map placeholder

The Thatched House

St. Marys Lane, Upminster, RM14 3LT

((((* British
  • The Thatched House - Essex
  • The Thatched House - Essex
  •  - Essex
  • The Thatched House - Essex
  •  - Essex
  •  - Essex
  • The Thatched House - Essex
  • The Thatched House - Essex
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 22:30

as always an excellent meal with excellent service. I was even more impressed as I was contacted beforehand to say that they were short staffed and service might be a little slow would I like to rebook , I didn't and am pleased to say that everything was ,as usual, first class

John 24 May 2019
from Romford

View all 49 reviews

Dating back to the 19th century, The Thatched House near Upminster boasts well-loved British pub cuisine in a wild countryside setting, near to the eye-catching Thames Chase Forest. Featuring a pretty al fresco beer garden and a cosy hearth-fire, The Thatched House has a more modern appearance, with clean, bold colours, sleek furniture and ornate mirrors.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Thatched House menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Thatched House ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

At just 4 minutes’ drive to central Upminster, The Thatched House is nestled in the Essex countryside.

The Thatched House

St. Marys Lane, Upminster, RM14 3LT

Contact +44 1708641408
Website

Make a booking

See all Vintage Inns

See all restaurants in Essex

See all restaurants in Upminster

Customer reviews for The Thatched House

3.8 ((((* (based on 49 reviews)
89% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location ((((*
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (29)
  • lunch (26)
  • value (13)
  • romantic (6)
  • al fresco (4)
  • child friendly (4)
  • large parties (4)
  • afternoon tea (3)
  • private dining (3)
  • trendy (3)
  • business (2)
  • breakfast (1)
  • luxury (1)
  • views (1)
  • ((((* 8 May 2016 by Joy from Upminster

    Excellent service.

  • ((*** 27 April 2016 by Julie from Basildon

    Having visited another Vintage Inn (The Kings Head Billericay) I had high hopes for the Thatched House however the service and quality of the food was not to the same standard. Having ordered drinks I had to remind the waitress twice to bring my own drink which she had not ordered.
    The Warmed Camembert starter was not warmed through enough, the pies we ordered for main course were all puff pastry and barely any filling and the desert, which I have had previously had plums which were not cooked through and we hard. On top of this the waitress was actually quite rude. Not once did she come to the table to see if we needed more drinks or to ask if everything was ok, when I helped her clear the table she didn't even say thank you. Later when we wanted to order coffee she was so preoccupied changing tables she did not approach us even though she could see we were finished. We ended up getting the bill and leaving. Had this not been a family celebration I would have been more inclined to complain to the manager while we were there but I did not want to ruin our meal and make a scene - I just won't be returning.

  • ((((( 27 April 2016 by Ann from Hornchurch

    Good food. Good customer service. Overall excellent night.

  • ((((* 14 March 2016 by Philip from Grays

    Love the trifle

  • (((** 23 February 2016 by Andrew from Essex

    ok

  • ((((( 16 February 2016 by Mark from Upminster

    Excellent food and service and reasonably priced

  • ((*** 29 January 2016 by Peter from Upminster essex

    Excellent food staff top class

  • (((** 29 January 2016 by Jenny from Upminster

    Food ok but waited 30 mins after ordering

  • ((((( 25 December 2015 by Graham from Haslemere

    Have been here several times before and as usual the quality of the food and service was excellent

  • ((((( 17 November 2015 by Ann from Essex

    A really lovely Sunday roast. Meat and vegetables cooked to perfection. Friendly and attentive staff. A great experience

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant