map placeholder

The Wild Boar Grill & Smokehouse

The Wild Boar Inn, Grill & Smokehouse, Crook Road, Windermere, LA23 3NF

(((() British
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
Average
Main course: £20
Food spend: £36
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 14:00 & 18:30 - 21:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 14:30 & 18:30 - 21:00

Restaurant setting was delightful, porterhouse steak was cooked to perfection and the snicker sundae was to die for.

Peter 07 June 2019
from Rossendale

View all 364 reviews

Set amidst the stunning landscapes of the Lake District and winner of Cumbria Pub of the Year 2014, The Wild Boar Grill and Smokehouse showcases modern but hearty British food. Discover roaring open fires, sprawling rugs and low beamed ceilings in the cosy dining room.

Priding itself on its traditional décor bursting with character, The Wild Boar Inn also boasts an open kitchen for views of the chefs in action. Snack on pork crackling before sampling starters such as snails in herb, garlic and brandy cream, or game pie with piccalilli.

Guests can choose from mains including wild boar chop, and poached fillet of turbot with langoustines. Traditional pub classics such as the home roast and fish and chips can also be found on the Wild Boar Grill menu. Apple and homemade toffee vodka sorbet is a highlight among the desserts, and the wine list is substantial.

In close proximity to the famous Lake Windermere, The Wild Boar in Cumbria is a favourite with both locals and visitors. Windermere Train Station is a 10-minute drive away.

The Wild Boar Grill & Smokehouse

The Wild Boar Inn, Grill & Smokehouse, Crook Road, Windermere, LA23 3NF

Contact +44 1539445225
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Cumbria

See all restaurants in Windermere

Customer reviews for The Wild Boar Grill & Smokehouse

4.4 (((() (based on 364 reviews)
93% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (236)
  • romantic (138)
  • afternoon tea (136)
  • lunch (105)
  • value (74)
  • luxury (73)
  • private dining (64)
  • breakfast (57)
  • views (46)
  • large parties (45)
  • child friendly (43)
  • trendy (30)
  • business (18)
  • entertainment (9)
  • al fresco (7)
  • ((*** 21 March 2019 by Phillip from BARROW-IN-FURNESS

    For a steak house they need to learn how to cook a steak, I asked for mine medium and it came blue, sent it back came back pretty much no different. My girlfriend also asked for medium hers came well done, she also got a white wine that was room temperature. I didn't complain at the time and paid full price which I instantly regretted, when they charge £80 for 2 small starters, 2 steaks and one drink id expect something atleast average, very poor wont be going back.

  • (**** 21 March 2019 by Alan from GRAYRIGG KENDAL

    My wife and I had the afternoon tea which we where looking forward to as it was a gift from our daughter, but sadly we were very disappointed poor seating in a drafty area and the tea was very disappointing, tough beef burgers dry bread buns no scotch egg!!!

  • ((((( 20 March 2019 by Maureen from Barrow-in-Furness

    This was a very nice alternative Afternoon Tea. Made a very nice change to have hot food and the sauces were a nice touch as well. We were sat in the lounge area as requested not restaurant and it was lovely. All old wood like a Proper pub used to be.
    We were shown our table on arrival asked about drinks could not fault the service at all.
    We will defiantly be going again. Nice to see it is dog friendly too.
    Would definitely recommend ??

  • ((((( 7 March 2019 by Bev from Lancaster

    Lovely alternate afternoon tea peaceful setting and polite staff

  • ((((( 4 March 2019 by Rachel from Windermere

    The smoked fillet steak was to die for. It was honestly the best steak we ever eaten. Cooked to perfection at medium rare.

  • (((** 1 March 2019 by susan from Ulverston

    we had afternoon tea and the food was a little disappointing but the place and service was good.

  • ((((( 26 February 2019 by Colin from Richmond

    Quite simply a wonderful dining experience. The service and food were of the highest order. We were attended like royalty and served with prompt effectiveness. We never felt rushed and enjoyed every morsel we were served. We cant wait to return :)

  • ((((( 21 February 2019 by Peter from Newcastle

    Excellent food,
    Great service,
    Lovely beer,

  • ((((( 21 February 2019 by Andrea from Newcastle upon Tyne

    Quick and easy to book, amazing atmosphere and food, we've been coming here for around 7 years my favourite place to be in the lakes

  • ((*** 18 February 2019 by Chantelle from Barrow-in-Furness

    Hello,
    I booked the alternative afternoon tea today and arrived for our table at 1-15pm. This is something we have wanted to try for a long time and decided I would treat my partner for valentines.
    Anyway it was very disappointing for us for nearly £50 we were dumbstruck at how bad the food was. (Not forgetting I specifically requested no cheese savoury) this was ignored. The pigs in blankets were cold the burgers were cold, there was a very small amount of food for the price we paid. We got a quarter of a slice of brownie and gingerbread (very small) no butter was given for scones and only brown sugar provided which is for coffee not tea we had to wait for a while to get attention to ask for white sugar. No one cleared our plates or asked us how the food was. Sorry for such a lengthy message I decided to message private rather than put on the reviews. But it was so disappointing considering we had been looking forward to trying it for so long. Expected great things. Such a Shame to of travelled through all diverted roads and spending that amount of money for very below average food.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant