map placeholder

The Tame Otter

Lichfield Road , Hopwas, Tamworth, B78 3AF

((((* British
  • The Tame Otter - Staffordshire
  • The Tame Otter - Staffordshire
  • The Tame Otter - Staffordshire
  •  - Staffordshire
  • The Tame Otter - Staffordshire
  •  - Staffordshire
  • The Tame Otter - Staffordshire
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 22:30

Good food in a cosy comfortable atmosphere

Geoff 16 June 2019
from Tamworth

View all 94 reviews

Serving well-loved British pub food and real ales since the 19th century, The Tame Otter enjoys a premium location on the Birmingham and Fazeley Canal, in the beautiful Staffordshire countryside. Featuring an eye-catching ivy-enclosed building, extensive, lush gardens with seating, and classic patterned red-brick walls, The Tame Otter is a country haven.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Tame Otter menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Tame Otter ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

Next to the Hopwas Hays Wood in the Staffordshire countryside, The Tame Otter is just 4 minutes’ drive into Tamworth.

The Tame Otter

Lichfield Road , Hopwas, Tamworth, B78 3AF

Contact +44 182753361
Website

Make a booking

See all Vintage Inns

See all restaurants in Staffordshire

See all restaurants in Tamworth

Customer reviews for The Tame Otter

3.9 ((((* (based on 94 reviews)
85% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (65)
  • lunch (49)
  • value (30)
  • romantic (25)
  • private dining (20)
  • views (19)
  • al fresco (17)
  • child friendly (13)
  • large parties (12)
  • business (10)
  • trendy (9)
  • afternoon tea (8)
  • entertainment (3)
  • luxury (3)
  • breakfast (2)
  • ((((* 29 July 2016 by Michelle from Nuneaton

    Good food, lovely atmosphere and friendly helpful staff.

  • ((((* 26 July 2016 by Lisa from Tamworth

    Lovely pub/restaurant. Fabulous food. Friendly service.

  • ((((* 24 July 2016 by Denise from Hopwas

    Very easy and quick to book online. The staff in particular the waitress unfortunately who's name I never got was very helpful. Initially we were given a large table, too large for out intimate party of three but she quickly changed our table to a smaller one in a better location. Our food came quickly despite being busy and was delicious.

  • (((** 13 July 2016 by Julie from RUGELEY

    Getting seated was a little slow, had to wait a while for meal as well, overall, we would not go back again

  • (((** 12 July 2016 by Raymond from Walsall

    Was a little disappointing. Waited 35 minuets for the starters to arrived then I ordered a drink from the drinks menu. The waitress didn't know what it was and then told me they had not got the ingredients , pineapple juice and lemon grass with soda. Then ordered desserts, was told no sticky toffee pudding so asked for sherry triffle when she returned was told they only had 1 left.

  • (((** 30 June 2016 by Carol from Tamworth

    Lovely

  • (**** 28 June 2016 by Amanda from Tamworth

    Terrible service,table was given to someone else , was seated and told 30 min wait for food . Ordered steak which was cold and when spoke to waitress was told "do you want me slap it back on grill " I will never visit here again

  • ((*** 22 June 2016 by Anita from Tamworth

    Not as good as usual. My family and I are regulars at the Tame Otter. Booked for Father's Day as we had an amazing meal on Mother's Day this year. Arrived at 3pm and didn't seem overly busy and yet it took 25 minutes to receive our drinks. Food arrived after a 30 minute wait and it was barely warm and vegetables were hard. Food is usually amazing and service very good so won't be put off this time but if it happens again we won't go back.

  • (((** 20 June 2016 by Brian from Tamworth

    Table by door, cold breeze
    Got order wrong even though waitress noted details down
    Cola on draft was totally tasteless and flat, waitress did exchange for bottle, stated that barrel being changed?????

  • ((((* 9 June 2016 by Craig from Tamworth

    Vintage inns excel in using cheaper or less popular cuts of meat and producing good priced dishes cooked to perfection.There is a good range of ales and wines and the canal side setting is lovely on a sunny day.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant