Reviews of The Ship

4.0
(based on 17 reviews)
North Street, Chichester, South East England, PO19 1NH
17 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Edwin S from Enschede
    22 November 2019

    Reasonable value for money. Dishes well prepared but not smashing. Drinks overcharged. Nice staff.

  • By Chloe P from Fareham
    25 August 2019

    Myself and my other half had an amazing time dining at The Jetty. We could not fault anything whatsoever, we would definitely recommend this to anyone staying at The Hotel too.

  • By Karen C from London
    23 August 2019

    Gorgeous cheese soufflé, really light but no seasoning. A few grinds of salt and pepper put this right. Same with the crab linguine,for my husband. Seafood tortellini was really ravioli but tasted OK with added salt. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Sadly no atmosphere, typical of hotel restaurants and the dreadful background music simulated a throbbing headache! Huge brown stain on ceiling needs addressing. Not somewhere to linger. Why do restaurants assume diners share the decision makers taste in music? This would stop me from returning.

  • By Bryan A from salisbury
    9 August 2019

    good food and service

  • By Callum M from Camberley
    3 August 2019

    Possibly the best waitress that we’ve ever had, very friendly, genuine and attentive. All the food was exceptional, perfectly cooked and presented. We’d definitely eat here again.

  • By Phil G G from Nottingham
    15 June 2019

    They kindly gave us a 20% discount because the food was cold but unfortunately we wouldn’t want to eat here again. Service slow but pleasant waiter and good, responsive manager. Very annoying loud drum machine music despite sedate older clientele. Food mostly good but not really good enough to command the premium pricing.

  • By David T from eastleigh
    24 May 2019

    Though this restaurant bears the same name as that in Christchurch, the ambience and more importantly the quality of the food was far inferior. The staff were all attentive and very pleasant, but there were shortcomings. For example, we were presented with dessert spoons for soup in the evening and soup spoons at breakfast. Not a major disaster but indicative of things not being to a high standard. This could have been forgiven if the food was of the expected quality, but sadly it wasn't.

  • By Philip H from Portsmouth
    9 May 2019

    Charming but a little chaotic! Somewhat undertrained staff! Ordered prawns without chilli sauce, came with a bed of samphire mixed with chilli! Ordered whole plaice ( catch of tge day, we were told that it came with vegetables.what I got were two plaice fillets with no veg?! Delicious andperfectly cooked but unexpected! The staff have not been trained to watch the room which resulted in our needing to attract their attention several times. However, tge food was good and tge place pleasant. We would probably visit again but not in the same league as the theatre restaurant

  • By Peter B from Cambridge
    3 March 2019

    Excellent decor, atmosphere and wonderful dining experience with first class service.

  • By Benet M from Brighton
    26 January 2019

    Nice meal. The starters were great. Main courses both done well. Decent bottle of Montepulciano. Friendly service.

2 Next page