I complained about the sea bream had the staff reduced the price

  • ((((* 10 December 2018 by Sarah from Manchester

    Food was sublime. It was so delicious. The duck was exquisite. The service was friendly and efficient. We had a lovely evening and will return. It would have been 5 stars without a doubt if they turned the lights down. There wasn’t much of an atmosphere because it was too bright in there. The candles on the tables were a lovely touch but it was too bright to appreciate them.

  • ((((( 30 November 2018 by Becky from Kendal

    Lovely afternoon, we had the afternoon tea which was fantastic

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant