map placeholder

The Travellers Rest - Caerphilly

Thornhill, Caerphilly, CF83 1LY

((((* British
  •  - Caerphilly
  •  - Caerphilly
  •  - Caerphilly
  •  - Caerphilly
  •  - Caerphilly
  •  - Caerphilly
  •  - Caerphilly
  •  - Caerphilly
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 22:30

Lovely friendly place. Good menu choices. Great food and price!

Heather 08 May 2019
from Cardiff

View all 101 reviews

Dating back to 1864, The Travellers Rest – Caerphilly boasts a uniquely beautiful situation, on Caerphilly Mountain, in the Welsh Valleys. Serving well-loved British pub cuisine, the building has a vintage thatched roof, with an ornate mirror over the grand, stone hearth. You can enjoy the food and incredible views from the al fresco dining area in summer, or from the plush, comfy chairs inside.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Travellers Rest menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Travellers Rest ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

Offering stunning views from Caerphilly Moutain, The Travellers Rest Thornhill, Cardiff is only 4 minutes’ drive from Caerphilly.

The Travellers Rest - Caerphilly

Thornhill, Caerphilly, CF83 1LY

Contact +44 2920859021
Website

Make a booking

See all Vintage Inns

See all restaurants in Caerphilly

Customer reviews for The Travellers Rest - Caerphilly

3.9 ((((* (based on 101 reviews)
86% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (79)
  • lunch (61)
  • value (32)
  • romantic (22)
  • child friendly (21)
  • private dining (21)
  • large parties (16)
  • afternoon tea (9)
  • al fresco (7)
  • business (7)
  • views (7)
  • trendy (5)
  • luxury (4)
  • (((** 19 January 2017 by Matt from Cardiff

    The food and beer was great, so too was the friendly and helpful staff. Lovely spot with a great log fire. We won't be back for food though after we found out it only has a one star rating.

  • ((((( 17 January 2017 by Rachel from Caerphilly

    Booking online was quick and simple. I was running late for my appointment and the phone doesn't seem to be working to get through.

  • ((((* 9 January 2017 by Sue from NEWPORT

    We've eaten here many times, today the food was really good. between us we ordered ham hock, steak and a burger, presented very well and the waitress was friendly and welcoming. She did explain some things were off menu as it had been a busy day but we were able to have what we fancied. Didn't stay for desert as one course is generally enough for us. My only gripe and it is small... we were on a table under the air con which at times did become quite chilly, we didn't want to make a fuss and ask to be moved but if the restaurant is not completely full...which it wasnt...please reconsider placing diners on this table. I probably would ask not to be sat here next time we visit.

  • ((((( 7 January 2017 by Dal from Cardiff

    Excellent service and atmosphere

  • ((((* 3 January 2017 by Eve from Caerphilly

    Food was great, although we were disappointed that almost half the menu had run out as this really limited our choices (including bread for bread boards!).
    Our server was fantastic though, very friendly and attentive.
    Upon arrival it did seem chaotic as it took a while to be seated, but this is usually the case here as it does get rather busy.
    This place is great, love the open fires.

  • ((((( 30 December 2016 by Ros from Cardiff

    Very good service and food.

  • ((((( 30 December 2016 by Christopher from Caerphilly

    An amazing setting with great food and fantastic staff.

  • ((((( 21 December 2016 by John from cardiff

    Pleasant ambiance,good service, portions a little small.

  • ((((( 19 December 2016 by Julie from Bargoed

    Good overall value for food and location and service

  • (((** 17 December 2016 by Catherine from Caerphilly

    Cosy atmosphere. Seemed short staffed and food wasn't up to usual standard.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant