map placeholder

The Wensleydale Heifer

Main Street, West Witton, DL8 4LS

(((() British
  •  - North Yorkshire
  •  - North Yorkshire
  •  - North Yorkshire
  •  - North Yorkshire
Average
Main course: £22
Food spend: £40
Opening hours
Monday to Sunday: 12:00 - 14:30 & 18:00 - 21:30

All the food was excellent, but the oysters and the rhubarb desert are worth a special mention.

Karen 07 June 2019
from Reeth

View all 498 reviews

A rustic retreat amidst the natural beauty of the Yorkshire Dales National Park, The Wensleydale Heifer Leyburn serves seasonal British food that has earned it a place in the Good Food Guide. Serving a dedicated lobster menu, and winner of AA Seafood Pub of the Year, the restaurant specialises in using carefully sourced British produce to create simple but exquisitely presented dishes.

Prepared by a team of chefs who have worked in several different countries, the weekly changing menu is diverse, and is led by supreme seafood from the British Isles. From the grill, try the signature malt whisky and brown sugar marinated beef fillet, celeriac and truffle purée, and a choice of sauces including aged Roquefort and muscat cream. The seafood dishes are every bit as exciting, and include banana leaf-baked Scottish salmon, with crab and Thai peanut curry sauce. The Heifer’s Canadian lobster salad is enough to satisfy the hungriest of diners, featuring lobster, scallops, tiger prawns, crispy belly pork, smoked bacon, and a sweet maple syrup dressing. As well as a vegetarian menu, a range of dishes have been designed for gluten-free diners, including the Heifer’s famous fish and chips.

As well as a children’s menu, vegetarian and vegan menu, and a hearty Sunday lunch, The Wensleydale Heifer West Witton boasts a lengthy list of world wines and creative cocktails. The snug and bar offer the opportunity to enjoy a hand-picked whisky or local ale from the comfort of a cosy fireside chair, whilst the restaurant garden is open for al fresco dining in warmer weather.

Surrounded by stunning scenery, The Wensleydale Heifer in North Yorkshire sits between the idyllic towns of Leyburn and Hawes.

The Wensleydale Heifer

Main Street, West Witton, DL8 4LS

Contact +44 1969622322
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in North Yorkshire

Customer reviews for The Wensleydale Heifer

4.7 (((() (based on 498 reviews)
96% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((((
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (389)
  • lunch (256)
  • romantic (204)
  • luxury (179)
  • private dining (117)
  • value (93)
  • child friendly (68)
  • large parties (61)
  • breakfast (54)
  • business (46)
  • trendy (45)
  • afternoon tea (41)
  • views (34)
  • entertainment (18)
  • al fresco (14)
  • ((((( 12 June 2019 by Judith from Workington

    As always the service was both professional and friendly. The food was excellent. We have never been disappointed at the Wensleydale Heifer and continue to plan return visits for the future.

  • ((((( 11 June 2019 by Lindsay from Durham

    We had another fantastic meal at the Wensleydale Heifer. We have been several times and I can honestly say we have never had a bad experience, the food is superb!

  • ((((( 11 June 2019 by Ian from Stevenage

    Superb Sunday lunch: tender medium rare sorloin of beef, amazing roasted and a good selection of nicely cooked and presented veggies. Puddings were delightful. The young staff were friendly, knowledgeable and obliging.
    All in all a great experience, probably the best pub or restaurant Sunday lunch my wife and I have had in ages.

  • ((((( 9 June 2019 by Sally from Hereford

    Had a fabulous birthday meal. The lobster was delicious! Staff were friendly and helpful.
    The birthday card, balloon and chocolates from all at the Wensleydale Heifer were a lovely, thoughtful surprise.

  • ((((( 7 June 2019 by Karen from Reeth

    All the food was excellent, but the oysters and the rhubarb desert are worth a special mention.

  • ((((( 3 June 2019 by Elsa from Newcastle upon Tyne

    Brilliant restaurant with top quality food and excellent service. Squid starter was one of the best my partner has ever tasted.

  • ((((( 28 May 2019 by Susie from Northallerton

    Wonderful Sunday lunch with friends. The service was excellent considering how busy the restaurant was. The food was amazing.....the chicken liver parfait with white truffle butter incredibly moorish. Superb wine list. Can’t wait to return!

  • ((((* 27 May 2019 by Liz from Herefordshire

    To be honest having read the write ups about this restaurant I think I was expecting more than I received. The food was OK but not outstanding, the Prawn Cocktail I had was what can best be described as ordinary, my main course of lobster just needed something extra to bring it alive. I don't think that I would return but I would still recommend to a friend if they were in the area as the restaurant itself was quite nice, maybe I chose the wrong dish.

  • ((((( 27 May 2019 by Allan from Derby

    This restaurant keeps on getting better and better! Our favourite place to eat. Everything on the menu is top notch, especially the sweet chilli tempura prawns, the hake, the fish and chips, the steaks, too many to mention. Nothing too much trouble, any special requests are welcomed. The service is first class, you are made to feel very welcome and special.

  • ((((( 27 May 2019 by Jane from Cleckheaton

    Greeted & served by friendly staff. Excellent service. Excellent food.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant