map placeholder

The Saxon Mill

Coventry Road, Guys Cliffe, Warwick, CV34 5YN

((()* British
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
  • The Saxon Mill - Warwickshire
Average
Main course: £12
Food spend: £28
Opening hours
Monday to Thursday: 09:00 - 23:00
Friday & Saturday: 09:00 - 00:00
Sunday: 09:00 - 22:00.

Excellent as always

Nicky 02 August 2019
from Warwick

View all 98 reviews

With a working mill which dates back to the 12th century, a water wheel and beautifully landscaped decking overlooking the River Avon, The Saxon Mill is a traditional stone building which has been converted to a gastro pub, serving a menu of modern British cuisine. The open plan restaurant & bar feature log fires, stone & wooden flooring, and open kitchens, as well as a glass window cutaway in the floor, where water can be seen flowing under the building.

With chefs given the opportunity to train at cookery schools in Spain and Italy, The Saxon Mill menu features modern signature recipes made using the finest available ingredients. As well as creative daily-changing specials, favourites include king prawn, crab and chorizo linguine, or spit-roasted chicken with lemon & garlic confit. A kids’ menu and Sunday roasts also feature, and desserts include rich vanilla and chocolate gelato with home-baked cookies.

The result of a treasured partnership with Rothschild wine merchants, the cellar showcases many fine wines, while token real ales and premium spirits are found at The Saxon Mill bar in Guys Cliffe. Nostalgic British nibbles and eclectic sharing platters bursting with international flavours offer more laidback dining.

The Saxon Mill in Warwickshire is a 3-minute drive from Warwick Rail Station.

The Saxon Mill

Coventry Road, Guys Cliffe, Warwick, CV34 5YN

Contact +44 1926492255
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Warwickshire

See all restaurants in Warwick

Customer reviews for The Saxon Mill

3.7 ((()* (based on 98 reviews)
74% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((()*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((()*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (54)
  • views (54)
  • lunch (52)
  • romantic (34)
  • al fresco (27)
  • large parties (20)
  • private dining (20)
  • value (19)
  • trendy (17)
  • afternoon tea (15)
  • business (14)
  • luxury (13)
  • child friendly (12)
  • entertainment (8)
  • breakfast (5)
  • ((((( 31 October 2016 by Jacque from Ramsgate

    Food was amazing and worth every penny. Rib eye was succulent and the steak&ale pie was incredible.

  • ((((( 26 October 2016 by Mark from Rugby

    Nice restaurant. Good service. Good value. I had confit of duck which was fine. Waffle accompaniment a bit strange. But food generally good.

  • ((((* 22 October 2016 by Maureen from Coventry

    Staff very pleasant and helpful, service was a little slow but was apologise for and food was nice and main course arrived quickly, nice setting and cosy feel and very clean, would go again.

  • ((*** 19 October 2016 by Jake from Tutbury

    First time in a few months in visiting; location and food was good, but the service was terrible.

    Inattentive waiters, far too many tables crammed in and extended waits for service on mains and desserts.

    Overall, disappointing compared to previous experiences.

  • ((((( 19 October 2016 by Sean from Coventry

    Great surroundings, atmosphere and service.

  • (((** 18 October 2016 by Phil from High Wycombe

    I've been here a number of times for lunch and have got great service and great food. We came for brunch on Sunday with a reservation and were directed twice to the wrong table by a very offhand (and overworked) person behind the bar. A nice (but overworked)young man redirected us to the right place but the service ws painfully slow - I had to chase to get menus twice and it was 25 minutes before we could order anything including drinks.

    The problem was I think that the two young people manning front of house were all the staff they had. So generally I would recommend the Saxon Mill at lunchtime, but not if you want a Sunday brunch, especially if you don't like waiting around.

    On the food front, I think it was all pretty good although on my breakfast one of the eggs was really overcooked and the bacon a bit dry too.

    in summary - could, and should, do better.

  • ((((* 7 October 2016 by Jamie from Birmingham

    Great business meeting and meal at The Saxon Mill. Good location and great food, offering a relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere. Will definitely be back!

  • (((** 28 September 2016 by Daniel from Warwick

    Very busy. Poor waiting staff were trying their best, but they always seem understaffed here. Took nearly 30 minutes for the drinks we ordered at the start to arrive, then the drinks ordered when they cleared the starters away only arrived mid way through the main course after I had to ask for them another 2 times!

    Food when it did arrive was pleasant enough. They had run out of many of the menu items.

    This would be a fantastic restaurant if the management would invest in more waiting staff! As things stand, this really lets this venue down.

  • ((((* 27 September 2016 by Chris from Kenilworth

    Atmosphere - really busy.
    Service - great - but volume of people meant that it was slow, ulike time we have been during the week.
    Food - Sticky sharing plate - suited us for 4 while we were waiting, very tasty. Roasts - Beef - would have preferred some red meat as we requested and offering of horse radish without having to go off and ask. Pork - would have preferred the apple sauce also to have come without asking and for it to have more acidity. Wagu berger - great. Desserts - imaginative and tasty.

  • (((** 26 September 2016 by Ranjit from Coventry

    Nice,location anx food

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant