Reviews of The Trout

3.8
(based on 113 reviews)
195 Godstow Road Wolvercote, Oxford, South East England, OX2 8PN
113 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Alana H from London
    2 February 2020

    I felt bad for the staff as it was obviously extremely busy and there were issues with the drains, the toilets wouldn't flush properly and the sinks were overflowing and water was pouring from the ceiling of the restaurant. Other than that the experience was great! the staff were friendly, and the food was amazing, really enjoyed teh scallops and the nut roast and the chocolate bomb, a cosy and lovely pub that i love coming to.

  • By Sally S from Oxford
    14 December 2019

    Really easy to book a table at the Trout , food was lovely , service good . However barman our night was rude ....... maybe he had, had a long day!!!

  • By Val C from Cheltenham
    26 September 2019

    Excellent service, food and atmosphere. There is an excellent choice of menus, including Vegan..

  • By David T from Wokingham
    19 August 2019

    Connor gave us excellent advice regarding the menu and particularly the wines and his suggestion was most enjoyable - on our next visit we would try to get Connor as our waiter. We found the whole situation very enjoyable. Would suggest waiter ask customers if they want ice and if so how much in their aperitif. We found that there was far too much ice in our drinks.

  • By Val C from Cheltenham
    6 June 2019

    Visited many times, food, service and ambience always excellent

  • By Allan R from Oxford
    3 August 2018

    Very nice location. Nice food.

  • By Lesley C from Oxford
    16 July 2018

    Setting

  • By Ingrid D from Oxford
    1 April 2018

    Friendly and efficient service in a lovely old building. Probably several cottages converted into interesting cosy rooms. Middle of the road menu but tasty . Beautiful outside setting although it was evening and raining!

  • By Robert S from oxford
    24 November 2017

    Two menus were provided, a Christmas menu and a standard menu. We ate from both menus, the food from the standard menu being very good, but the food from the Christmas menu being dry as if been re-heated.

  • By Grant G from Oxford
    24 November 2017

    This is an old favourite of my partner and me. First date pub, anniversary pub and proposal pub. Very rich in local history and folklore, beautifully presented pub with fine service and fine dining.