map placeholder

The Wild Boar Grill & Smokehouse

The Wild Boar Inn, Grill & Smokehouse, Crook Road, Windermere, LA23 3NF

(((() British
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
Average
Main course: £20
Food spend: £36
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 14:00 & 18:30 - 21:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 14:30 & 18:30 - 21:00

Restaurant setting was delightful, porterhouse steak was cooked to perfection and the snicker sundae was to die for.

Peter 07 June 2019
from Rossendale

View all 392 reviews

Set amidst the stunning landscapes of the Lake District and winner of Cumbria Pub of the Year 2014, The Wild Boar Grill and Smokehouse showcases modern but hearty British food. Discover roaring open fires, sprawling rugs and low beamed ceilings in the cosy dining room.

Priding itself on its traditional décor bursting with character, The Wild Boar Inn also boasts an open kitchen for views of the chefs in action. Snack on pork crackling before sampling starters such as snails in herb, garlic and brandy cream, or game pie with piccalilli.

Guests can choose from mains including wild boar chop, and poached fillet of turbot with langoustines. Traditional pub classics such as the home roast and fish and chips can also be found on the Wild Boar Grill menu. Apple and homemade toffee vodka sorbet is a highlight among the desserts, and the wine list is substantial.

In close proximity to the famous Lake Windermere, The Wild Boar in Cumbria is a favourite with both locals and visitors. Windermere Train Station is a 10-minute drive away.

The Wild Boar Grill & Smokehouse

The Wild Boar Inn, Grill & Smokehouse, Crook Road, Windermere, LA23 3NF

Contact +44 1539445225
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Cumbria

See all restaurants in Windermere

Customer reviews for The Wild Boar Grill & Smokehouse

4.4 (((() (based on 392 reviews)
93% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (249)
  • afternoon tea (155)
  • romantic (144)
  • lunch (112)
  • luxury (79)
  • value (78)
  • private dining (69)
  • breakfast (60)
  • large parties (48)
  • views (48)
  • child friendly (47)
  • trendy (32)
  • business (22)
  • entertainment (10)
  • al fresco (9)
  • ((((( 7 June 2019 by Peter from Rossendale

    Restaurant setting was delightful, porterhouse steak was cooked to perfection and the snicker sundae was to die for.

  • ((((* 6 June 2019 by Marjorie from Glasgow

    I had the venison that was on special - it was delicious
    Have eaten here before and always had a lovely meal

  • ((((( 5 June 2019 by elizabeth from KENDAL

    We booked the Wild Boar for a family dinner to celebrate our youngest son's 18th birthday. It was perfect. The food was amazing, the atmosphere relaxed and the service very welcoming.

  • (**** 4 June 2019 by Adrian from Carnforth

    Terrible, steak wasn’t cooked right sent back and was terrible when came back, the girl that served us was rude from the start, normally love this restaurant but after this experience won’t be going back

  • ((((( 4 June 2019 by Geraldine from Cleator Moor

    Excellent food and service

  • ((((( 2 June 2019 by Margaret from Cumbria

    Welcome was lovely, food was excellent and service was efficient.

  • (((** 26 May 2019 by Barbara from St Helebs

    Ordered afternoon tea but expected traditional. Got burger, chips fish, chicken,pork scratchings. None of which I eat. Needs a better description so customer can chose appropriately. Good service and lovely surroundings.

  • ((((( 22 May 2019 by Sandra from Whitehaven

    Thoroughly enjoyed our meal on Saturday- my husband had the venison, which I also sampled & it was delicious. I had the burger
    Wonderful service

  • ((((( 20 May 2019 by Phil from Cumbria

    We went for Alternative Afternoon Tea which was fantastic! The staff were great, lovely room, loads of free parking and in a nice quiet area 5 minutes away from Bowness.

  • ((((( 13 May 2019 by Kate from Barrow-in-furness

    We had the alternative afternoon tea for 2 people and it was absolutely lovely. My personal favourites were the sausages and the cupcakes. The staff were all very pleasant. I also love the woods out the back of the building..great for a little after dinner stroll

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant