map placeholder

The Tame Otter

Lichfield Road , Hopwas, Tamworth, B78 3AF

((((* British
  • The Tame Otter - Staffordshire
  • The Tame Otter - Staffordshire
  • The Tame Otter - Staffordshire
  •  - Staffordshire
  • The Tame Otter - Staffordshire
  •  - Staffordshire
  • The Tame Otter - Staffordshire
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 22:30

Good food in a cosy comfortable atmosphere

Geoff 16 June 2019
from Tamworth

View all 94 reviews

Serving well-loved British pub food and real ales since the 19th century, The Tame Otter enjoys a premium location on the Birmingham and Fazeley Canal, in the beautiful Staffordshire countryside. Featuring an eye-catching ivy-enclosed building, extensive, lush gardens with seating, and classic patterned red-brick walls, The Tame Otter is a country haven.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Tame Otter menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Tame Otter ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

Next to the Hopwas Hays Wood in the Staffordshire countryside, The Tame Otter is just 4 minutes’ drive into Tamworth.

The Tame Otter

Lichfield Road , Hopwas, Tamworth, B78 3AF

Contact +44 182753361
Website

Make a booking

See all Vintage Inns

See all restaurants in Staffordshire

See all restaurants in Tamworth

Customer reviews for The Tame Otter

3.9 ((((* (based on 94 reviews)
85% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (65)
  • lunch (49)
  • value (30)
  • romantic (25)
  • private dining (20)
  • views (19)
  • al fresco (17)
  • child friendly (13)
  • large parties (12)
  • business (10)
  • trendy (9)
  • afternoon tea (8)
  • entertainment (3)
  • luxury (3)
  • breakfast (2)
  • (((** 22 March 2016 by Amanda from Tamworth

    Food was good but very slow service, after two and half hours cancelled coffee.

  • ((((( 17 March 2016 by Margaret from Tamworth

    Meal was brilliant for the three of us, we really enjoyed it, it was cooked and presented really well

  • ((((( 15 March 2016 by Graham from Overseal

    Had a fantastic meal, staff were very friendly, over all a really enjoyable evening.

  • (**** 2 March 2016 by Janice from Sutton Coldfield

    what a really lovely place the tame otter is such a great location and the staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly ... But such a same the food let it all down I had the hunters chicken which was over cooked and rubbery the chips were hard in the middle my partner had the lamb roast dinner the lamb was really tough and the roast potatoes were like bullets ... We had Apple crumble for pudding which to be honest was really lacking crumble .... We are not the type of people to complain so we just paid bill and left .... The only reason I'm writing this is because you asked for feedback ... Yes we would certainly return but for a drink only and to enjoy the location

  • ((((( 29 February 2016 by Sharon from Colchester

    Friendly service and lovely meal

  • ((((( 23 February 2016 by Elizabeth from Tamworth

    Very quick service and impressed with the book a table on line service which reserved the table we requested. Staff very well presented, very friendly and food was excellent.

  • ((((( 14 February 2016 by Jill from Tamworth

    Fab meal chicken just fall off the bone X

  • ((((( 10 February 2016 by Jessica from Tamworth

    Lovely service. The food was nice and it's a lovely place to eat

  • ((((( 9 February 2016 by Carl from Birmingham

    Great food, good service. We all enjoyed the mixed platter Sunday roast and the cheesecake and apple crumble. The rest of the menu looked good too with plenty of choice. It's best to book in advance as it gets quite busy on Sunday.

  • ((((( 1 February 2016 by Jane from SUTTON COLDFIELD

    Fantastic in every way.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant