map placeholder

The Wild Boar Grill & Smokehouse

The Wild Boar Inn, Grill & Smokehouse, Crook Road, Windermere, LA23 3NF

(((() British
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
  •  - Cumbria
Average
Main course: £20
Food spend: £36
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 14:00 & 18:30 - 21:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 14:30 & 18:30 - 21:00

Restaurant setting was delightful, porterhouse steak was cooked to perfection and the snicker sundae was to die for.

Peter 07 June 2019
from Rossendale

View all 392 reviews

Set amidst the stunning landscapes of the Lake District and winner of Cumbria Pub of the Year 2014, The Wild Boar Grill and Smokehouse showcases modern but hearty British food. Discover roaring open fires, sprawling rugs and low beamed ceilings in the cosy dining room.

Priding itself on its traditional décor bursting with character, The Wild Boar Inn also boasts an open kitchen for views of the chefs in action. Snack on pork crackling before sampling starters such as snails in herb, garlic and brandy cream, or game pie with piccalilli.

Guests can choose from mains including wild boar chop, and poached fillet of turbot with langoustines. Traditional pub classics such as the home roast and fish and chips can also be found on the Wild Boar Grill menu. Apple and homemade toffee vodka sorbet is a highlight among the desserts, and the wine list is substantial.

In close proximity to the famous Lake Windermere, The Wild Boar in Cumbria is a favourite with both locals and visitors. Windermere Train Station is a 10-minute drive away.

The Wild Boar Grill & Smokehouse

The Wild Boar Inn, Grill & Smokehouse, Crook Road, Windermere, LA23 3NF

Contact +44 1539445225
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Cumbria

See all restaurants in Windermere

Customer reviews for The Wild Boar Grill & Smokehouse

4.4 (((() (based on 392 reviews)
93% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (249)
  • afternoon tea (155)
  • romantic (144)
  • lunch (112)
  • luxury (79)
  • value (78)
  • private dining (69)
  • breakfast (60)
  • large parties (48)
  • views (48)
  • child friendly (47)
  • trendy (32)
  • business (22)
  • entertainment (10)
  • al fresco (9)
  • ((((* 16 August 2019 by Tony from Durham city

    Steaks superb, starters and desserts were OK but 3way cooked chips very disappointing -hard and not appertizing. Staff polite and professional as always . But no feedback on my comments about chips.

  • ((((( 13 August 2019 by Jodie from Cumbria

    Beautiful place, amazing food and lovely staff.

  • (((** 13 August 2019 by Mel from Lancaster

    Overall a good experience

  • ((((( 13 August 2019 by Janet from Carnforth

    We visited the Wild Boar for the third time and weren’t disappointed. On previous visits we have had the Alternative Afternoon Tea and before that, hot sandwiches at lunchtime. This visit was for our wedding anniversary and we had Sunday lunch. My husband ordered the ham hock starter and thoroughly enjoyed it. I opted for smoked salmon mouse and it was also delicious. We both had roast beef for mains - both were very tasty, perfectly cooked and were very well presented. We then had sticky toffee pudding for pudding, which was a perfect end to a perfect meal. The service, from entering the bar area to leaving after our meal, was outstanding. All staff were attentive, friendly and helpful. They all seemed happy in their work and, although we didn’t have to ask for anything, I’m sure nothing would have been too much trouble had we asked.

  • ((((( 12 August 2019 by Sally from Appleby, Cumbria

    We had yet another amazing afternoon tea, cannot fault the food and the staff here! We had booked as a special treat for my mum as she was visiting from Oxfordshire and although the weather was awful we had a lovely time here and forgot about it for a couple of hours.

  • ((((( 4 August 2019 by Vikkie from Morecambe

    Excellent food service and atmosphere

  • ((((( 4 August 2019 by Adam from Huddersfield

    Smoked Sirloin was excellent.

  • ((((( 27 July 2019 by Ilze from London

    Very nice and flavourful food and great service!
    Best sea bass I’ve ever eaten!
    Mushroom soup was amazing too!
    Great value for the quality and taste of the food!

  • ((((( 24 July 2019 by Rowan from Kendal

    Wonderful food and great service

  • ((((( 23 July 2019 by Karen from Edinburgh

    Amazing Inn, fantastic features. Service was superb, food amazing and unique - definitely a place to go back to time and time again!! The ‘afternoon tea’ special, with the amazing sausages, mini-fish and chips and sliders were superb. And a change from the rest. Excellent value & well worth a visit!

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant