map placeholder

The Red Lion - Solihull

Lady Lane , Earlswood, Solihull, B94 6AQ

((((* British
  •  - West Midlands
  •  - West Midlands
  •  - West Midlands
  •  - West Midlands
  •  - West Midlands
  •  - West Midlands
  •  - West Midlands
  •  - West Midlands
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 22:30

In a lovely location, very near Earlswood lakes to walk round after food. Open, light and airy interior, with a lot of tables and different types of seating for formal and informal dining, or just a drink. Friendly, helpful staff. All in all, a lovely experience.

Anne 28 May 2019
from Birmingham

View all 32 reviews

Formerly an 18th-century coaching inn, The Red Lion – Solihull embraces the rural charm of its setting, near to Earlswood Resevoir Lakes, and serves traditional British pub cuisine. With a classic white and black timber design, both the surrounding countryside and the pub itself can be enjoyed from the beer garden. Inside, there is also seating by the warming log-fire, and endearing rustic decorations.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Red Lion menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Red Lion ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

The Red Lion is just 3 minutes’ drive from The Lakes (Warks) Train Station, or 12 minutes to central Solihull, nestled in the West Midlands countryside.

The Red Lion - Solihull

Lady Lane , Earlswood, Solihull, B94 6AQ

Contact +44 1564702946
Website

Make a booking

See all Vintage Inns

See all restaurants in West Midlands

See all restaurants in Solihull

Customer reviews for The Red Lion - Solihull

3.9 ((((* (based on 32 reviews)
87% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (24)
  • lunch (16)
  • value (13)
  • large parties (7)
  • private dining (5)
  • views (5)
  • child friendly (3)
  • afternoon tea (1)
  • al fresco (1)
  • romantic (1)
  • ((((( 2 March 2016 by Margaret from Cheswick green

    No complaints at all. Excellent service . Very good food and very nice surroundings. Thank you.

  • ((((* 16 February 2016 by Ronan from Solihull

    Excellent food. Lovely pub. Female waitress was very helpful. We both thought the male waiter was trying/pushing us to order more than we wanted. Nice fella though, just overly keen for as much business as possible.

  • ((((( 5 January 2016 by Tereska from Manchester

    Lovely food, lovely atmosphere, log fire was amazing, puddings and food to die for especially the fish and chips and belly pork, only thing that let's it down is the tall barmaid, doesn't seem happy in her work and was a bit miserable!

  • ((((* 8 November 2015 by Sue from Birmingham

    Compared with our last visit to a vintage inn this was one hundred percent better. We had a very bad night at the Red Lion at Alvechurch.
    The atmosphere was nice and the pub was very warm and welcoming.
    The waiter Joel was excellent, he was happy, polite and an excellent waiter. We had a lovely meal until the desserts. There was so much selection I could have eaten at least 4 of them, unfortunately supplies let us down. There was no sherry trifle or eton mess and also no custard, how can you run out of custard !!
    Joel was great though and it was a shame the desserts let him down.
    He was very apologetic and made it up with 2 scoops of ice cream.
    An excellent evening and sure to go back

  • ((((( 1 September 2015 by Frank from Birmingham

    My wife and I visited the Red Lion for dinner. The menu was very varies and although some of the dishes had sold out there was more than enough to choose from. There was quite a wait for our meals to arrive but as we were not in any rush this was acceptable, however for some dinners this was an issue. The food was well presented and well cooked.
    We really enjoyed our visit and will be going again soon.

  • ((((* 13 August 2015 by Bob from Birminghamcrackling

    We started with crackling which was a little disappointing as it wasn't that crisp. Mushrooms in cream were very nice but maybe not as much flavour as I'd like. Duck salad was very good and made up for any earlier disappointment. Overall good value for money.

  • (((** 21 July 2015 by Sandra from Birmingham

    When I booked the table and looked on the website there was an offer of £11.99 for two courses Monday to Friday. There was also a notice on a board in the Red Lion which said the same. When we enquired about the £11.99 menu they told us it was only Monday to Thursday. I notice now that the website has been changed and they also changed the board, but we did think that this offer should have been honoured as it was advertised when I booked. We took two friends with us who had never been to the Red Lion before and we were all disappointed the offer wasn't on. We were told the soup was spinach and ricotta but actually it was tomato!! I think the staff need to be sure of their facts with regards to flavour of soup etc. However, the food and service were excellent and we all enjoyed our meals. We did question the offer at the beginning of the meal and they told us there was nothing they could do about it - but at the end they did offer us a free pudding which we gratefully accepted. All in all a pleasant experience but just a few glitches to sort out! Sandra Thursfield

  • ((((* 2 March 2015 by Val from Knowle

    Friendly staff, efficient service and good value pub grub.

  • ((((( 16 February 2015 by Nick from Solihull

    Service and food was excellent

  • ((((* 30 December 2014 by Anthony from Worcester

    We

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant