map placeholder

The Thatched House

St. Marys Lane, Upminster, RM14 3LT

((((* British
  • The Thatched House - Essex
  • The Thatched House - Essex
  •  - Essex
  • The Thatched House - Essex
  •  - Essex
  •  - Essex
  • The Thatched House - Essex
  • The Thatched House - Essex
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 22:30

as always an excellent meal with excellent service. I was even more impressed as I was contacted beforehand to say that they were short staffed and service might be a little slow would I like to rebook , I didn't and am pleased to say that everything was ,as usual, first class

John 24 May 2019
from Romford

View all 49 reviews

Dating back to the 19th century, The Thatched House near Upminster boasts well-loved British pub cuisine in a wild countryside setting, near to the eye-catching Thames Chase Forest. Featuring a pretty al fresco beer garden and a cosy hearth-fire, The Thatched House has a more modern appearance, with clean, bold colours, sleek furniture and ornate mirrors.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Thatched House menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Thatched House ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

At just 4 minutes’ drive to central Upminster, The Thatched House is nestled in the Essex countryside.

The Thatched House

St. Marys Lane, Upminster, RM14 3LT

Contact +44 1708641408
Website

Make a booking

See all Vintage Inns

See all restaurants in Essex

See all restaurants in Upminster

Customer reviews for The Thatched House

3.8 ((((* (based on 49 reviews)
89% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location ((((*
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (29)
  • lunch (26)
  • value (13)
  • romantic (6)
  • al fresco (4)
  • child friendly (4)
  • large parties (4)
  • afternoon tea (3)
  • private dining (3)
  • trendy (3)
  • business (2)
  • breakfast (1)
  • luxury (1)
  • views (1)
  • (((** 17 November 2015 by Jean from Essex

    It wasn't our first visit to the restaurant, but we had only just completed our starter and the main dinner was served. We told the waitress it was too quick, but she said the roasts were on a roll and were being produced quickly. We have never experienced this before in your restaurant. Overall the food was of good quality.

  • ((((( 3 November 2015 by Chris from Basildon

    New menu much better presentation all on one plate the
    Sunday roast that is and was perfect and very good choice of meats Portion size great ..best around .
    As usual well look after by Mike and his Team.
    Rebooked already what can I say.

  • ((((* 20 October 2015 by Chris from Basildon

    As usual well looked after by the Girls - Sunday lunch this time which is by far the best around here as we have tried many .
    The Turkey was outstanding .
    Excellent pint of bitter as well .We eat here regularly .

  • (((** 9 July 2015 by Laraine from Upminster

    Had an enjoyable lunch. Staff friendly and helpful

  • ((((( 23 January 2015 by Nicola from London

    I have been coming to the thatched house for quite a while and always love the food, the ambience and the staff are always friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We have all our family birthday meals here as well.

  • (((** 13 December 2013 by Steve from Upminster

    Overall, very satisfactory, although a couple of issues with the food. Was told one of the menu options was unavailable after it had been ordered (rather than before), and one of the meal items did not contain everything as described.

  • ((((* 9 September 2013 by Stuart from Hornchurch

    6 adults and one child for a Birthday meal. The food was great and the staff were friendly a helpful even though they were busy. Would be happy to reccomend.

  • (**** 20 August 2013 by Pearl from Romford

    We have dined at the Thatched House many times before and have found it acceptable, therefore we invited our friends to join us. We all opted for the posh fish and chips which was prettily served on trendy shaped plates with mushy peas. However, the size of the meal was small to the point that it could have been a child's portion. The fish was the size of a vegetable spring roll and the half a dozen fat chips that were served (for which we paid an extra £1 per person), were inadequate to fulfill an appetite. We felt embarrassed in front of our friends and when we mentioned our disappointment to the waitress, she conveyed apologies from the kitchen but stated that they had served the portions of fish that they had taken delivery of, therefore it was out of their hands. We are unlikely to rush back in the future after this experience and would not recommend.

  • ((((* 22 December 2010 by Terry from Upminster

    We ate early evening. Good food not Cordon Bleu perhaps but wholesome and well cooked. Waitress was friendly and worked well

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant