map placeholder

The Terrace Restaurant and Bar

Amba Hotel Charing Cross, The Strand, London, WC2N 5HX

(((() British
  • The Terrace Restaurant and Bar - London
  • The Terrace Restaurant and Bar - London
  • The Terrace Restaurant and Bar - London
  • The Terrace Restaurant and Bar - London
  • The Terrace Restaurant and Bar - London
  • The Terrace Restaurant and Bar - London
  • The Terrace Restaurant and Bar - London
  • The Terrace - London
  • The Terrace - London
  • The Terrace - London
Average
Main course: £14
Food spend: £30
Opening hours
Monday to Friday: 06:30 - 22:30
Saturday & Sunday: 07:00 - 22:30

Very pleasant surroundings, reasonable prices, very good food and excellent service

Alison 23 September 2019
from Cheshunt, Herts

View all 223 reviews

Serving London for over 150 years, The Terrace at Amba Hotel Charing Cross is a restaurant and bar offering fine modern European cuisine, afternoon teas, and cocktails from the in-house mixologist. Next to Charing Cross Station, there are grand views of The Strand and Trafalgar Square.

Displaying elegant original period features, The Terrace restaurant is housed in the Grade II-listed Amba Hotel. The striking, light interior has floor-to-ceiling windows and Victorian floors patterned with exquisite mosaics.

Featuring fresh, seasonal produce, The Terrace restaurant menu has sophisticated dishes like fillet of pan-fried sea bass with lemon and vegetable couscous, or pan-roasted chicken breast with pancetta, girolle mushrooms and a red wine jus. A list of fine wines will complement your meal.

A fine dining establishment in London, The Terrace restaurant at Amba Hotel Charing Cross offers traditional afternoon tea in the inviting lounge. The Adelphi and The Playhouse theatres are just 3 minutes’ walk away.

The Terrace Restaurant and Bar

Amba Hotel Charing Cross, The Strand, London, WC2N 5HX

Contact +44 2077478410
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in West End of London

Customer reviews for The Terrace Restaurant and Bar

4.3 (((() (based on 223 reviews)
89% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (136)
  • views (71)
  • dinner (69)
  • lunch (61)
  • value (51)
  • business (32)
  • luxury (31)
  • private dining (29)
  • romantic (28)
  • breakfast (14)
  • large parties (11)
  • child friendly (10)
  • trendy (10)
  • al fresco (6)
  • entertainment (6)
  • ((((( 6 March 2019 by Barbara from London

    Fantastic afternoon in the Terracr Restaurant... great views and services was excellent My elderly mother really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. ????

  • ((((( 28 February 2019 by Penelope from London

    Very attentive staff, quiet location, excellent food

  • ((*** 14 February 2019 by Angela from london

    upon arrival it seemed surprising that i had a reservation, woman just looked at me and then walked away, Then looked round as i wasn't following and i said why didn't you say anything? still saying nothing she stood by a table so i sat down ! Is a welcome not included in staff training? i ordered the special curry which was disappointing as the chicken was mostly hard lumps and the sauce just tasted of chilies! My friends burger was fine, wouldn't rush back.

  • (((** 7 February 2019 by Michael from Saffron Walden

    We have used this hotel on many occasions in the past, both for afternoon tea as well as evening dinners.We booked weeks ago (November 2018) to celebrate our friend's 80th birthday-overall we had a reasonably successful time but would hesitate to use it again as we were somewhat disappointed with our experience. After looking at the website & reading the afternoon tea menu we booked specifically because (a) we wanted the sparkling afternoon tea and (b) there is no cucumber included and (c) fruit scones are included. We had also asked for a window table overlooking the Strand. On arrival we were not offered a Strand window table even though the table for four was vacant. We queried it and the staff member was reluctant to agree to our request and, indeed persuaded us to sit on a bench seat nearby. My wife requested cushions as the seat was unsuitable for shorter people The service was slow, and the sparkling afternoon tea option was missing (which we queried), there was cucumber in some sandwiches (to which I am allergic) and obviously the kitchen had run out of fruit scones as we were given plain as well as fruit. Furthermore we now realise we did not get any of the cheddar cheese & chutney sandwiches (again on the website menu). The quantity of sandwiches offered was, frankly minimal for the price paid.

  • ((((* 20 January 2019 by Mary from Cheam

    Very good quality food and friendly helpful staff

  • (((** 14 January 2019 by Julian from Bolton

    Place was empty - one other couple at 8.30 on a Friday night. Menu was uninspiring - I had the chicken curry, which was ok, but for a hotel like the Amba, I was expecting exceptional. The bar is nice - friendly staff and relaxing atmosphere - expensive. Breakfast at the Terrace restaurant was adequate - full English - help your self, croissants and cereal. Nothing to write home about i'm afraid.

  • ((((( 31 December 2018 by Emma from Grenoble

    Very nice restaurant: nice room, pleasant waiters and a good menu with a nice choice of dishes.
    We had a lovely curry with a very good wine !

  • ((*** 29 December 2018 by witheld from London

    staff devoid of any character and food totally devoid of any passion - commercially made with far too many chemicals - a cattle farming operation for people who can pay inflated prices - 4 out of 10 - never again

  • ((((* 23 December 2018 by Sonia from London

    Very pleasant & festive atmosphere, good service with a smile!

  • ((((* 19 December 2018 by Michael from London

    Have dined at the restaurant over the years, good food and service. Know it is also enjoyed by family and friends.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant