map placeholder

The Wensleydale Heifer

Main Street, West Witton, DL8 4LS

(((() British
  •  - North Yorkshire
  •  - North Yorkshire
  •  - North Yorkshire
  •  - North Yorkshire
Average
Main course: £22
Food spend: £40
Opening hours
Monday to Sunday: 12:00 - 14:30 & 18:00 - 21:30

All the food was excellent, but the oysters and the rhubarb desert are worth a special mention.

Karen 07 June 2019
from Reeth

View all 497 reviews

A rustic retreat amidst the natural beauty of the Yorkshire Dales National Park, The Wensleydale Heifer Leyburn serves seasonal British food that has earned it a place in the Good Food Guide. Serving a dedicated lobster menu, and winner of AA Seafood Pub of the Year, the restaurant specialises in using carefully sourced British produce to create simple but exquisitely presented dishes.

Prepared by a team of chefs who have worked in several different countries, the weekly changing menu is diverse, and is led by supreme seafood from the British Isles. From the grill, try the signature malt whisky and brown sugar marinated beef fillet, celeriac and truffle purée, and a choice of sauces including aged Roquefort and muscat cream. The seafood dishes are every bit as exciting, and include banana leaf-baked Scottish salmon, with crab and Thai peanut curry sauce. The Heifer’s Canadian lobster salad is enough to satisfy the hungriest of diners, featuring lobster, scallops, tiger prawns, crispy belly pork, smoked bacon, and a sweet maple syrup dressing. As well as a vegetarian menu, a range of dishes have been designed for gluten-free diners, including the Heifer’s famous fish and chips.

As well as a children’s menu, vegetarian and vegan menu, and a hearty Sunday lunch, The Wensleydale Heifer West Witton boasts a lengthy list of world wines and creative cocktails. The snug and bar offer the opportunity to enjoy a hand-picked whisky or local ale from the comfort of a cosy fireside chair, whilst the restaurant garden is open for al fresco dining in warmer weather.

Surrounded by stunning scenery, The Wensleydale Heifer in North Yorkshire sits between the idyllic towns of Leyburn and Hawes.

The Wensleydale Heifer

Main Street, West Witton, DL8 4LS

Contact +44 1969622322
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in North Yorkshire

Customer reviews for The Wensleydale Heifer

4.7 (((() (based on 497 reviews)
96% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((((
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (388)
  • lunch (255)
  • romantic (204)
  • luxury (179)
  • private dining (117)
  • value (93)
  • child friendly (68)
  • large parties (61)
  • breakfast (53)
  • business (46)
  • trendy (45)
  • afternoon tea (41)
  • views (34)
  • entertainment (18)
  • al fresco (14)
  • ((((* 26 July 2019 by Melvin from Doncaster

    Starters and main meals presentation and taste were average. Desserts nicely presented and with a very pleasant taste.
    Service given by all staff from entering to leaving the establishment was excellent.

  • ((((( 19 July 2019 by Howard from Harrogate

    We had heard some good stuff about the Wensleydale Heifer and were very much looking forward to our meal there. We were not disappointed, the staff and service was efficient and friendly in a down to earth, non-pretentious Dales way. The menu was full of enticing dishes, we were spoilt for choice, what we did choose more than matched our expectations, it was one of the best meals we have had for sometime.

  • ((((( 19 July 2019 by William from Skipton

    My wife had fish pie which she loved. I had one of the best rib eye steaks ever. Highly recommended.

  • ((((( 17 July 2019 by Alastair from Southampton

    Great food (I had the chilli squid, then roast lamb, then a salter caramel cheesecake) and the service was brilliant. The staff were excellent with our young son, really helping keep him entertained and seemed to genuinely enjoy their jobs. Would thoroughly recommend and will be back if in the area again

  • ((((( 10 July 2019 by Matt from Melbourne

    Brilliant as always. Loved the variety of food, some great "standards" but with a twist, and a few different things I doubt you would see anywhere else (at least in Yorkshire). Staff were very friendly.

  • ((((( 9 July 2019 by richard from mayfield

    fantastic service quality, staff couldnt be more helpful, very respectful towards food intolerances. never come across a restaurant before who say I can choose gf/df dishes from the entire menu as everything can be adapted. all our dishes were perfect, as was the wine.

  • (**** 26 June 2019 by Kristin from Burton Green

    Disappointing.. poor ambiance, tasteless decor bordering on offensively sexist in toilets, lack of attention to detail, customer care and an atrocious car park with no markings or bays to ensure sensible, thoughtful parking. Over familiar service , bill incorrect ... tired furniture, cushions and lack of heating on a cold miserable wet evening. All together totally over priced and not to be repeated.

  • ((((( 14 June 2019 by David from Romsey

    Excellent as always

  • ((((( 12 June 2019 by Eileen from Bainbridge, Leyburn

    Our visitors from Sussex were truly impressed by the excellent food and service. The fish pie was 'memorable'!

  • ((((( 12 June 2019 by Judith from Workington

    As always the service was both professional and friendly. The food was excellent. We have never been disappointed at the Wensleydale Heifer and continue to plan return visits for the future.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant