map placeholder

The Tame Otter

Lichfield Road , Hopwas, Tamworth, B78 3AF

((((* British
  • The Tame Otter - Staffordshire
  • The Tame Otter - Staffordshire
  • The Tame Otter - Staffordshire
  •  - Staffordshire
  • The Tame Otter - Staffordshire
  •  - Staffordshire
  • The Tame Otter - Staffordshire
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 22:30

Good food in a cosy comfortable atmosphere

Geoff 16 June 2019
from Tamworth

View all 94 reviews

Serving well-loved British pub food and real ales since the 19th century, The Tame Otter enjoys a premium location on the Birmingham and Fazeley Canal, in the beautiful Staffordshire countryside. Featuring an eye-catching ivy-enclosed building, extensive, lush gardens with seating, and classic patterned red-brick walls, The Tame Otter is a country haven.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Tame Otter menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Tame Otter ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

Next to the Hopwas Hays Wood in the Staffordshire countryside, The Tame Otter is just 4 minutes’ drive into Tamworth.

The Tame Otter

Lichfield Road , Hopwas, Tamworth, B78 3AF

Contact +44 182753361
Website

Make a booking

See all Vintage Inns

See all restaurants in Staffordshire

See all restaurants in Tamworth

Customer reviews for The Tame Otter

3.9 ((((* (based on 94 reviews)
85% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (65)
  • lunch (49)
  • value (30)
  • romantic (25)
  • private dining (20)
  • views (19)
  • al fresco (17)
  • child friendly (13)
  • large parties (12)
  • business (10)
  • trendy (9)
  • afternoon tea (8)
  • entertainment (3)
  • luxury (3)
  • breakfast (2)
  • (**** 7 June 2016 by Sheena from Sutton Coldfield

    Dining experience was very poor. Poor service, long wait between courses, and when second course came, first course plates were still on table. Ordered the most expensive bottle of Rose wine on menu, they did not have it! One meal ordered with salad, was delivered with chips. Second meal ordered with chips, came with food neatly piled on 8 chips arranged in a platform. Don't want to pay for a chef's artistic ego trip, and want more than 8 chips! Clearly explained our booking with a discount when we arrived, and voucher shown to waitress before we ordered. Waitress explained their 2 and 3 course fixed price menu, but did not tell us we could not have that menu with the discount deal! We found that out at the end! They did not discount the total bill as your promotion described, only the food.
    All in all a very disappointing experience. Will not go back there, and will probably not take up any more of your promotional offers, as you don't get what you claim in your offer.

  • ((((* 28 May 2016 by Geri from Lichfield

    Food was great, fast service, lovely atmosphere

  • ((((* 4 May 2016 by Charles from Sutton Coldfield

    Overall was a good experience. Food, drinks, service all good or better. Only down side was rather a long wait for food. This did not matter to our party on this day but may annoy other people at other times.

  • ((((( 27 April 2016 by Barbara from Polesworth

    No complaints whatsoever. Just as well we had pre-booked our table for four as the place was full to bursting. Extensive menu so there was something for everyone. First time for three of the group at The Tame Otter and they enjoyed their visit. Our pleasant waitress got everything right even though she was rushed off her feet. Are you short of staff?

    Never yet had a 'bad' meal at The Tame Otter so hoping to see you again soon for some more proper pub grub.

    Was delighted with the discount voucher that appeared on-line which I printed and saved 25% on the bill. Thank you for that.

  • ((((( 17 April 2016 by Michele from Tamworth

    Nice food and prompt service. Very reasonable prices

  • (**** 12 April 2016 by Tracey from Tamworth

    We normally visit this pub at least three or four times a month and are satisfied with the food and service. Last night however was just awful and I felt we had wasted the 34 pound the bill came too. Firstly it took 15 mins before a drink order was taken by Margaret. She told us the food would be half an hour wait so we ordered a starter which was just awful. We sat down at the table at 8.15 as booked. Drinks arrived about 8.40. Food arrived 9.25. I was just about to cancel and wish I had. The food was terrible. Both of us had fish and chips. The quantity and taste would have been better from a chip shop. Last night it was just myself and my daughter. Normally it's three or four of us. I'm unsure this morning if it's time to change eating venues for a while. I do not want to experience last nights disaster again. When paying at the bar because nobody came to clear away the plates or offer us the bill, I did tell the bar person very politely all of the above and she explained the chef was off and someone from front of house was covering the catering. Quite frankly you would have been better off to close the kitchen. Adding both the service and food together last night and it was a totally unpleasant evening.

  • ((((* 11 April 2016 by Debbie from Lichfield

    Lovely - but the girl behind the bar knew nothing about the 20% deal and hadn't got my booking. I couldn't find the confirmation email to show her so we had to wait 10 mins for a table and pay full price.......

  • ((((( 10 April 2016 by Andrea from Tamworth

    Food was second to none absolutely superb
    Service was great
    Place is lovely

  • ((*** 5 April 2016 by Pam from Burntwood

    Was average pub food had to wait far too long
    Had to ask if meal was ready after a long wait reply I got
    Might be
    Feel service was a bit laxed no one ask us if meals were ok or if we wanted more drinks

  • ((((* 29 March 2016 by Barry from Hampshire

    Excellent staff and warm welcome, arrived early but they managed to move the booking forward. Party of 4 and we all ordered the Sunday roast each a different one, each one came with a good portion of turkey, lamb, beef all excellent except for my pork loin which was actually gamon or ham. But still enjoyed the meal and location.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant