Guide MICHELIN 2021

Reviews of The River Cafe

4.4
(based on 122 reviews)
Thames Wharf Rainville Road, London, London, W6 9HA
122 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Maria O from London
    2 March 2016

    One of the best meals I've had in years. Simple food, cooked with skill. Ambiance was lovely too.

  • By Marian H from London
    2 March 2016

    I haven't been here for years as we live in East London and have lots of good restaurants much nearer home. We had the Winter Special offer which was very good value for money. Normally the menu is very expensive. The turbot main course for example was £41. The wine too is expensive, on the red wine list I only saw 3 bottles under £40. The wine we had was very good though as was the food. Tables are very close together and I'm not sure I liked the ambience. I didn't like the paper table cloths Service was good. There wasn't a single free table on a Wednesday lunchtime so other people clearly like it better than we did.

  • By Emma M from London
    29 February 2016

    Fantastic food. Wonderful environment. Amazing as always.

  • By Pam F from London
    29 February 2016

    The experience lived up to expectations. Perfectly crafted delicious food served by friendly staff in relaxed surroundings. One small gripe is the tables are a little close together.

  • By Claire D from London
    28 February 2016

    The River Cafe! Simply sensational!

  • By Kim S from London
    26 February 2016

    Location, service and food was beautiful. This is a very special place to dine.

  • By Ruth B from London
    25 February 2016

    It's been a very long time since I have dined somewhere where both the food and the service was top quality. Well done River Cafe. If I have any quibble - was disappointed that the wine we chose ran out and we could not order a second bottle.

  • By Lyn M from London
    23 February 2016

    Lovely location by the river: light and airy. 15 minutes walk from nearest Tube but you can enjoy the Thames Path. Food excellent; good range of dishes, beautiful fresh ingredients, well seasoned and cooked. Good value for money for the fixed price lunch menu. Wine list is expensive but there are wines by the glass and carafes - quality of wine exceptional so worth the price. Service attentive but not over bearing. Would definitely recommend for a treat or special occasion.

  • By Mihir W from London
    22 February 2016

    We were looked after marvellously and the team were particularly hospitable to my 3 year old. Made my wife's birthday a really special occasion.

  • By Douglas M from Uxbridge
    22 February 2016

    Excellent food & service