map placeholder

The Townhouse Restaurant

Hilton Edinburgh, Grosvenor, Grosvenor Street, Edinburgh, EH12 5EF

((((* British
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  • The Townhouse Restaurant - Edinburgh
  • The Townhouse Restaurant - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  • The Townhouse Restaurant - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
Average
Main course: £14
Food spend: £24
Opening hours
Monday to Friday: 06:30 - 22:00
Saturday & Sunday: 07:00 - 22:00

Very enjoyable tea although it would have been nice if we had been able to select the fillings in our sandwiches.

Barbara 23 August 2017
from edinburgh

View all 35 reviews

The Townhouse Restaurant at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor blends Scottish favourites with modern European dishes. The innovative dishes are crafted using fresh, local produce and can be savoured with an elegant cocktail or fine wine from the bar.

The Townhouse menu showcases traditional Scottish dishes, with gourmet touches and Mediterranean influences. Start with local duck egg with black pudding and cauliflower purée, or the exotic salmon and chorizo fishcakes with sweet chili and lime sauce. Main dishes are led by the very Scottish roulade of chicken with haggis, potatoes, and malt whisky sauce, whilst other enticing options include sustainable coley fillet with purple Shetland potatoes and chervil and chardonnay cream, and pumpkin tortellini with oyster mushrooms, spinach and parmesan sauce.

Amongst the tempting handmade desserts are raspberry and coconut shortcake, and lime and mint buttermilk panna cotta with poached lavender pear. Characterised by an informal atmosphere and subtle sophistication, The Townhouse Edinburgh is decorated in rich red and white, with dark wooden floors and sleek wooden chairs.

A short stroll from the castle and the cultural heart of the city, The Townhouse at Hilton Edinburgh is a 3-minute walk from Haymarket Train Station.

The Townhouse Restaurant

Hilton Edinburgh, Grosvenor, Grosvenor Street, Edinburgh, EH12 5EF

Contact +44 1312266001
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Edinburgh

Customer reviews for The Townhouse Restaurant

3.9 ((((* (based on 35 reviews)
80% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((()*
  • Location ((((*
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (16)
  • dinner (12)
  • value (9)
  • lunch (5)
  • business (4)
  • large parties (4)
  • child friendly (2)
  • luxury (2)
  • breakfast (1)
  • private dining (1)
  • romantic (1)
  • trendy (1)
  • (((** 9 December 2015 by Angela from Edinburgh

    Lovely afternoon tea.

  • ((((( 26 November 2015 by Caroline from Edinburgh

    3 course meal.....absoloutly delicious........best meal in a very long time....great service....very attentive and helpful staff....could not fault the place at all....spotless too.....

  • ((((* 17 November 2015 by Shona from DUNFERMLINE

    Brilliant

  • (**** 13 November 2015 by Claire from Edinburgh

    The afternoon tea for two was average for what was paid. The decor was shabby. The waiter had not had cocktail training yet and no one else was with him. Had been looking forward to a fancy treat but would have been fancier having a sandwich,scone and cakes at a bakers

  • (((** 10 November 2015 by Donna from Edinburgh

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. However, the selection of sandwiches were just two options; ham & tomato and cheese & pickle when normally afternoon tea sandwiches consist of three or four choices. The staff were glad to change the cheese & pickle as I don't like pickle.

  • ((*** 6 November 2015 by Audrey from Falkirk

    We had booked sparkling afternoon tea at Hilton grosvenor. It was very disappointing. Our table was stuck in a corner when I had asked if possible to have the nicest table available. The bar area where afternoon tea was served was not busy and there were nicer tables. We had to ask for tea and coffee, the mugs for our drinks were chunky Costa mugs and not clean, we had to go to the bar to get clean ones and it took ages to find clean ones. This was unacceptable. We had to ask for knives to cut the scones and also had to ask for butter and cream for the scones. This was a gift for our anniversary and it was very poor and not worth the money. Disappointing experience.

  • ((*** 30 October 2015 by Fiona from Edinburgh

    Was disappointed. Asked if possible to have plain ham sandwiches. But dry egg, salmon and cheese was what we got. Never came back to ask how it was. Wouldn't go back.

  • (**** 27 October 2015 by Fred from Ediburgh

    Service was really poor,half a cup of lukewarm coffee to accompany the food.Would not return to this venue and would not recommend it to anybody else

  • ((((* 10 September 2015 by Karl from Edinburgh

    Good selection on Menu and a lovely meal served up by friendly and attentive staff. Quiet evning in the dining room with a reasonable ambience.

  • ((((* 1 September 2015 by Sara from Edinburgh

    Good food and service.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant