The Riverside

(241 Reviews)
North End, Farndon, Newark, East Midlands, NG24 3SX
British
View main menu

Average

Main course: £12
Food spend: £20

Opening hours

Monday to Thursday: 10:00 - 23:00
Friday to Saturday: 10:00 - 00:00
Sunday: 10:00 - 22:30.

Restaurant description

Set on the banks of the River Trent, The Riverside is a wonderfully comfy pub with polished wooden floors and modern décor. Settle down for gourmet all-day dining, or take a drink from the bar outside to the al fresco patio area and enjoy the tranquil setting.

The Riverside menu prides itself on showcasing traditional British flavours, made with locally sourced seasonal ingredients. Start the day off with meat and veggie fry ups, as well as lighter options like avocado and poached eggs on toasted sourdough. Later in the day, there are small plate dishes like pit-smoked ox cheek, chipotle chicken wings and crab and sweetcorn fritters, as well as larger home-style favourites of steak and ale pie, fish and chips, and succulent steaks.

A popular Sunday menu at The Riverside in Newark serves up slow-cooked meats with all the trimmings, while for pudding there is white chocolate cheesecake and real dairy ice creams. Up at the bar, cask ales and international beers are on tap, while the wine list boasts carefully selected vintages, including dessert varieties.

Also offering children's menus, The Riverside is a peaceful, family-friendly pub. Newark North Gate Rail Station is a 12-minute walk away.

Dishes displayed on a la carte menus are representative of the type of food available at the restaurant.

Customer reviews for The Riverside
4.4
(based on 241 reviews)

92%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (21)
  • al fresco (42)
  • breakfast (35)
  • business (43)
  • child friendly (40)
  • dinner (175)
  • entertainment (10)
  • large parties (44)
  • lunch (169)
  • luxury (14)
  • private dining (42)
  • romantic (41)
  • trendy (30)
  • value (100)
  • views (71)
  • By Nigel C from Farndon, Nottinghamshire
    7 August 2020

    First visit for a while. Very good. Timely service. Food was excellent.

  • By Viv and B from NOTTINGHAM
    6 August 2020

    Staff,, food and environment were great. We were 2 households put on a small table for 4.. In hindsight would have preferred a slightly larger table. But I would still go back

  • By Anthony R from Doncaster
    5 August 2020

    Excellent service. We had breakfast and lunch at the resaurant and both were very good. Highly recommended

  • By Sara B from Derby
    5 August 2020

    Good food, staff efficient and friendly. Thank you

  • By Helen P from Newark on Trent
    5 August 2020

    I booked online which was straight forward. We generally visit on a weekend however, due to the 50% off we booked on a Wednesday. We like the friendly service. We always have good service and great food. This time we had the set meal. We like the fact we can have a three course without overeating as the portion sizes are just right. The measures in place for COVID were great and gave us confidence that the company was taking it serious and protections both staff and guests. We have re booked. Thanks

  • By Louise W from Burton on Trent
    4 August 2020

    Our first post-lockdown restaurant visit. Everything was very clear and organised and felt as ‘normal’ as it could. It was child-friendly and a great opportunity to get family members together after a very long time! The service and food was excellent and we also benefitted from the August 50% discount (Eat Out to Help Out), which was simply taken off our bill at the end. The kids’ meals and desserts were a good size and great value and my chicken burger nearly beat me! Really enjoyed it! A really nice interior and comfortable surroundings with lots of parking and outside space too. Would definitely visit again.

  • By Anthony D from Wragby, Lincolnshire
    3 August 2020

    It was SO good to be able to visit again and the quality and service has been maintained - shame about the need for the staff to wear masks, but hopefully for not much longer. I didn't feel bad having the duck salad again as the last time I had it was just before you were forced to close. It was excellent as was the ambience and the friendliness of the staff. Thank you!

  • By Emily C from Nottingham
    2 August 2020

    Great service, lovely food! Good to be back at our favourite restaurant

  • By Helen C from Newark
    31 July 2020

    Excellent breakfast in the sunshine,

  • By Rachel B from Lincoln
    31 July 2020

    Thoroughly enjoyed our meal here, first time we’d ventured out since lockdown. Staff very friendly and service was excellent. All four of us had a different meal and it all was great.

Restaurant Location Map
The Riverside
North End, Farndon, Newark, East Midlands, NG24 3SX

Similar Restaurants

  1. Zizzi - Newark

    Zizzi - Newark

    Italian
    (64 Reviews)
    3.5km
    Zizzi - Newark
  2. The Springfield Inn

    The Springfield Inn

    British
    (28 Reviews)
    12.1km
    The Springfield Inn
  3. Belton Woods

    Belton Woods

    British
    (34 Reviews)
    19.8km
    Belton Woods
  4. Miller & Carter - Sherwood Forest

    Miller & Carter - Sherwood Forest

    Steaks & Grills
    (22 Reviews)
    19.4km
    Miller & Carter - Sherwood Forest