map placeholder

The Travellers Rest - Caerphilly

Thornhill, Caerphilly, CF83 1LY

((((* British
  •  - Caerphilly
  •  - Caerphilly
  •  - Caerphilly
  •  - Caerphilly
  •  - Caerphilly
  •  - Caerphilly
  •  - Caerphilly
  •  - Caerphilly
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 22:30

Excellent service, Sunday dinner the best I have tasted for quite some time as well as the starter and dessert. Highly recommend the Travellers, never had a bad meal here.

Marilyn 28 May 2019
from Caerphilly

View all 103 reviews

Dating back to 1864, The Travellers Rest – Caerphilly boasts a uniquely beautiful situation, on Caerphilly Mountain, in the Welsh Valleys. Serving well-loved British pub cuisine, the building has a vintage thatched roof, with an ornate mirror over the grand, stone hearth. You can enjoy the food and incredible views from the al fresco dining area in summer, or from the plush, comfy chairs inside.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Travellers Rest menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Travellers Rest ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

Offering stunning views from Caerphilly Moutain, The Travellers Rest Thornhill, Cardiff is only 4 minutes’ drive from Caerphilly.

The Travellers Rest - Caerphilly

Thornhill, Caerphilly, CF83 1LY

Contact +44 2920859021
Website

Make a booking

See all Vintage Inns

See all restaurants in Caerphilly

Customer reviews for The Travellers Rest - Caerphilly

3.9 ((((* (based on 103 reviews)
85% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (80)
  • lunch (62)
  • value (32)
  • romantic (22)
  • child friendly (21)
  • private dining (21)
  • large parties (16)
  • afternoon tea (9)
  • al fresco (7)
  • business (7)
  • views (7)
  • trendy (5)
  • luxury (4)
  • ((((* 29 April 2017 by Cath from Caerphilly

    Lovely atmosphere, good service from friendly waitress. Excellent food, tasted really good and well presented.

  • ((*** 28 April 2017 by Sarah from Cardiff

    Overall I thought the service was slow. My daughters steak was asked medium to well but was burnt so the manger changed the mean to fish and chips as it wouldn't take so long. The chips were chunky however, my father seemed to have a lot of smaller chips (the ends). Also, food could of been a little hotter. At the end it took a long time to pay the bill as there was no connection where we were.

  • ((*** 11 April 2017 by Helen from Caerphilly

    My friend and I arrived early for a drink in the beer garden. On arrival I presented the bar manager with my email for a free bar snack for signing up to their website to be told they were not doing bar snacks that day, no explanation. I was told to use on my next visit , even when I said I might not be back there was no reply. We had the mushrooms to start. Then steak pie for main which was very nice although our food was going cold as we waiting for more cutlery. Staff seemed to be rushing about and not greatly happy. It was an ok experience not sure if id come back .

  • ((((( 29 March 2017 by Jennifer from Csrdiff

    Lovely old pub. Tables set up nicely. Enjoyed a hot chocolate whilst waiting for my friend

  • ((((* 26 March 2017 by Jo from Penarth

    Nice open fire, good food and service

  • ((((* 24 March 2017 by Angela from Cardiff

    All 3 of us ordered Hunters' Chicken and we all enjoyed our meals. Very busy on the evening we came and service was a little slow but we weren't in any hurry so it didn't bother us unduly.

  • ((((* 19 March 2017 by Sandra from Caerphilly

    Booking by my I pad was very easy

  • ((((* 15 February 2017 by Nicola from Cardiff

    A favourite of my husband and I, Cosy and quiet.

  • ((((( 31 January 2017 by Dilwyn from Cardiff

    Absolutely brilliant. The venue was so homely with three open log fires in different areas. The service was excellent and value for money was unbeatable. Thanks so much.

  • ((((( 31 January 2017 by Christine from Cardiff

    Great food, cosy pub with real open fires. Good value for money and excellent service

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant