map placeholder

The Wild Boar Grill & Smokehouse

The Wild Boar Inn, Grill & Smokehouse, Crook Road, Windermere, LA23 3NF

(((() British
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
Average
Main course: £20
Food spend: £36
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 14:00 & 18:30 - 21:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 14:30 & 18:30 - 21:00

Restaurant setting was delightful, porterhouse steak was cooked to perfection and the snicker sundae was to die for.

Peter 07 June 2019
from Rossendale

View all 364 reviews

Set amidst the stunning landscapes of the Lake District and winner of Cumbria Pub of the Year 2014, The Wild Boar Grill and Smokehouse showcases modern but hearty British food. Discover roaring open fires, sprawling rugs and low beamed ceilings in the cosy dining room.

Priding itself on its traditional décor bursting with character, The Wild Boar Inn also boasts an open kitchen for views of the chefs in action. Snack on pork crackling before sampling starters such as snails in herb, garlic and brandy cream, or game pie with piccalilli.

Guests can choose from mains including wild boar chop, and poached fillet of turbot with langoustines. Traditional pub classics such as the home roast and fish and chips can also be found on the Wild Boar Grill menu. Apple and homemade toffee vodka sorbet is a highlight among the desserts, and the wine list is substantial.

In close proximity to the famous Lake Windermere, The Wild Boar in Cumbria is a favourite with both locals and visitors. Windermere Train Station is a 10-minute drive away.

The Wild Boar Grill & Smokehouse

The Wild Boar Inn, Grill & Smokehouse, Crook Road, Windermere, LA23 3NF

Contact +44 1539445225
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Cumbria

See all restaurants in Windermere

Customer reviews for The Wild Boar Grill & Smokehouse

4.4 (((() (based on 364 reviews)
93% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (236)
  • romantic (138)
  • afternoon tea (136)
  • lunch (105)
  • value (74)
  • luxury (73)
  • private dining (64)
  • breakfast (57)
  • views (46)
  • large parties (45)
  • child friendly (43)
  • trendy (30)
  • business (18)
  • entertainment (9)
  • al fresco (7)
  • ((((( 20 May 2019 by Phil from Cumbria

    We went for Alternative Afternoon Tea which was fantastic! The staff were great, lovely room, loads of free parking and in a nice quiet area 5 minutes away from Bowness.

  • ((((( 13 May 2019 by Kate from Barrow-in-furness

    We had the alternative afternoon tea for 2 people and it was absolutely lovely. My personal favourites were the sausages and the cupcakes. The staff were all very pleasant. I also love the woods out the back of the building..great for a little after dinner stroll

  • ((((* 7 May 2019 by Ben from Manchester

    Good, friendly service and a delicious main meal. However the dessert was a bit disappointing.

  • ((((* 5 May 2019 by Ros from Leyburn

    Smoked salmon dishes, fish & chips and pies excellent.

    Staff friendly, service good.

    The restaurant hasn't changed over the last few years - we like that.

  • ((((( 5 May 2019 by Lorie from Kendal

    Wonderful afternoon tea with more savoury than sweet ..spot on ..plenty tea and coffee offered.. lovely staff
    A definite must
    Thanku !!!

  • ((((* 30 April 2019 by Charles from Kirkby stephen

    Went for afternoon tea. Lovely staff and food. Good selection of food and drink.

  • ((((( 28 April 2019 by Sue from Whitehaven

    Wonderful experience with fantastic food.

  • ((((( 28 April 2019 by Kaytee from Barrow in Futness

    Went to the Wild Boar for their alternative afternoon tea. Had heard lots of good reviews about it. It was so much better than I expected, I'm not a big fan of Pork but it was all really lovely and would definitely go back again, staff were lovely and service was excellent.

  • ((((( 24 April 2019 by Paul from Chorley

    This was a brilliant experience and definitely and alternative afternoon tea that was well suited to be me and my father and our other halves.
    We were made to feel exceptionally welcome by the staff on the day, and they were more than happy to meet any of our requests. All in all 10/10

  • ((((* 18 April 2019 by Shaun from Workington

    Alternative afternoon tea was great made a fantastic change to the normal and was just enough for the price great quality good service stunning surroundings

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant