map placeholder

The Terrace Restaurant and Bar

Amba Hotel Charing Cross, The Strand, London, WC2N 5HX

(((() British
  • The Terrace Restaurant and Bar - London
  • The Terrace Restaurant and Bar - London
  • The Terrace Restaurant and Bar - London
  • The Terrace Restaurant and Bar - London
  • The Terrace Restaurant and Bar - London
  • The Terrace Restaurant and Bar - London
  • The Terrace Restaurant and Bar - London
  • The Terrace - London
  • The Terrace - London
  • The Terrace - London
Average
Main course: £14
Food spend: £30
Opening hours
Monday to Friday: 06:30 - 22:30
Saturday & Sunday: 07:00 - 22:30

Very pleasant surroundings, reasonable prices, very good food and excellent service

Alison 23 September 2019
from Cheshunt, Herts

View all 223 reviews

Serving London for over 150 years, The Terrace at Amba Hotel Charing Cross is a restaurant and bar offering fine modern European cuisine, afternoon teas, and cocktails from the in-house mixologist. Next to Charing Cross Station, there are grand views of The Strand and Trafalgar Square.

Displaying elegant original period features, The Terrace restaurant is housed in the Grade II-listed Amba Hotel. The striking, light interior has floor-to-ceiling windows and Victorian floors patterned with exquisite mosaics.

Featuring fresh, seasonal produce, The Terrace restaurant menu has sophisticated dishes like fillet of pan-fried sea bass with lemon and vegetable couscous, or pan-roasted chicken breast with pancetta, girolle mushrooms and a red wine jus. A list of fine wines will complement your meal.

A fine dining establishment in London, The Terrace restaurant at Amba Hotel Charing Cross offers traditional afternoon tea in the inviting lounge. The Adelphi and The Playhouse theatres are just 3 minutes’ walk away.

The Terrace Restaurant and Bar

Amba Hotel Charing Cross, The Strand, London, WC2N 5HX

Contact +44 2077478410
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in West End of London

Customer reviews for The Terrace Restaurant and Bar

4.3 (((() (based on 223 reviews)
89% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (136)
  • views (71)
  • dinner (69)
  • lunch (61)
  • value (51)
  • business (32)
  • luxury (31)
  • private dining (29)
  • romantic (28)
  • breakfast (14)
  • large parties (11)
  • child friendly (10)
  • trendy (10)
  • al fresco (6)
  • entertainment (6)
  • ((((* 7 July 2019 by Peter from London

    High quality afternoon tea, good service, and a great location on the Terrace overlooking the Strand.

  • ((((( 9 June 2019 by Carol from London

    So easy to book. Very attentive staff, Priscilla catered to our every need even taking a picture of the four of us. The table in the corner had fabulous views and I liked the space between tables and being green fingered I liked the potted plant on table. Menu was more than enough choice for me and can recommend the fish & chips. Only criticism so like many restaurants wine expensive even by the glass.

  • ((*** 27 May 2019 by Diana from Tunbridge Wells

    The food and environment was good but the service was poor. Our waitress had to be asked 3 times before hot water was delivered to us, and she also spoke to the people on the table next to us over our heads. It was a great shame as the hotel is conveniently located. We didn't leave a tip on this occasion but will probably use the restaurant again. Please train and supervise your waiting staff better - they are letting you down.

  • ((((* 27 May 2019 by Heidi from Hampshire

    Lovely afternoon tea - nice choice of teas and lovely cakes. Staff were really friendly.

  • (**** 22 May 2019 by Linda from London

    We had to wait over half an hour for our food and then had to rush as we had a 7.30 theatre booking - service was very poor. The food was good when it arrived! - they were apologetic and gave a reduction but not happy about the experience.

  • (((** 15 May 2019 by Kay from biollericay

    Hotel and terrace lovely. service for afternoon tea slow and not attentive we had to call over staff on several occasions to ask for more wine, sandwiches ect. Afternoon tea provided was good excellent choice of teas and cake scones and sandwiches very good. prosecco served was of good quality.

  • ((((* 13 May 2019 by Neil from London

    Nice, fairly simple restaurant with a reasonably broad menu with classic dishes. Excellent location & nice view.

  • ((((* 13 April 2019 by Carole from Uxbridge

    The atmosphere was lovely but unfortunately they lost our order so we had to wait approximately 50 minutes for our food which gave us time to chat and catch up as this can happen to anyone. The waiters etc were brilliant and kept apologising (which was nice) and when the food arrived we were told it was going to be free, which was unexpected but very much appreciated. The food was delicious and very nicely presented. The people on the next table had afternoon tea which looked lovely, will definitely try this at a later date.

  • ((((( 12 April 2019 by Glenys from Tunbridge Wells

    I meet with friends regularly at the Terrace Restaurant - we like the atmosphere - service - menu - food and wine very much.
    The dining area is pleasant, light and airy - quite small but the tables are well spaced.
    The waitresses are first class, very professional and pleasant.

  • ((((* 8 April 2019 by Lisa from London

    Really really lovely food and nice environment. All staff are very helpful.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant