map placeholder

The Sovereign

172-174 Penistone Road, Shepley, Huddersfield, HD8 8BE

((((* British
  •  - West Yorkshire
  • The Sovereign - West Yorkshire
  • The Sovereign - West Yorkshire
  •  - West Yorkshire
  • The Sovereign - West Yorkshire
  •  - West Yorkshire
  • The Sovereign - West Yorkshire
  •  - West Yorkshire
  •  - West Yorkshire
  • The Sovereign - West Yorkshire
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 22:30

Very good service and food was spot on

David 07 May 2018
from Huddersfield

View all 37 reviews

Originally built as a brewery in 1829, The Sovereign near Huddersfield is situated in the hills and valleys on the edge of the beautiful Peak District. Offering brilliant and well-loved British pub cuisine, the views and food can be savoured from the pretty al fresco garden and by the cosy hearth. Favouring a welcoming, warm colour scheme, the eye-catching mirrors and vintage wood furnishings aid the rustic feel.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Sovereign menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Sovereign Rest ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

Nestled in the country, The Sovereign is just 4 minutes’ drive from Shepley Train Station, or 14 minutes to Huddersfield.

The Sovereign

172-174 Penistone Road, Shepley, Huddersfield, HD8 8BE

Contact +44 1484609725
Website

Make a booking

See all Vintage Inns

See all restaurants in West Yorkshire

See all restaurants in Huddersfield

Customer reviews for The Sovereign

3.8 ((((* (based on 37 reviews)
83% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((()*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (23)
  • lunch (20)
  • value (13)
  • child friendly (10)
  • romantic (9)
  • business (8)
  • private dining (6)
  • afternoon tea (4)
  • large parties (3)
  • trendy (3)
  • al fresco (2)
  • luxury (2)
  • breakfast (1)
  • entertainment (1)
  • views (1)
  • ((((* 3 April 2017 by David from Huddersfield

    Very good food & excellent service

  • (**** 28 March 2017 by Irene from huddersfield

    I had a fillet steak.A fillet steak should be tender The one I had was tough, hard to chew full of gristle. We dine at this restaurant nearly every week and I have never had reason to complain, but this time I was really upset. The service was good, perhaps it was Mothering Sunday and very busy., I do not know.it spoilt the whole evening for me.

  • ((((( 20 March 2017 by Irene from yorkshire

    excellent, my roast beef excellent and a lot of it, had to ask for some of it wrapped so I could take it home Yorkshire pudding great

  • ((((* 27 February 2017 by Charlotte from Huddersfield

    Lovely atmosphere , good food and service

  • ((((* 24 February 2017 by Richard from Huddersfield

    As a regular diner there I always enjoy my visit.
    Pity my favourites, fish pie and lasagne are no longer available.

  • (((** 16 February 2017 by Dean from Darton

    The food was good and can't blame the service but we had the valentines menu which was not worded properly my partner has a course with her steak but was never told it was an extra charge and I wanted the chocolate trio but this classed as 2 puddings so was extra so I declined it spoilt what would have been a lovely night

  • ((((* 5 February 2017 by Richard from Huddersfield

    First time back at Sovereign for many years, the service was excellent with a good choice on the menu. However as always the wine and beer prices I think are excessive.

  • ((((( 19 January 2017 by John from Huddersfield

    Enjoyed the experience, good food well cooked ad presented, excellent service. what more can one want.
    Found booking difficult at first but successful after the second attempt.

  • (**** 22 October 2016 by Jane from Huddersfield

    Food was delicious!! Peach melba Creme brulee a must.Cosy setting with real open fires. Shame majority of staff were miserable and showed no interest in their costmers, asked for last orders at 10pm, pay bills and leave as there were only 6 people left in the restaurant and they wanted to shut up!! Service with a friendly smile wouldn't go a miss!!! Whole experience made us feel a nuisance and unwelcome.

  • ((((( 21 October 2016 by Pam from Penistone

    Fantastic meal, friendly staff and quick and efficient service, thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant