map placeholder

The Sovereign

172-174 Penistone Road, Shepley, Huddersfield, HD8 8BE

((((* British
  •  - West Yorkshire
  • The Sovereign - West Yorkshire
  • The Sovereign - West Yorkshire
  •  - West Yorkshire
  • The Sovereign - West Yorkshire
  •  - West Yorkshire
  • The Sovereign - West Yorkshire
  •  - West Yorkshire
  •  - West Yorkshire
  • The Sovereign - West Yorkshire
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 22:30

Very good service and food was spot on

David 07 May 2018
from Huddersfield

View all 37 reviews

Originally built as a brewery in 1829, The Sovereign near Huddersfield is situated in the hills and valleys on the edge of the beautiful Peak District. Offering brilliant and well-loved British pub cuisine, the views and food can be savoured from the pretty al fresco garden and by the cosy hearth. Favouring a welcoming, warm colour scheme, the eye-catching mirrors and vintage wood furnishings aid the rustic feel.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Sovereign menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Sovereign Rest ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

Nestled in the country, The Sovereign is just 4 minutes’ drive from Shepley Train Station, or 14 minutes to Huddersfield.

The Sovereign

172-174 Penistone Road, Shepley, Huddersfield, HD8 8BE

Contact +44 1484609725
Website

Make a booking

See all Vintage Inns

See all restaurants in West Yorkshire

See all restaurants in Huddersfield

Customer reviews for The Sovereign

3.8 ((((* (based on 37 reviews)
83% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((()*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (23)
  • lunch (20)
  • value (13)
  • child friendly (10)
  • romantic (9)
  • business (8)
  • private dining (6)
  • afternoon tea (4)
  • large parties (3)
  • trendy (3)
  • al fresco (2)
  • luxury (2)
  • breakfast (1)
  • entertainment (1)
  • views (1)
  • ((((( 19 October 2016 by David from Holmfirth

    We have been patrons of the Sovereign since the 70s its always had a lovely atmosphere and reputation for good food . Just lately the food is excellent and service is first class. Thanks to ALL especially Matt and Andy.

  • ((((* 27 September 2016 by Shirley from Holmfirth

    Regretfully our Sunday lunch did not live up to expectations,my roast beef was very over cooked and tough , and the veg was under cooked. My friend was not happy with his meal, the glass my sherry trifle came in was gritty on the outside from the dishwasher, and the contents were not as good as usual. After removing our main course plates the waiter forgot about us and we had to go to the bar to order our desserts, WE eat here about every 3 weeks and this was the first time we have found any fault, I understand that some of the staff were new. This may be the problem.

  • ((((( 5 September 2016 by Gemma from Holmfirth

    I found the overall look of the restaurant very inviting. Selection of dishes excellent. Booking service very easy to use. Love the table next to the fire place.
    Staff are very pleasant and welcoming. Pricing of wines and food is excellent value.

  • ((((* 2 August 2016 by Barbara from Huddersfield

    We enjoyed our meal at the Sovereign I had the stone baked pizza which was delicious. I'd had one on a previous occasion. The chips were crispy with a nice fluffy centre. My friend had the burger option which she also enjoyed. I will certainly return.

  • ((((* 24 July 2016 by Jackie from Wakefield

    Disappointed that the risotto was not available but the service and food was very good

  • (((** 22 July 2016 by Theresa from Rotherham

    The staff were pleasant, professional and friendly, nice looking pub but although the food seemed of a good quality, it was spoilt for myself and my party because of a sweet taste that seemed to be in the potatoes, both roasted and mashed, also the serving of halved large carrots neither looked nor tasted too good. The fatter end of the carrot was not al dente but under cooked.

  • ((((* 19 July 2016 by Paul from Huddersfield

    "endless gravy" is.

  • ((*** 22 June 2016 by Amrit from Sheffield

    Great food really really poor service!!!

  • (((** 30 May 2016 by Ray from Huddersfield

    Food good evventually!Both main courses were served COLD.After drawing waitresses attention to this they were replaced after a short time and were piping hot.Otherwise the meal was most enjoyable and the waitress very apologetic.

  • (((** 27 April 2016 by John from Barnsley

    Friendly efficient staff. We paid £10.95 each for Sunday roast which was well cooked but we thought expensive for the amount on our plates. A side veg dish contained small portions of peas, cabbage and a quarter of a carrot each. Come on Sovereign be a bit more generous or reduce your prices

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant