The Red Lion - Chester

(33 Reviews)
Church Road Dodleston, Chester, Ches., CH4 9NG
British
A la carte menu

Top offer

Sunday Menu

This offer is available from June 20, 2018 until July 20, 2030, subject to availability as displayed in the booking interface. Offer excludes service and includes VAT. Not available in conjunction with other offers. This promotion has additional information available. Click on the link(s) to view.

Average

Main course: £10
Food spend: £25

Opening hours

Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 22:30

Restaurant description

Potentially dating back to 1737, The Red Lion – Chester has won 2 Gold Awards at the Chester Food and Drink Festival, serving well-loved British pub cuisine. In a beautiful, ivy-enclosed building, there is a cosy log-fire for winter, and eclectic decorations such as art, candles and classic oak beams. With a view on to the eye-catching pub, you can also enjoy the food from the pretty al fresco garden.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Red Lion menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Red Lion ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

The Red Lion is just 10 minutes’ drive from Chester.

Dishes displayed on a la carte menus are representative of the type of food available at the restaurant.

Customer reviews for The Red Lion - Chester
4.1
(based on 33 reviews)

85%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (5)
  • al fresco (2)
  • business (2)
  • child friendly (7)
  • dinner (19)
  • large parties (7)
  • lunch (15)
  • luxury (1)
  • private dining (8)
  • romantic (5)
  • trendy (4)
  • value (13)
  • views (4)
  • By Graham T from Buckley
    25 October 2019

    Food was lovely however the waitress forgot to order our starters so we didn’t get any , genuine mistake and she apologised but disappointed that we weren’t offered a reduction in our bill or a complimentary drink which would have been a nice gesture especially as our family had just arrived from Devon to join us

  • By Mily S from Chester
    1 June 2019

    Great service excellent meal

  • By Sam H from Chester
    19 December 2018

    Great food but service was very slow.

  • By Janet C from Chester
    25 November 2018

    Local restaurant for me. Although the staff were very friendly they were extremely slow, especially with extra drinks ordered. Food was very disappointing. Yorkshire puds turned to dust as soon as cut, vegetables very soggy, roasters not crispy.

  • By Emyr D from Wrexham
    13 May 2018

    We all enjoyed our food very much. 4 our of the 6 of us had not been before and were very impressed and said they would definitely return.

  • By Susanne C from Hawarden
    14 February 2018

    I love this restaurant and eat here often.. My favorite dish is the lamb duo which I have every time I go... However.... On this last visit we waited over one hour to be served even though we booked and although the 2 staff members were lovely they were rushed off their feet. I ordered an advertised special drink and after a20 minute wait I was told that the lemonade was flat so the drink couldn't be made.. My alternative drink had flat soda in it.. Not good! We didn't stay for dessert or coffee as we would have been there all day waiting. Such a shame as the venue is gorgeous and the food is perfect. This is not the first time we have had issues with the service.

  • By Nick M from Chester
    11 November 2017

    Outstanding. Great food and brilliant service. Made to feel very welcome.

  • By Mark D from Wrexham
    23 September 2017

    Have visited this establishment a couple of times recently and staff and food has been excellent.

  • By Maureen B from Near Chester
    9 September 2017

    Very good place to meet family for lunch. When I arrived staff told me family had phoned to say stuck in traffic due to motorway accident. As I waited they brought me a phone with update message from family. I had a delicious glass of wine and side salad while I waited. Our meal was hot , well presented and very tasty. Overall a very pleasant lunch in spite of unavoidable delay.

  • By Jaine B from chester
    28 August 2017

    Excellent- good food, great service and value for money

Restaurant Location Map
The Red Lion - Chester
Church Road Dodleston, Chester, Ches., CH4 9NG

Available offers

Similar Restaurants

  1. Nelson’s Bar

    Nelson’s Bar

    British
    (48 Reviews)
    2.7km
    Nelson’s Bar
  2. Palm Court

    Palm Court

    British
    (96 Reviews)
    2.7km
    Palm Court
  3. Hallmark Hotel Wrexham Llyndir Hall
    3km
    Hallmark Hotel Wrexham Llyndir Hall
  4. Scottish Steakhouse at Macdonald New Blossoms
    7km
    Scottish Steakhouse at Macdonald New Blossoms
  5. Wood Chester

    Wood Chester

    British
    (0 Reviews)
    7.3km
    Wood Chester