The Tame Otter

(94 Reviews)
Lichfield Road Hopwas, Tamworth, Staffs., B78 3AF
British
A la carte menu

Top offer

Sunday Menu

This offer is available from June 20, 2018 until July 20, 2030, subject to availability as displayed in the booking interface. Offer excludes service and includes VAT. Not available in conjunction with other offers. This promotion has additional information available. Click on the link(s) to view.

Average

Main course: £10
Food spend: £25

Opening hours

Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 22:30

Restaurant description

Serving well-loved British pub food and real ales since the 19th century, The Tame Otter enjoys a premium location on the Birmingham and Fazeley Canal, in the beautiful Staffordshire countryside. Featuring an eye-catching ivy-enclosed building, extensive, lush gardens with seating, and classic patterned red-brick walls, The Tame Otter is a country haven.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Tame Otter menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Tame Otter ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

Next to the Hopwas Hays Wood in the Staffordshire countryside, The Tame Otter is just 4 minutes’ drive into Tamworth.

Dishes displayed on a la carte menus are representative of the type of food available at the restaurant.

Customer reviews for The Tame Otter
3.9
(based on 94 reviews)

85%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (8)
  • al fresco (17)
  • breakfast (2)
  • business (10)
  • child friendly (13)
  • dinner (65)
  • entertainment (3)
  • large parties (12)
  • lunch (49)
  • luxury (3)
  • private dining (20)
  • romantic (25)
  • trendy (9)
  • value (30)
  • views (19)
  • By Geoff T from Tamworth
    14 June 2019

    Good food in a cosy comfortable atmosphere

  • By Hazel R from Nuneaton
    3 March 2019

    atmosphere good able to have conversation at normal decibel level had Sunday roast dinner, beef. Yummy. plenty of veg. personal preference, more cheese with cauliflower cheese. Cabbage needed straining a bit more as there was water on plate. deserts much enjoyed,Eton mess & toffee pudding

  • By James T from Walsall
    12 October 2018

    All three courses really enjoyed. First class service.

  • By geoff T from Tamworth
    9 June 2018

    Good food in warm ,friendly & relaxed atmosphere ??

  • By Julie M from Tamworth
    27 May 2018

    Fantastic service our server could not do enough for my mom. Only 1 criticism the food was just warm. Beautiful food though did not have the heart to send it back to be warmed up as excellent service will definitely be going back again. Thank you for a pleasurable sunday lunch

  • By Patricia W from Lichfield
    14 February 2018

    The experience was fantastic. we really enjoyed the valentine feeling by the resturant.

  • By Sophie H from Tamworth
    24 December 2017

    Myself, and two others dined here the other day and were extremely disappointed. We understood that it was Christmas Eve so the service may be slow if they were busy, but the restaurant wasn't overly busy, yet it took 20 minutes to be seated, despite booking. After being eventually seated, it took ages to be served and we had been there 1 hour and 10 mins before the starter arrived. Furthermore, we ordered a camembert to start and when it arrived, only the upper layer was melted and the inner centre was solid cheese. We intended to complain but no one came over to check on us, other than the passing comment 'are you alright ladies' to which the waitress was gone before we could even respond. Having overlooked the starter, the mains were average. The final issue came when paying. We each paid for what we had and when it was my turn I said I wanted to pay £20 instead of £18.80 on card. The waitress instructed me that I could just enter the amount I wanted to pay on the machine. What I have noticed this morning on my account is that when I entered £20.00 into the machine, it added that to my originally £18.80, meaning I paid £38.80 for my meal, leaving £20 tip, on a bill that came to roughly £60. There has been a clear miscommunication over what I was supposed to do on the card machine, yet the waitress did not mention anything when I handed the machine back to her, nor when the receipts were printed. I am left disappointed and £20 out of pocket, for a meal and service I wasn't satisfied with.

  • By Hilary H from Hopwas
    29 October 2017

    Very friendly and a good middle ranged restaurant

  • By Brian G from Tamworth
    28 October 2017

    No complaints

  • By MAUREEN W from Atherstone
    20 October 2017

    Easy booking, friendly staff with efficient service. We like this place mainly because of location and good drink choices. Food is good with generous portions, the only disappointment is the menu choices which do not appear to have changed for a few months now, we like variety!

Restaurant Location Map
The Tame Otter
Lichfield Road Hopwas, Tamworth, Staffs., B78 3AF

Available offers

Nearby Restaurants

  1. The Grill Inn Restaurant at Drayton Manor Theme Park
    3.8km
    The Grill Inn Restaurant at Drayton Manor Theme Park
  2. The Whittington Arms

    The Whittington Arms

    British
    (42 Reviews)
    5.5km
    The Whittington Arms
  3. The Bull's Head - Lichfield

    The Bull's Head - Lichfield

    British
    (63 Reviews)
    6.5km
    The Bull's Head - Lichfield
  4. Toby Carvery - Shenstone

    Toby Carvery - Shenstone

    British
    (56 Reviews)
    6.5km
    Toby Carvery - Shenstone
  5. Harvester - Bassetts Pole

    Harvester - Bassetts Pole

    British
    (51 Reviews)
    6.5km
    Harvester - Bassetts Pole