map placeholder

The Terrace Restaurant and Bar

Amba Hotel Charing Cross, The Strand, London, WC2N 5HX

(((() British
  • The Terrace Restaurant and Bar - London
  • The Terrace Restaurant and Bar - London
  • The Terrace Restaurant and Bar - London
  • The Terrace Restaurant and Bar - London
  • The Terrace Restaurant and Bar - London
  • The Terrace Restaurant and Bar - London
  • The Terrace Restaurant and Bar - London
  • The Terrace - London
  • The Terrace - London
  • The Terrace - London
Average
Main course: £14
Food spend: £30
Opening hours
Monday to Friday: 06:30 - 22:30
Saturday & Sunday: 07:00 - 22:30

Very pleasant surroundings, reasonable prices, very good food and excellent service

Alison 23 September 2019
from Cheshunt, Herts

View all 223 reviews

Serving London for over 150 years, The Terrace at Amba Hotel Charing Cross is a restaurant and bar offering fine modern European cuisine, afternoon teas, and cocktails from the in-house mixologist. Next to Charing Cross Station, there are grand views of The Strand and Trafalgar Square.

Displaying elegant original period features, The Terrace restaurant is housed in the Grade II-listed Amba Hotel. The striking, light interior has floor-to-ceiling windows and Victorian floors patterned with exquisite mosaics.

Featuring fresh, seasonal produce, The Terrace restaurant menu has sophisticated dishes like fillet of pan-fried sea bass with lemon and vegetable couscous, or pan-roasted chicken breast with pancetta, girolle mushrooms and a red wine jus. A list of fine wines will complement your meal.

A fine dining establishment in London, The Terrace restaurant at Amba Hotel Charing Cross offers traditional afternoon tea in the inviting lounge. The Adelphi and The Playhouse theatres are just 3 minutes’ walk away.

The Terrace Restaurant and Bar

Amba Hotel Charing Cross, The Strand, London, WC2N 5HX

Contact +44 2077478410
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in West End of London

Customer reviews for The Terrace Restaurant and Bar

4.3 (((() (based on 223 reviews)
89% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (136)
  • views (71)
  • dinner (69)
  • lunch (61)
  • value (51)
  • business (32)
  • luxury (31)
  • private dining (29)
  • romantic (28)
  • breakfast (14)
  • large parties (11)
  • child friendly (10)
  • trendy (10)
  • al fresco (6)
  • entertainment (6)
  • (**** 12 December 2018 by Harry from London

    We went there in the afternoon. No choice but afternoon tea set menu only. No a la carte menu at all??? And the rip off price is £29.99 for a standard afternoon set. No matter why the restaurant is so empty. I m diabetic so I can't enjoy as much sweet cakes and scones as others. There is no point to order that and waste more than half of the food. The menu is so rigid, I decided I should left and I won't come back again in the future.

  • ((((* 18 November 2018 by Daniel from London

    A nice environment for lunch and enjoyable food

  • ((((( 9 November 2018 by Rita from London

    We visited for afternoon tea with a glass of fizz, it was lovely, we have eaten afternoon tea at various London hotels and can say that the Amba Hotel rated along with all the others as excellent.

  • ((((( 7 November 2018 by Glenys from Tunbridge Wells

    Just a very nice place to meet up with friends and have a drink in the bar followed by lunch on the Terrace. The staff are excellent and the food and choices good all round.

  • ((((( 2 November 2018 by Petra from Munich

    Great experience.The afternoon tea was delicious,the service very nice

  • ((((( 12 October 2018 by Clive from London

    Excellent food, good central setting, pleasant service

  • ((((( 17 September 2018 by Valerie from Colchester

    I was entertaining friends from Australia andneeded somewhere central and accessible in London. . Terrace Restaurant filled the bill admirably. We were given a table with a good view ,so worth asking, and were warmly welcomed. Service was a little slow but that suited us as we had a lot of catching up to do . Food was good, with a reasonably wide choice and prices comparable to other restaurants in the area.
    After our meal , which wasn’t rushed as the restaurant doesn’t close in the afternoons, we went downstairs to the hotel sofas and had pots of tea to continue our meeting. Again, the service was warm and efficient I am pleased I did the research to find the right venue for my needs Well recommended.

  • ((((( 2 September 2018 by Tzeren from London

    The afternoon tea experience was really nice specially the food, the size of the scones and the quality was amazing. The service need some improvement, we felt like we left aside as soon the food been served and no explanation of the afternoon tea stand just left us with the menu to figure out with ourselves.

  • ((((* 1 September 2018 by LUCY from leighton buzzard

    3rd visit and as good as ever.

  • ((((( 30 August 2018 by Michael from London

    Have dined at the Terrace Restaurant over a period of years. Chosen for its quiet 'cultured ambience' and service in which to enjoy a fine lunch or dinner. Accompanying friend, or friends, have always appreciated enjoying a meal there.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant