Reviews of The Seahorse

3.8
(based on 40 reviews)
52-54 The Street Shalford, Guildford, South East England, GU4 8BU
40 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Peter G from Alton
    31 January 2020

    Good food good atmosphere......very busy though

  • By Claire W from Shalford. Surrey
    22 December 2019

    Lovely, friendly staff. Great service. Not SO impressed with some of the food. The chef had left & I believe the manager was standing in. He needs to change the way he does roast potatoes as they were not great all all, I’m afraid. Also the crackling was a big square piece, that was very tough to bite into & didn’t taste of pork fat - very manufactured taste! A tad disappointed.

  • By Alice M from Horsham
    25 August 2019

    Excellent service and good menu choice. Children’s menu was ‘non-beige’ which was great but it might have been nice to have had some simplification suggested as our 3 year old was overwhelmed by his roast (we’ll know for next time).

  • By Martyn W from Guildford
    1 June 2019

    All fine, save with the belly of pork dish there could have been more vegetables, particularly potato, with the amount of meat.

  • By Brenda A from Gu
    17 April 2019

    No matter when we visit the service is dreadful - requests made are NEVER honoured - food never hot- staff pleasant but most definitely a shortage of kitchen staff (it seems)- we have been 5 times now - meeting friends at a half way stop but NEVER agan

  • By Lesley Davies D from Shalford
    8 March 2019

    I love the Seahorse, particularly as I can walk there! My only problem is the staff. There are few regulars and they often have very junior people behind the bar (not the waiting staff who are good) who don't seem to have been briefed on customer relations and which can cause long delays. Last Sunday, the boy behind the bar had never opened a bottle of wine with a cork and didn't know how to. Couldn't even find the corkscrew. Was making coffee while I stood there for nearly 20 minutes without acknowledging me. I spoke to someone more senior though and she rectified it extremely well. Food was great though!

  • By Malcolm K from Guildford
    15 June 2018

    Unexceptional food. Cannot identify the ingredients in the sauce. Trust that it contains what they say it does.

  • By Ros B from Guildford
    30 May 2018

    Great service and lovely setting but Unfortunately the food wasn’t cooked properly.

  • By Henriette V from Guildford
    8 May 2018

    Usually I am happy with the Seahorse experience but not this time

  • By Sarah K from Cobham
    15 October 2017

    We had a good meal - the Sunday lunch - ample portions and plenty of vegetables. Service was efficient and pleasant.