Reviews of The Tower Restaurant

4.4
(based on 314 reviews)
Chambers Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1JF
314 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Arthur G from East Calder
    15 January 2020

    We booked brunch and had the full Tower Breakfast which was well presented and delicious. The staff were very friendly ,welcoming and attentive

  • By Brian C from Edinburgh
    31 December 2019

    Great Atmosphere, staff were incredibly friendly and inviting, food and drinks were excellent We were rushed by the staff as the booking was only for 2 hours which was the only downside

  • By M A from Edinburgh
    27 December 2019

    Food was very good (see below) but not consistently excellent. The service lacked attentiveness unfortunately despite many members of staff. We had to ask for water top ups more than once and remind the waiter to bring bread for the table. At the end of the meal when we were asked how everything was, my wife mentioned that the steak had been a bit fatty and that the sea bass had been excellent. This was met by a shrug from the waiter. Why ask customers for their feedback if you say / do nothing about it? Overall, the ‘wow’ that we were expecting wasn’t there, which was a shame, especially given it was a special occasion for us. We have had a lot better (service and food) in Edinburgh for a lot less. For that reason, I wouldn’t recommend as you can do better.

  • By Darren W from Aberdeen
    8 December 2019

    The restaurant was lovely and food excellent... walked in, crawled out with a full belly!

  • By Isobel V from Edinburgh
    27 November 2019

    The food, service, ambience and location excellent. The only problem was a noisy mini hen party whose loud talking and laughing gave no consideration to other diners. Unfortunately the table of 5/6 was just beside us and the noise was intrusive. I am aware that there is little the restaurant staff can do about this but it does spoil the occasion.

  • By Iain T from Edinburgh
    7 October 2019

    We had three courses and each was excellent Very polite service, and we will undoubtedly go back. It was actually much better than I had expected!

  • By Gill M from Newcastle Upon Tyne
    4 October 2019

    The Tower restaurant was a lovely place to dine. Staff very helpful and friendly. Good choice on menu although we had the table d’hote 3 course for £38. As a glass of champagne. Food was delicious . Lovely views

  • By William W from Edinburgh
    2 October 2019

    We had the 3 course special champagne lunch, the prawn cocktail starter was delicious, Main course Berwickshire pork sausages onions and mashed potatoes was very tasty. Only negative was pricing of drink, well above average for a resturant.

  • By David K from Edinburgh
    19 August 2019

    A very elegant restaurant, exquisite service, nice location

  • By S A A from Lyon
    5 August 2019

    Service was nice. Foods and drinks are fair.