The River Grille

(334 Reviews)
Narrow Quay, Bristol, BS1 4QF
British, Afternoon Tea
View main menu

Average

Main course: £15
Food spend: £28

Opening hours

Sunday - Thursday: 17:30 - 22:00
Friday & Saturday: 12:30 - 22:30

Restaurant description

On the edge of the harbour side, River Grille features modern British cuisine and a sophisticated lounge bar. In one of Bristol's finest locations, The River Grille'spacious dining room has dramatic light features, sleek furnishings and striking views, and plays host to a pianist on Fridays and live jazz on Saturdays.

The flavoursome dishes on the regularly changing River Grille menus make good use of fine local produce from the West Country. Sample dishes include West Country stone bass with salsa verde, Ruby & West's finest steaks, Beetroot and ricotta gnocchi with a white wine and shallot cream sauce and to finish luxurious chocolate fondant with chocolate crumb and vanilla ice cream.

Afternoon tea features freshly baked scones, along with homemade cakes and pastries. There are freshly made finger sandwiches, and a selection of fine teas.

At the Centre of the city, the River Grille Restaurant is a 10 minute walk from Bristol Temple Meads station and right on the Narrow Quay Harbourside.

Dishes displayed on a la carte menus are representative of the type of food available at the restaurant.

Customer reviews for The River Grille
4.4
(based on 334 reviews)

93%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (91)
  • al fresco (16)
  • breakfast (27)
  • business (45)
  • child friendly (25)
  • dinner (214)
  • entertainment (32)
  • large parties (38)
  • lunch (113)
  • luxury (85)
  • private dining (60)
  • romantic (131)
  • trendy (49)
  • value (76)
  • views (159)
  • By William j S from Bristol
    23 November 2019

    Lovely quiet atmosphere. Attentive staff. Good food. Albeit we did have a problem with the delivery of an Irish coffee, no cream, which was eventually found. Very enjoyable fine dining experience

  • By Penny B from Cornwall
    21 November 2019

    We like to sit by the window so that we can watch the river and life going on outside.

  • By Jonathan D from Bristol
    2 November 2019

    The restaurant is in a great location, very clean and inviting, all the staff were very polite and attentive. All the food we ordered was very good, the only complaint was with the samphire it was to woody so not eatable. I will recommend to all and when back in Bristol will visit again. Thank you for a great meal and great evening.

  • By Jez W from Coventry
    29 October 2019

    A wonderful dining experience , they gave us a table overlooking the river . They decorated out table as it was our wedding anniversary , and made a strawberry and chocolate treat after the meal . The staff were loverly and friendly . The food was top quality and beautifully presented .

  • By Jane F from Bristol
    22 October 2019

    Lovely food!

  • By Michael S from Bristol
    18 October 2019

    Nice-looking restaurant, part of the Bristol Hotel but with a separate entrance, and facing the Harbourside which looks good at night. Our meals were fine though service was rushed, e,g, we were given our starters before we had even finished some small appetisers, and the courses came too rapidly. My dessert wine was forgotten and we had to pay at the counter as no one came. But overall it was a good experience.

  • By Teleri E from Carmarthen
    28 September 2019

    Well where can I start, we felt like royalties, we were made to feel so special. Lovely place and food was great. The staff were so professional. Will defiantly be back next year!

  • By Kathryn E from Bristol
    25 September 2019

    Excellent service/food/atmosphere

  • By Bridget C from Brislington
    5 September 2019

    Friendly helpful staff. Nice food.

  • By Moya Lerigo-Sampson L from Bristol
    31 August 2019

    Everything about our visit was fantastic. The food and drink were delicious, the staff were lovely - very helpful and attentive. It's a lovely setting for a meal. We were visiting for the first time for our wedding anniversary and will definitely be back - thank you!

Restaurant Location Map
The River Grille
Narrow Quay, Bristol, BS1 4QF

Similar Restaurants

  1. Loch Fyne Restaurant Bristol

    Loch Fyne Restaurant Bristol

    Seafood & Grills
    (14 Reviews)
    306m
    Loch Fyne Restaurant Bristol
  2. Browns Brasserie & Bar - Bristol
    879m
    Browns Brasserie & Bar - Bristol
  3. The Ostrich

    The Ostrich

    British
    (1 Reviews)
    309m
    The Ostrich
  4. The Jetty Bristol

    The Jetty Bristol

    British
    (7 Reviews)
    514m
    The Jetty Bristol
  5. The Cottage Inn - Bristol

    The Cottage Inn - Bristol

    British
    (6 Reviews)
    1.4km
    The Cottage Inn - Bristol