map placeholder

The Riverside

North End, Farndon, Newark, NG24 3SX

(((() British
  • The Riverside - Nottinghamshire
  • The Riverside - Nottinghamshire
  • The Riverside - Nottinghamshire
  • The Riverside - Nottinghamshire
  • The Riverside - Nottinghamshire
  • The Riverside - Nottinghamshire
  • The Riverside - Nottinghamshire
  • The Riverside - Nottinghamshire
  • The Riverside - Nottinghamshire
  • The Riverside - Nottinghamshire
  • The Riverside - Nottinghamshire
  • The Riverside - Nottinghamshire
  • The Riverside - Nottinghamshire
  • The Riverside - Nottinghamshire
  • The Riverside - Nottinghamshire
  • The Riverside - Nottinghamshire
  • The Riverside - Nottinghamshire
Average
Main course: £12
Food spend: £22
Opening hours
Monday to Thursday: 08:00 - 23:00
Friday & Saturday: 09:00 - 00:00
Sunday: 09:00 - 22:30.

Lovely food freshley made, at a good price. Very friendly staff, providing excellent service. Even helping to take a photo of school chums meeting aften 50 years!

Janice 07 June 2019
from Newark

View all 155 reviews

Set on the banks of the River Trent, The Riverside is a wonderfully comfy pub with polished wooden floors and modern décor. Settle down for gourmet all-day dining, or take a drink from the bar outside to the al fresco patio area and enjoy the tranquil setting.

The Riverside menu prides itself on showcasing traditional British flavours, made with locally sourced seasonal ingredients. Start the day off with meat and veggie fry ups, as well as lighter options like avocado and poached eggs on toasted sourdough. Later in the day, there are small plate dishes like pit-smoked ox cheek, chipotle chicken wings and crab and sweetcorn fritters, as well as larger home-style favourites of steak and ale pie, fish and chips, and succulent steaks.

A popular Sunday menu at The Riverside in Newark serves up slow-cooked meats with all the trimmings, while for pudding there is white chocolate cheesecake and real dairy ice creams. Up at the bar, cask ales and international beers are on tap, while the wine list boasts carefully selected vintages, including dessert varieties.

Also offering children's menus, The Riverside is a peaceful, family-friendly pub. Newark North Gate Rail Station is a 12-minute walk away.

The Riverside

North End, Farndon, Newark, NG24 3SX

Contact +44 01636710990
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Nottinghamshire

See all restaurants in Newark

Customer reviews for The Riverside

4.3 (((() (based on 155 reviews)
90% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (110)
  • lunch (106)
  • value (66)
  • views (48)
  • large parties (32)
  • al fresco (29)
  • business (29)
  • private dining (28)
  • child friendly (24)
  • romantic (24)
  • trendy (21)
  • breakfast (20)
  • afternoon tea (14)
  • entertainment (7)
  • luxury (7)
  • ((((* 2 May 2019 by Jackie from Newark

    As always the dining experience was excellent, pleasant helpful staff, combined with a well thought through menu. The ribs being a particular favourite.

  • ((((( 30 April 2019 by Diane from Radcliffre on trent

    The food was excellent

  • ((((( 30 April 2019 by Angela from Nottingham

    Excellent waiter service, friendly, helpful. Nice restaurant pleasant surroundings

  • ((((( 24 April 2019 by Hazel from Newark

    Quick service, staff friendly. Food looked appetising and tasted good. Would recommend

  • ((((* 23 April 2019 by Simon from Newark

    Everything was good

  • ((((( 22 April 2019 by John from Farndon

    Party of five ranging from 17 to 76 - all found exactly what they wanted on the menu. We had a variety of dishes and all were good quality and value for money. The staff were just right in the balance between being helpful and not over bearing etc. Will come again as will the other quests.

  • ((((( 20 April 2019 by Elaine from Winthorpe Newark

    Had lunch with two friends, food and service excellent. I had three course lunch offer. Friends ordered from main menu. Friends drinking beer and wine. I had Diet Coke which I think was from a tap, as very sugary. I do not like this as it gives me headache. I prefer out of bottle. Staff very helpful. Overall very pleased with visit and are planning to go again.

  • ((((( 15 April 2019 by Andrew from Nottinghamshire

    Friendly staff, our table was ready when we arrived we were a table of 4. We all ordered drinks and were then left to have a look through the menus. We all chose starters, mushrooms on toast , curried sweet potato soup and pate all of which were excellent! Our main courses were wild boar sausages , chicken grill and fish and chips. No complaints at all about the food it was all delicious, two of us had desserts which were also tasty. Overall a great night with good food and wine/beer.

  • ((((* 15 April 2019 by Steven from Lincoln

    Great service, good value tasty food. Terrific onion rings.

  • ((((* 4 April 2019 by Boyd from Lincoln

    We meet friends for Lunch at the Riverside approx. 3 times per year, it is equal distance between Lincoln and Loughborough. Several years ago when we first visited the food was excellent, the coffee was good, the Staff were pleasant and we enjoyed the ambience. Then 3 years ago the place went into sad decline gone was the good coffee, good food staff service in fact on one lunch time we complained that we were cold and the reply was the heating was on a timer and was not timed to come on???
    Needless to say we stopped going and chose the Restaurant next door. However last November we agreed to give it another try although there were mixed reviews on Trippadviser. The meal was OK and everything was satisfactory.
    Yesterday we had lunch again. The Staff were very good, the 4 of us chose the soup starter which was good but unfortunately it would have been better if the Chef had heated it up the lovely bread served with the soup was warmer than the soup? The fish and Chips was OK. Generally it is a lovely venue but the food could be slightly improved. The Lunch time saver menu is good value, I hope that the Riverside will continue on the way back up.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant