Reviews of The Wicked Lady

4.2
(based on 49 reviews)
11 Nomansland Wheathampstead, St Albans, Herts., AL4 8EL
49 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Duncan J from Wheathampstead
    8 December 2019

    Very good food, well presented. Perhaps a little too much? None of us could finish it all! Excellent service and good choice of wines. We will definitely return

  • By Annie S from St Albans
    18 August 2019

    The Wicked Lady has a lovely atmosphere, and generally good service. However, the portions for the price are quite small , and the Sunday roast could be hotter. I came home hungry !

  • By Andrew W from Hitchin
    13 February 2019

    Restaurant has had a recent makeover and it’s been done very well. Booking process was easy and friendly staff. Only downside was a long wait between starter and main course even although we were the only ones there!

  • By Martin J H from ST. ALBANS
    21 December 2018

    Great country pub atmosphere with very good food and service

  • By Roger W from Oxford
    15 December 2018

    Food was at best average, my lamb was not tender and my wife's pork had a large amount of fat. The Fish and chips served to others in our party was good. Tomato soup hot and ok. Unfortunately we were served the wrong meals and this was only noticed after we had started to eat. The waitress was very apologetic and was helpful. On arrival the area we were seated in was cold and we had to request that the fire was lit.

  • By Rosemary B from Hatfield
    2 December 2018

    Great food and lots of choice and excellent knowledgable staff

  • By Lisa T from St Albans
    8 August 2018

    Nice venue. Tricky to park in the disabled bays as they have placed large tubs of plants in front of the bays making the gap really tight. Ordered starters, one did not turn up, had to ask several times before it eventually got there after others had finished their starters. Asked for allergy menu which was just about the most complicated thing I had ever read. It was a jumble of papers in no order. Ordered a chicken and avocado salad with no dressing having explained I am allergic to egg and milk. It came with a different type of dressing which they just decided to put on with no consultation.

  • By Janet G from Harpenden
    28 March 2018

    We enjoyed our ldinner and staff friendly and professional

  • By David L from St Albans
    14 February 2018

    Nice venue - underwhelming food - small portions - expensive for what you get

  • By Jo R from St Albans
    19 November 2017

    The food was fine. We had the roast as it was a Sunday but elements of it had obviously been sat around a while. The potatoes were decidedly over cooked and hard on the outside and the parsnips were under cooked. The gravy and yorkshires were good. However, it was all spoiled by the service. When we arrived we were ignored by several members of staff until someone took pity on us. We were shown to a table and after that, for everything we needed we had to wave at someone for them to come over. We had children with us and we asked if they had any colouring pencils to give them. The response was a flat 'no'. We didn't mind that they hadn't but the response was without concern. We weren't asked if we wanted any sauces so we called someone over to ask for horseradish. They disappeared and never came back. The pudding we ordered was the chocolate bomb which should be put in the middle of table or in front of the person and then the hot sauce poured over for someone to enjoy the whole theatre of it. The sauce was plonked on and no one saw. All very annoying and left us feeling that they were unbothered if we enjoyed our experience or not.