map placeholder

The Saxon Mill

Coventry Road, Guys Cliffe, Warwick, CV34 5YN

((()* British
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
Average
Main course: £12
Food spend: £28
Opening hours
Monday to Thursday: 09:00 - 23:00
Friday & Saturday: 09:00 - 00:00
Sunday: 09:00 - 22:00.

Excellent meal and good Staff

Steve 09 May 2019
from Kenilworth

View all 95 reviews

With a working mill which dates back to the 12th century, a water wheel and beautifully landscaped decking overlooking the River Avon, The Saxon Mill is a traditional stone building which has been converted to a gastro pub, serving a menu of modern British cuisine. The open plan restaurant & bar feature log fires, stone & wooden flooring, and open kitchens, as well as a glass window cutaway in the floor, where water can be seen flowing under the building.

With chefs given the opportunity to train at cookery schools in Spain and Italy, The Saxon Mill menu features modern signature recipes made using the finest available ingredients. As well as creative daily-changing specials, favourites include king prawn, crab and chorizo linguine, or spit-roasted chicken with lemon & garlic confit. A kids’ menu and Sunday roasts also feature, and desserts include rich vanilla and chocolate gelato with home-baked cookies.

The result of a treasured partnership with Rothschild wine merchants, the cellar showcases many fine wines, while token real ales and premium spirits are found at The Saxon Mill bar in Guys Cliffe. Nostalgic British nibbles and eclectic sharing platters bursting with international flavours offer more laidback dining.

The Saxon Mill in Warwickshire is a 3-minute drive from Warwick Rail Station.

The Saxon Mill

Coventry Road, Guys Cliffe, Warwick, CV34 5YN

Contact +44 1926492255
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Warwickshire

See all restaurants in Warwick

Customer reviews for The Saxon Mill

3.7 ((()* (based on 95 reviews)
74% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((()*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((()*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (53)
  • views (53)
  • lunch (52)
  • romantic (33)
  • al fresco (26)
  • large parties (19)
  • value (19)
  • private dining (18)
  • trendy (17)
  • afternoon tea (15)
  • business (14)
  • luxury (13)
  • child friendly (11)
  • entertainment (8)
  • breakfast (5)
  • ((((* 11 September 2016 by Anita from Royal Leamington Spa

    Good atmosphere, staff attentive and all round good evening. Food was very good.

  • ((*** 1 September 2016 by Chris from Coventry

    Very nice restaurant with very nice food iv eaten there a number of times to very high standard of food and service. But last night the service was to a very poor standard can't complain about the food but the waitresses were poor we had to wait along time before ordering a drink then after ordering a drink while we ordered food we weren't offers anther drink all the way thought our meal. Then after waiting for our main meals to be cleared away and to order any desserts no staff were seen. We had to then walk up to the staff that were chatting to themselves by the till to pay for our meal if we weren't houneral people we could of easily walked out without paying, Would recommend it for the food but the table staff that evening were to a very poor prefomance

  • (((** 31 August 2016 by Stephen from Kenilworth

    This is a fairly high end Gastropub. We booked on the morning of a bank holiday. The table had been correctly reserved. Appetisers were served fairly promptly but it was a long wait (about an hour) before the main course came. My parents had the Chicken and ham pie which looked great and tasted delicious, my wife had the duck salad, this was disappointing as the duck was cooked to a crisp and there was no hoi sin or similar sauce to help it down - it was not advertised as crispy duck salad. My Prawn and crab linguine was very tasty and would have scored very high had in not been virtually cold when it was delivered to the table. The waitress offered to have a new meal prepared but after waiting so long I decided to eat what I had. Not sure what was going on with the duck but I put the rest down to bank holiday rush. The place was very busy and had a good vibe. I would certainly give then a second chance on a less busy day.

  • (((** 27 August 2016 by Pamela from Royal Leamington Spa

    Good service - plenty of staff that were very attentive.
    Food not so good- both of us found the food very average. Not very tastey-slimey vegetables, fatty meat.
    Desert was quite tasteless too ??
    Mains were expensive so it was disappointing.

  • (**** 24 August 2016 by Verity from Warwick

    Long wait for food, drinks order mixed up no ice, food not good quality for what you pay will not eat there again

  • ((*** 23 August 2016 by Barbara from Coventry

    Personally I was disappointed although at first glance it appealed. It was very busy and service was slow and the atmosphere was rather frenetic with waitresses rushing about Not the relaxed atmosphere I would have liked. My crispy duck salad was very crispy, in fact you could say hard ! The chairs were also very hard to sit on for a length of time. Will not be going back !

  • (((** 23 August 2016 by Jannine from Warwickshire

    Lovely setting, the starter I chose was bread and olives the bread was stale, the main sticky chicken , the chicken was dry and overall I thought expensive for what it was.
    The staff were very good.

  • (((** 23 August 2016 by Debbie from Redditch

    Excellent location. We have eaten here several times before and were disappointed with the food quality and service on Sunday.

  • ((((( 19 August 2016 by Jo from Warwick

    Absolutely fabulous, fantastic service, stunning scenery, and lovely waitress Katie big smile and very courteous

  • (**** 10 August 2016 by PB from Royal Leamington Spa

    Arrived on time to be told that our table might not be ready. We were seated and ignore for 20 minutes. I had to go and get a waiter in order to get service. Drinks took 25 minutes to arrive. One of the dishes we order was off and the waiter came to ask for an alternative without bringing the menu. Food arrived 55 minutes after we sat down appearing to have been under the heat lamp for a long time. One order was the wrong dish. Steak knifes not supplied preventing us from starting eating even then. No one apologised. This was for a birthday meal. Reasonable food destroyed by terrible service and poor kitchen. We had book a table in the restaurant well in advance on the hope of experiencing a nice meal with good service. The outcome was an unpleasant, miserable experience. No sign of any senior serving staff to raise concerns with. It was as if they had been q busy day and the staff simply didn't give a monkeys any longer. A miserable, abject experience. Saxon Mill you should be ashamed of ruining our evening.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant