Reviews of The Restaurant at Charlton House

3.9
(based on 146 reviews)
Shepton Mallet, Somerset, South West England, BA4 4PR
146 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Janet B from Frome
    4 October 2020

    I very rarely eat roast beef when I am out as it tends to be a little overcooked for my taste but when I heard that there was forerib of beef on the menu I thought I would take a chance. I am really glad I did. The beef was perfection, pink and you barely had to touch the knife to it to cut it. The vegetables were lovely and just al dente enough without being hard. The roast potatoes could have been a little crisper but they tasted delicious. The staff are all so lovely and helpful. Another triumph for Charlton House Restaurant. I will be back!!

  • By Mike P from WELLS
    1 October 2020

    We found the staff friendly, especially our waiter, who was Hungarian. My wife was very pleased with the subtle Birthday treat! We found the temperature rather cold. The food was good. Overall; a good experience, but definitely would have been better if the temperature was warmer overall.

  • By Helen C from Wells
    1 October 2020

    Great food, great service and good anticovid arrangements

  • By A BRADBURY B from STAFFS
    15 September 2020

    Food was tasty but feel they are trying too hard. Not enough food on the plate for the price. Very expensive for the amount of food served. Presentation was really good but dishes need more substance. Not enough vegetables to complement the dishes. Don't agree with having to pay a supplement for the majority of the meat dishes either. I'm sure lots of guests leave the restaurant still feeling hungry. Service is very good and all the staff are very polite and friendly but dont agree with adding a service charge onto the bill everytime they serve you. Isn't that what they get paid for? Breakfast was a better experience. Food was good and although a reduced menu due to Covid still a reasonable choice.

  • By Vanessa A from Street
    7 September 2020

    The restaurant was very beautiful with lovely views of the garden. The afternoon tea was fantastic, well presented and freshly made. The staff were excellent, polite and attentive without being intrusive. The helpings were so generous that we took some home in a box offered by the staff. The whole experience was entirely positive.

  • By Mark E from Devizes
    5 September 2020

    We went for afternoon tea with an open mind having been impressed by the Reviews left by others-Tripadvisor

  • By Rachel T from Winscombe
    31 August 2020

    Got my requested table by a window which was nice as so many places ignore requests! Chose from table d'hote menu which was once more good. Food was again delicious and did not disappoint - repeat visit from 3 8 20 - really tasty and looked good. Service was excellent as much busier than earlier in the month. Only observation which is not really about the dining but we did comment on a prior visit that the garden needs a huge tidy up - as you sit looking out on the garden for the most part whether dining on the terrace or in the conservatory not really great to see bindweed climbing up the shrubs or the lawn looking like a field - there is shabby chic and then downright untidy! The place needs a gardener!

  • By Christopher H from Bridgwater
    29 August 2020

    Very pleasant

  • By Jan W from Northampton
    29 August 2020

    Excellent service

  • By Bronwyn S from Shepton mallet Somerset
    27 August 2020

    Fantastic service, our waiter a Young man called Connor was the most pleasant and tentative waiter I have met and he deserves a medal for the service he gives.