Reviews of The Sheppey Inn

4.7
(based on 592 reviews)
Lower Godney Glastonbury, Somerset, South West England, BA5 1RZ
592 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Susie B from Langport
    4 November 2020

    Best place to eat for miles around. Great food, good wine and beer choices and fab atmosphere. Sadly, it is being sold so it won’t be the same in the future. Always had innovative dishes on the menu and the Lemon Cream dessert was inspired, though that wasn’t on the menu this visit.

  • By Alice W from Wells
    1 November 2020

    Lovely service, atmosphere and food. Always brilliant - love the Sheppey!

  • By Reuben N from Bristol
    24 October 2020

    10/10, great meal as always and lovely staff

  • By MR MATTHEW GOULETTE G from Bristol
    23 October 2020

    From the moment we walked in we loved the place. A beautiful old building with a sympathetic and atmospheric extension. Service was impeccable. Friendly but not overly gushing or over attentive. Just the right balance. Really knowledgeable and great with my wife's dairy intolerance. Menu was well balanced and inviting. Food was outstanding. Really deserves recognition. The tempura broccoli dish was so perfectly balanced, and my fish stew was brilliantly accompanied by a spicy mayo which lifted the dish. The only slight complaint was there was no menu for children. We had our y year old with us, and although we were told smaller versions could be made, it seemed this was only really for fish n chips. Great for most, but our fusspot of a son doesn't like fish n chips, so we had to order him a salmon fillet which cost us £18 and was mostly left. A few more options would be welcome. I should say though that the bill was very reasonable so I was happy to pay. The wine was a Primitivo, not a grape I expect much from normally, but I was trying to keep the alcohol I take and cost down, and this was available in a 500ml carafe. It was so good I am now looking to buy some for home! We had the apple cake for dessert which was divine. We ordered this with 2 small glasses of Sauterne. Unfortunately the Sauterne was running low, so they could only stretch to 1 glass, but came along with a taster of an alternative, citrussy pudding wine which turned out to be delicious. We also ordered 2 coffees and the bill was still under £100! Incredible value, fantastic food, great wine with good prices and superb service in a wonderful atmosphere. Cannot ask for more and we are singing their praises to everyone who will listen.

  • By Liz C from Frome
    18 October 2020

    Amazing , birth the beef roast and veggie roast were delicious and the desserts , wow!! Love the atmosphere here .

  • By Susan de Lange D from Glastonbury
    17 October 2020

    We have visited the Sheppey many times but this was the first since Covid. The staff were all masked and yet still able to be very friendly and attentive. Everything was very clean, tables well spaced as would be expected. The food was pleasantly presented and tasty. There were six of us and everyone said they enjoyed their meals. I personally had the salmon which was delicious followed by the peanut butter cheese cake, very unusual and totally yummy. Leisurely lunch well enjoyed. Highly recommend.

  • By Yvonne L from Oakhill
    16 October 2020

    It is always a pleasure to eat at the Sheppey. The food is interesting and different whilst always be delicious .

  • By George N from Stoke St Michael
    16 October 2020

    The food was fantastic and service excellent. Such a great pub to eat and coping so well with the new restrictions. Would thoroughly recommend

  • By Keith S from bridgwater
    14 October 2020

    The food was good to eat and presented in an interesting way. There was also a good selection of drinks to compliment the menu. Staff were friendly and informative and added to a very enjoyable experience.

  • By Kate A from visiting from London
    14 October 2020

    Simply amazing. I went for a late afternoon birthday/newly engaged lunch with my fiance and it felt very special at the Sheppey! The staff were attentive and friendly, and very knowledgeable about their menu. I have a dairy allergy and they easily accommodated, adapted dishes, and offered suggestions. The menu has a bit of something for everyone and they make so much of the food (bread, etc.) in house that everything is to such a high standard. An excellent range of drinks, too - lots of local and small companies which made me happy to see. To be honest I felt spoiled - most restaurants have only one or two token "free from" options that aren't exciting, but here I was able to have exactly what I wanted for my main, plus adapted dairy-free affogato and macarons. We both wished we lived closer so we could go back again soon. They made us feel very welcome and comfortable, which isn't easy during these strange pandemic times. Can't recommend enough - please give them a go.