map placeholder

The Spaniards

Spaniards Road, London, NW3 7JJ

((((* British
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
Average
Main course: £12
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Sunday to Tuesday: 12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday to Friday: 12:00 - 00:00
Saturday: 11:00 - 00:00

Waited long for food,persons that came later were served before us

Ursula 04 June 2018
from London

View all 56 reviews

Dating back to the 1500s and one of London’s oldest pubs, The Spaniards has been immortalised in various works of literature, and was frequented by historic figures including John Keats. Indoors, a charming yesteryear vibe sees mismatched furnishings, weathered wood panelling and leather-bound books dotted throughout, while a canopy-sheltered terrace immerses diners in Hampstead's lush, green landscape.

Enjoy a hearty meal from the Spaniards menu of British-inspired cuisine, which includes beef shin & kidney pie, kale & mashed potato, gnocchi with quinoa, chestnut mushrooms & truffled cream, and chicken hotpot with bacon, ale & pickled onions. Potted custard caramel with lavender short bread leads the tempting dessert menu.

With roaring fireplaces warming it in the winter, the pub also serves a list of speciality beers & fine wines, and traditional roast is available every Sunday. Enjoy your meal in one of two separate dining rooms, or in the award-winning, dog-friendly beer garden when the weather is warm.

The Spaniards in Hampstead is a 3-minute drive from Hampstead Tube Station.

The Spaniards

Spaniards Road, London, NW3 7JJ

Contact +44 2087318406
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in Hampstead

Customer reviews for The Spaniards

4.2 ((((* (based on 56 reviews)
89% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((()*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • lunch (40)
  • dinner (28)
  • al fresco (13)
  • romantic (13)
  • child friendly (12)
  • value (10)
  • views (8)
  • large parties (7)
  • trendy (7)
  • private dining (6)
  • entertainment (5)
  • afternoon tea (4)
  • breakfast (4)
  • luxury (4)
  • business (2)
  • (((** 3 August 2016 by Susie from London

    The atmosphere was buzzing, food good but wait for food far too long - nearly an hour.

  • ((((* 24 July 2016 by Patrick from London Borough of Camden

    The lamb was the best ever. The crab starter, however, was disappointing -- no taste.

  • ((*** 11 June 2016 by Paola from Barnet

    Booking service good

  • ((((* 24 May 2016 by Melissa from London

    The food was perfect and the ambience amazing.The pub maintains many aspects of the 16th century structure that adds to the vintage feel.We ordered two Sunday roasts,one starter, two deserts a beer and a cider and the bill came up to £80. Rather pricey but I guess given the quality atmosphere and location were all 1st class it was well worth it. I would emphasise that the Sunday roast was the best I have ever had.

  • ((((( 24 March 2016 by Andrea from London

    excellent

  • ((((( 23 March 2016 by Errol from London

    Great pub lunch. Fantastic waitress

  • ((*** 22 March 2016 by Charles from London

    The Spaniards Inn is a really nice pub, with an interesting history. I like how out of the way it is, and it is and is one of the best pubs in London for feeling like you are in a country pub. The food is expensive which is understandable, but the staff were really rude. Very stern and hostile and really did not fit the place at all. I bought over 20 people to that pub yesterday evening, but was threatened to be thrown out simply for talking in the bar area, I have never experienced anything like it.

  • ((((( 19 March 2016 by Eileen from London Borough of Bromley

    Place-wise so attractive and comfortable and welcoming, and the food was something special. It was one of the tastiest and satisfying meals I have had in a a long time and nothing to deter from the overall experience

  • (((** 29 February 2016 by Alan from London

    Excellent food, warm fire and helpful consideration of my gluten allergy, with a dedicated menu and gluten- free beer. Friends and I return regularly. It can be a bit chilly in winter but warms up with busy happy crowd at weekends. Booking essential then!

  • ((((( 23 February 2016 by Tracy from London

    Excellent service very quick lovely food reasonably priced but very tasty. We will definately be returning

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant