map placeholder

The Wild Boar Grill & Smokehouse

The Wild Boar Inn, Grill & Smokehouse, Crook Road, Windermere, LA23 3NF

(((() British
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
Average
Main course: £20
Food spend: £36
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 14:00 & 18:30 - 21:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 14:30 & 18:30 - 21:00

Restaurant setting was delightful, porterhouse steak was cooked to perfection and the snicker sundae was to die for.

Peter 07 June 2019
from Rossendale

View all 364 reviews

Set amidst the stunning landscapes of the Lake District and winner of Cumbria Pub of the Year 2014, The Wild Boar Grill and Smokehouse showcases modern but hearty British food. Discover roaring open fires, sprawling rugs and low beamed ceilings in the cosy dining room.

Priding itself on its traditional décor bursting with character, The Wild Boar Inn also boasts an open kitchen for views of the chefs in action. Snack on pork crackling before sampling starters such as snails in herb, garlic and brandy cream, or game pie with piccalilli.

Guests can choose from mains including wild boar chop, and poached fillet of turbot with langoustines. Traditional pub classics such as the home roast and fish and chips can also be found on the Wild Boar Grill menu. Apple and homemade toffee vodka sorbet is a highlight among the desserts, and the wine list is substantial.

In close proximity to the famous Lake Windermere, The Wild Boar in Cumbria is a favourite with both locals and visitors. Windermere Train Station is a 10-minute drive away.

The Wild Boar Grill & Smokehouse

The Wild Boar Inn, Grill & Smokehouse, Crook Road, Windermere, LA23 3NF

Contact +44 1539445225
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Cumbria

See all restaurants in Windermere

Customer reviews for The Wild Boar Grill & Smokehouse

4.4 (((() (based on 364 reviews)
93% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (236)
  • romantic (138)
  • afternoon tea (136)
  • lunch (105)
  • value (74)
  • luxury (73)
  • private dining (64)
  • breakfast (57)
  • views (46)
  • large parties (45)
  • child friendly (43)
  • trendy (30)
  • business (18)
  • entertainment (9)
  • al fresco (7)
  • (((** 17 April 2019 by Kay from Swindon

    We had the alternative afternoon tea, it was ok, but wouldn't rush back to have it again a bit over priced. The atmosphere was lovely and staff friendly. Enjoyed my time there with friends and family.

  • ((((( 13 April 2019 by Stephanie from Lincoln

    Fabulous meal to end our family holiday in the Lake District. The food, setting and service was incredible. We will definitely be returning when we visit the Lake District again!

  • ((((( 12 April 2019 by Brian from Ulverston

    excellent service and food nice surrondings were very nice

  • ((((( 12 April 2019 by Kay from Cumbria

    A lovely place. Food was exceptional. Just perfect.

  • ((((* 11 April 2019 by Lindsey from Penrith

    The afternoon tea was amazing, food was fantastic quality, clearly very fresh and care taken with presentation. Staff were lovely and friendly. Only thing I was a little disappointed in was when the afternoon tea was served the stand was placed on the table with the back of the stand facing us and it was left for us to turn it round to get the correct presentation. The stands are large so our table was on the snug side, however we managed to make it work. That being said it hasn’t put us off returning.

  • ((((* 8 April 2019 by Tony from Durham city

    Open kitchen, specials fish of the day, shoot of the day, staff friendly polite and professional.

  • ((((* 7 April 2019 by Tony from Durham

    Specials were good and we had these both nights as we are not particular steak fans. Good breakfast selection.

  • ((((( 6 April 2019 by Sharon from Barrow-in-Furness

    Wonderful Afternoon Tea with great service and lovely surroundings

  • ((((( 4 April 2019 by Ann from Wigan

    Excellent

  • (**** 28 March 2019 by Genny from The wild boar, windermere

    If I could leave anything less than a 1 star review, I would. My afternoon tea at the wild boar was a gift from a loved one for our wedding, and I have never been so insulted and disappointed in a restaurant, let alone embarrassed.
    When I booked the afternoon tea I requested a vegitarian option and two weeks later, I rang the restaurant the day before to confirm that they had the correct order for the next day. Upon arrival, we were told that there would be a slight wait for the veggie option, this wasn't a problem as I was enjoying the time with my husband. This was interrupted when we heard a lot of shouting coming from the kitchen. What we heard turned out to be the chef, of all people, shouting and swearing about "the people at that table 'x' have just changed their minds" about the vegitarian option. Having sat through his profanity ridden rant about us, my husband went to the reception to complain, we were apologised to and offered a free drink, which of course did nothing to settle us after this experience and the whole afternoon was spoilt by the rude and tempermental chef employed there.
    I certainly do not think that a poxy glass of prosecco is enough to offset the insulting nature of a chef such as the one at the wild boar. I would love to hear from somebody from your management team to discuss this further.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant